HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Paola

1 star Hotel | Via Faenza, 56, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50123

79.1% Overall Rating

59 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/10/2013)

Yuen Kuang thinks…

"The stuff is very kind and helpful.The location is so easy to find near the train station.The tripple room we stayed is very clean and new,I will go there next time I visit Florence."

Read all Hotel Paola reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that for ALL BOOKINGS from the 30th December 2012 until the 1st of January 2013 cancellation policy is 10 DAYS. In case of late cancellation, the property will charge the whole amount of the stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Mia Cara
50.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Albergo Bencidormi
48.35 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Monica
44.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 13 reviews
Il Ghiro
29.01 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 484 reviews
Archi Rossi Hostel
34.54 USD

Hostel 88.9% 699 reviews
Hotel Stella Mary
23.48 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Alinari
82.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 9 reviews
Hotel Beatrice
49.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.4% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

59 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Paola'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 67 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, central location, want to be there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and cozy! Although I was one of about 5 people staying in the entire hostel at the time, I believe that even with a full house the hostel would still be maintained clean.

Disliked: No community room, no kitchen (just a ridiculously tiny fridge and a microwave).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DOAN Thien Phuc

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 DOAN would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly, wifi very good, about 1MB/s. Room and bed clean. They have all the thing I need.

Disliked: DOAN left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the front desk was very nice when we first got there, showing us were things were on the map. The room was spacious, we had it for 2 ppl but there were 3 or 4 beds in the room. There was also a shower and a sink in the room. They cleaned/made the beds daily. The location was pretty good.

Disliked: There was a lock out in the middle of the day so they could clean. They kick you out even if you don't want you room cleaned. You are kicked out of he entire hostel not just the rooms. The staff seemed crabby when they had to ask us to leave even though they never said anything about it at check in, but it was posted either on the web or on the walls somewhere. The two bathrooms were small and kind of dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and wonderful location

Disliked: Nothing to say

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Fleur Brummel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Fleur would recommend this property

Liked: The hotels location is great, Florence is small enough to walk anywhere. The rooms are serviced everyday and they make your bed. It's hard to get a cheaper, more central place that's decent. The hotel staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful.

Disliked: They built in sinks and showers into the private rooms.. Why didn't they go all out and put toilets in there too? I think this gives people initiative to pee in the shower in the morning (and I didn't even want to think about what else).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Not always described accurately on the website (e.g. double rather than twin room (although they fixed this for us after the first night), and there wasn't anyone there when we arrived, despite it being before the eleven lock-out time).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Austin Jeltes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: great location, ample facilitates

Disliked: Austin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the single beds and quite enough space for luggage. Its really clean and I saw the staff clean the room seriously every day. There is a tap in the room which is the first hostel I met like this and its convenient. The girl, who worked from 8am-4pm is very nice and I have not meet the other staff but it doesn't mean they are not nice.

Disliked: I have to climb up for 3 floors to get there. There is no kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location as it is within 5 minutes walk from the Firenze Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Walking distance to most of the sights in Firenze. The staff offered to point out on the map the places we should visit.

Disliked: The street below the Hotel can be rather rowdy at night, not suitable for light sleepers. There's only a ceiling fan available in the room, which means it can be rather warm and stuffy at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It 's cheap and very cute. Great location, helpful and friendly staff. Wifi excellent. They gave me many information about what to visit. Everything was clean and comfortable. ps. There's also 24h reception!! I will choose this hotel definitely!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: They didn't have internet (at least they told me so when I asked). The fan in the bedroom didn't work, so we had to sleep with the window open... The net to keep the mosquitoes out was broken, so I ended up with many modquitoe bites.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldine Byrne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Geraldine would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! The lovely receptionist was very friendly; especially since I entered in the wrong dates on my booking, but she still helped us out. Was a great stay, would definately stay here again. Very easy to find, and central to everything.

Disliked: Geraldine left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012

Liked: Location.. But nothing else!!!

Disliked: No air con in rooms! So it is like a sauna and no cold water anywhere in the hostel!!!!! Got kicked out everyday at 10 for god knows whatt!! Don't stay here!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 June 2012

Liked: La posizione.

Disliked: Camerate eccessivamente affollate; pochi bagni comuni (2), piccoli,angusti, privi di accessori elementari (es: appendini, asciugamani da terra) e molto poco puliti.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clear hostel and convenient location. Friendly staff and comfortable atmosphere.

Disliked: The wifi is a little bit slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Out of the 4 hostels and hotels we've stayed in, this one was our clear favorite. The staff were so friendly and helpful! They were happy to make recommendations, or even to spend half an hour trying to make reservations for us at the Accademia and Uffici museums. They were just fantastic. Also, the location is great, it's right in the middle of Florence.

Disliked: There's a lock-out time from 10am to 1pm, but that's not really such a problem. We were 15 minutes late leaving one day and they didn't seem to mind. The property is on the third floor of a building, so there are a lot of stairs, but again, not such a big deal.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Spevak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Bright and clean. The staff is very friendly and willing to help you get oriented and find things to do. They were also very helpful and understanding when we had two separate reservations.

Disliked: They don't have a designated luggage storage room, so if you need to leave your luggage before or after your stay it will sit in the lobby. There's someone at the desk watching it, but it's not terribly secure.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. Great location

Disliked: No blinds so you will get woken up at the crack of dawn. No assistance after hours from staff. Only one locker for 3 dorm beds. No lift so you had to lugg your bags up the 3 flights of stairs. Atmosphere is pretty much non-existant for a hostel.