HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Casa Lea

2 star Hotel | Via Fra' Bartolommeo 21, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50132

84.1% Overall Rating

46 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Amazing mostly antique furniture and period décor at every corner. Very comfortable beds. Excellent power shower. Good location - walking distance to centre and very close to bus stops. Friendly and helpful young…"

Read all Hotel Casa Lea reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check-in opens at 14.30pm and closes at 20.00pm.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Soggiorno Michelangelo
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
22.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.3% 61 reviews
Hotel Benvenuti
25.30 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 108 reviews
Ostello Gallo D'Oro
34.79 USD

Hostel 93.9% 222 reviews
Dany House
26.57 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 978 reviews
Hotel Il Granduca
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Emma
34.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.1% 6 reviews
La Farina Apartments
37.95 USD

Apartment 90.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

46 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Casa Lea'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing mostly antique furniture and period décor at every corner. Very comfortable beds. Excellent power shower. Good location - walking distance to centre and very close to bus stops. Friendly and helpful young man Daniel checked us in and went through the map with us. Laid back and relaxed environment. Quiet in the evenings. Lots of storage space in the room. High standard of cleanliness. Lots of original features in the hotel that made it authentically Florentine and unique.

Disliked: Unfortunately, breakfast was not available with our stay. I believe this is because we stayed 'out of season' and because there was some refurbishment happening at the hotel. We knew this in advance, however it was a little disappointing that there were no hot drink facilities in our room so we had no way of making a cup of tea/coffee etc. and thus had to venture out and pay. We also couldn't take full advantage of the beautiful dining room. Some of the plug sockets in the room were quite old and when used, the plug and leads often fell out as they were not retained in the socket properly - this made charging phones/tablets etc. a bit of a fuss (although we did find a good socket by the TV!) The toilet had a constant flow of water in it; meaning all through the day we could hear it. It wasn't particularly loud but on the first day I kept thinking I'd left the tap on! The hotel was very dark due to lack of windows and dim lighting. This meant coming in at night often meant feeling our way around. Our room was on the second floor and access was via an old fashioned and small lift - this isn't necessarily a negative but worth considering if there are lots of you or if you have big bags/items to lug around. There was no safe in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location a bit further from the noisy city center. Great to have a good night rest after a full day of walking around the sights.

Disliked: Its location a bit further from the city center is not so great when you want to have dinner in the historic city center. After a full day of walking and visiting it can be too much to walk all the way back to tha hotel. So all in all the advantage to have the hotel a bit further away is also an inconvenience sometimes.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, value for money. I liked the decor but others might find it too dark/cluttered. Larger rooms preferable.

Disliked: No breakfast included. Difficult access, knowledgeable staff not always on site. I liked the decor but it was a bit dark/cluttered. SOme rooms are very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Ferris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Quaint and cozy premise. While the common areas went unused because, after all, we were excited to check out the city. If anyone's a homebody, very comfortable (and there's a piano)!

Disliked: Not much to dislike. All I'd say is if you're not a seasoned traveler you may be thrown off by the approx 10-15 min walk from center city (Duomo square). However, I felt this was a nice opportunity to explore parts of the city I might not have and find little cafeterria's.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Karla

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly atmosphere, beautiful original historical interiers, location location location - 2 minutes from big shopping store, easy and quick walking to city centre (15 minutes cca) - just go straight all the way, you cant miss it.

Disliked: nothing, everything was perfect

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lisa Cowan

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 September 2013

Liked: My bad experience has overshadowed any positive features.

Disliked: The lack of care and consideration shown to guests. The lack of integrity with the promises they made.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close enough to the tourist attractions to be convenient, but far away enough to be quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Ivimey

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the atmosphere, gentle 10 minute walk to the Duomo, gorgeous room, staff and friendliness. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

Disliked: NIL

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ka Wai To

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Ka Wai would recommend this property

Liked: big room, clean room & bathroom. facilities in great conditions. Staff very friendly and helpful

Disliked: No refrigerator, no air conditioning (but in June it is OK, very cool at night)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Doreen Fidler

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Doreen would recommend this property

Liked: The bed linen and towels were white and crisp. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom fresh and well maintained. The hotel is furnished with a wonderful assortment of antiques and interesting objects. The interesting host is an added bonus,

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and things were in good repair. The room was small but had everything I needed. The location was good for me, it took a bit of walking to get to the centre, but it was a direct route and I liked being a bit away from the hustle.

Disliked: There was no hot water on my last evening and the next morning for some reason. There was no breakfast served as indicated on the website - though the room was there with teapots and cups and all the rest - but no explaination why not. They only take cash for payment and I did not recall it being indicated anywhere and so upon arrival I was sent out immediately to find cash as it was made clear that full payment was due right away. Unfortunately the afternoon clerk didn't tell me where the ATM was so I had to wander quite a bit to find it. A small matter: the mattress was old; I could feel the springs as I lay there so it needs to be replaced. The morning clerk was friendly, but it seemed he went in my room after I had left to gather a teacup, and that made me a bit uncomfortable.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was reasonably priced place to stay in Florence and had a quirky layout. Staff were very friendlyand helpful

Disliked: It was some distance from the centre of the city but when I worked out the bus system this wasn't a problem

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rusi Vanchev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Rusi would recommend this property

Liked: atmosohere and location

Disliked: Rusi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Colum

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 April 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: For anyone looking for real charm, a little bit away from the noise, Casa Lea is an absolute gem - a real 'find' as far as I am concerned. For a hotel in this price range, I simply wouldn't look further. Situated on the first floor it has a special cachet that you notice the moment you see the lovely 'salon'. There's a hint of camp which is somehow what a Florentine hotel should have, and my room was extremely comfortable. Max works very hard, is friendly and has good English. Perfect for something 'different', and perfect for feeling totally at ease. The location is surprisingly good, well served with buses, and handy for San Marco and Settignano - yet I walked into the centre of town every day, so it's not that far.

Disliked: Hard to find anything. Maybe, that the double bed wasn't often used for one person, so I had to sleep carefully in the middle.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is a breath of history and character. Lovely antiques fill the lobby, hallways and room. The staff is a one man show and a cleaning lady, who were both very pleasant and helpful.

Disliked: The room I stayed in had carpeting. Carpets tends to give off a stale grandma's old house smell.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, the room was really nice, quiet and spacious, although I think somewhat superficially cleaned. Good shower, comfy bed, tv and sofa in my room, all very comfortable. English was spoken, and wifi worked well in the common area. No curfew and great for some quiet downtime.

Disliked: The internet unfortunately did not work in my room, which was rather annoying, seeing as that was one of my requisites when choosing a hotel. I had to check out at 10 on the dot although online it says 10.30. 5 euros for breakfast was a little expensive in my opinion, for croissant, yoghurt and muffins, although the cappuccino was really good. It was a 20 minute walk from the centre, which isn't a problem until you need to walk home alone at night, in which case I would suggest either a taxi or a more centrally located place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Divya Puri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Divya would recommend this property

Liked: its a very cute place with a vintage feel. Love the friendly and atmosphere.

Disliked: i wish they had lunch or dinner facilities.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Keri Digby-Smith

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Keri would recommend this property

Liked: good bathroom

Disliked: No one was there when we got there luckily some other guests let us in so we could sit in the shade it was so hot while we waited an hour for the owner to turn up

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

vanessa chilelli

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: hotel inaffidabile perchè hanno disdetto la prenotazione 3 giorni prima, senza avvertire, senza telefonare, mi hanno inviato solo una mail e mi hanno suggerito un hotel fuori città. hostelbooker non ha un numero di telefono da chiamare in caso di necessità ma solo e-mail. lo staff non mi ha chiamato e mi ha inviato solo una mail di scuse in inglese e mi ha anche richiesto se rivolessi indietro la caparra! assurdo. la reservation à été annullée 3 jours avant d'arriver et l'hotel n'a pas appelé et il m'a envoyé seulement un e-mail. et l'organisation de l'hotel m'a proposé un autre mais hors de la ville et donc non conforme aux notre necessités. hostelbookers n'a pas un numero de telephone mais il est possible de envoyer seulement e-mail. hostelbookers n'a fait rien et a envoyé seulement une e-mail pour s'excuser et en anglais! hotel inaffidabile because they cancelled the booking 3 days before, without warning, without call me, the hotel sent meonly a mail and yhey have suggested me a hotel out of town. hostelbooker doesn't have a telephone number to call in case of necessity but only e-mail. the staff has not called me and has sent only me a mail of excuses in English and also required me if i wonted back the deposit! absurd.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lynn Jespers

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2012

Liked: There were two fans in the room, and because it was very hot in Florence this was welcome.

Disliked: I reserverd this hotel for three days, I received an e-mail form the owner that they could only accomodate us for two days but he would try to fix it. I contacted him a few times before we left and he assured he would find a solution. This solution turned out to be to let us know on tuesdaymorning that we had to change hotels. He said: 'It's a five minute walk', we walked for half an hour in 38 degrees celcius with our suitcases untill we reached the other hotel. This was further from centre and the trainstation. The owner was not friendly, really tried to get rid of us without any compensation. Poor and dirty hotel, poor service, not recommending it to anyone!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 June 2012

Liked: very close to the city center, very calm.

Disliked: no credit cards, no internet. and if it would work - the listed prices for the internet are outrageous. if you don't care about that, i's fine.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute courtyard outside.

Disliked: Hotel staff was never there. We had to let ourselves in and out of the front door and the lock would not work, meaning it took 20 minutes to get into the hotel. The lock on our door was broken as well making it impossible to lock or get into our room. The hotel is a 25 min walk from the downtown area of Firenze. The staff made us feel as if we were inconveniencing them when we asked for help. Also, the hotel double booked us and we had to switch hotels for the second night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexandre Masson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. 10minute walk from city center. just far enough to be near local hangouts away from the growds of tourists. and parking available in the streets

Disliked: The room was very average

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the room decor, Max

Disliked: key for front door did not work well.