We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Maple Hotel

2 star Hotel | 75 Lower Gardiner Street, City Centre, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 1

77.8% Overall Rating

88 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2012)

"The staff were incredibly accommodating and friendly, they really couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were basic, but tidy and cleaned daily. Complimentary tea making facilities and bathroom gels available. The…"

Read all Maple Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Adelphi Guesthouse
34.79 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 36 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 80.1% 1093 reviews
The Glen Guest House
30.99 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.9% 283 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
26.57 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
The Holyhead
18.98 USD

Hostel 75.2% 69 reviews
My Place Dublin Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 75.9% 854 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

88 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maple Hotel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Armandine Ramazani

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 February 2014 Armandine would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed live music at bar inside the place. The rooms are big and clean

Disliked: The fact that you HAVE to leave your key at the reception everytime you go out but apart from that it's a lovely hotel and in a great location not far from Temple Bar ❤️

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 April 2013

Liked: Location, bed wasnt too bad

Disliked: Radiator would not turn off Window sash did not work No plug in the sink Push taps with very little pressure

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself was fine, comfortable and cozy. Wifi.

Disliked: The showers were really small. Some staff was really friendly whereas others were quite rude. A rather far walk from central Dublin. Took about 15 minutes to walk to the Templebar or Trinity College area. Smelled like smoke, dirty carpets. No luggage room, all luggage was just left in a pile behind reception.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012

Liked: Close to Main St.

Disliked: There was no temperature control, between the hallway and our room was a 15 degree difference. Our room was a sauna, we had requested a fan but they had nothing of the sort for us. Our recently renovated bathroom was nice, however it took 4 or 5 attempts to flush the toilet before it would actually flush. We did not have to identify ourselves when picking up our room key, just state the room number and they would hand it over, so basically anyone could go up and say "room 27," get the key and rob us blind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly accommodating and friendly, they really couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were basic, but tidy and cleaned daily. Complimentary tea making facilities and bathroom gels available. The hotel bar was brilliant, with an incredibly charismatic barman who couldn't do enough for us. Plenty of atmosphere and a welcome stop before heading out in to the city. And a welcome return in our case when we arrived back! The location is perfect and in walking distance to everything, you really can't find much better. A beautiful city, with fantastic people and made all the better for coming back to a clean accommodating hotel on the night. Already have plans to return and will most definitely be staying with the Maple Hotel.

Disliked: This is not a negative, because it didn't effect me personally, but if you're a light sleeper expect a bit of noise if you're at the front of the hotel because you located on a main/busy road.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 April 2012

Liked: The room was ok, we had complimentary tea and coffee.

Disliked: There waas no breakfast and no wifi, also there is no luggage storeroom and i didint like to leave my personal belongings behing reception. A couple of thing in the bathroom were broken, like the toilet flush.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked that the bathroom is in the room, the bed was comfortable.

Disliked: We didn't like the window in our room. It seems to be old and though it's closed, all the noise from the street comes into the room. And at night it's colder in the room because of the window.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, just in the centre.

Disliked: It was very cold in the room.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 June 2011

Liked: The only thing going for the Maple is its' location - you can walk more or less anywhere. Having said that, the area itself is pretty dodgy.

Disliked: The rooms were super crummy, the fire escape was open to the street which made it unsafe. When we explained to the staff on at 5am am about the guest smoking and filling our room with smoke instead of apologising he was adamant that it was somebody from the street and not a guest that was causing the problem. (??). I spoke to the guest myself - she was wearing a towel so I'm sure she was staying there. The staff member should have apologised and told us that there would be another room ready for us the next day rather than arguing with us about how crap the hotel was at 5 in the morning. He couldn't even pass on the message. We were unimpressed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the room,it was clean and nice,also the breakfast was very good! Everbody were friendly!

Disliked: It was a bit cold in a room and for having hot water you had to wait for few minutes.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

13 June 2010

Liked: I stayed in Maple Hotel for two nights, when we arrived, they did not ask for any of my identification except for my name and they gave me a room in the basement, under the pub which is really noisy with foot stomping, noises of moving things, music etc. The room is also right next to the cafe and you will get to hear lots of noise during breakfast time at 8am. Pub only closes at 2-3am everyday and cafe is open for breakfast at 8am everyday. That means I only have 5-6hours of quiet time. I requested to change the room but the staff asked me to wait for like an hour till she call me when the room is ready to move in, but they never call at all, until I went and ask the staff but she denied it that she promised to give me a change of the room and say the hotel is fully booked and can't do anything about it. I couldn't leave the hotel because they requested me to pay in advance when I check in. Her attitude is not professional and rude. Overall, the hotel is not worth to stay with the price they offer. Make sure anyone who wants to stay in this hotel request that they do not want the basement room and not to pay in advance unless you've check the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and gave good service!Because of cancelled flights to Ireland (ash-clouds) we ended up checking in at the hotel one day later. Fortunately the hotel didn't charge us for this...Our room was pretty big and the (twin)beds were excellent!Breakfast wasn't anything special but for this price you have very good value. Good location, nearby central busstation. Recommended!Marijn

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception which is perfect for late flights and late nights out.Location was great.Breakfast was a bit greasy, but included.Showers not powerful enough. Overall fine for a few days.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I very liked my friend at the reception, Rodrigo is a very nice boy, indeed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evi Heck

13 November 2009 Evi would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location (max 5' walk from central bus station), very friendly stuff, clean rooms (we had a quiet one, on our way back we returned to the hostel and even managed to avoid to climb to the last floor). My nieces (18 years young) and myself liked the placeMa

Disliked: Evi left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Quihampton

08 October 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: good value. reasonable location, quiet. slightly dated and the shower was broken.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place in agreat location, very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the maple hotel gives great value for the myoney, espessialy in the mid-week.it includes a full irish breakfast. wich was lovely. the bathroom was super.the room itself was a little tiny, but the bed was very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good for the price, excellent location, good breakfast, staff extremely helpful and very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely friendly! Great place, enjoyed it very much.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christina Nauroth

26 July 2009 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay for a great price. Good location.

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thijs Thijssen

03 June 2009 Thijs would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is a good option when you want to visit the city centre(10min walk) and you can park your car in the street or in a privat carpark across the street. But nothing special about this hostel. You get what you can expect for a moderate hotel.

Disliked: Thijs left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk to everywhere. Staff were helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Courcoux

23 April 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and a great location from which to explore all Dublin has to offer.!.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Inge Bosselaar

20 April 2009 Inge would recommend this property

Liked: Location, everything in walking distance

Disliked: Inge left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels