We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Newgrange Lodge

2 star Hotel | Donore, Drogheda, Ireland .

92.9% Overall Rating

58 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/10/2013)

Mark Haggan thinks…

"location is first rate, lady working at fron desk was amazingly friendly and exceptionally easy on my old eyes"

Read all Newgrange Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Breakfast Rates include a continental breakfast served from 8.00 until 10.00am daily. Breakfast includes a selection of juices, cereals, an assortment of breads, freshly baked scones, tea and coffee. Towl not supplied in dorm, just 2 euro to hire

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Drogheda?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

58 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Newgrange Lodge'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - years since i stayed in a hostel and we were very impressed overall

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jaroslav Novotny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Best for Newgrange visiting

Disliked: 0

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Haggan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 October 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: location is first rate, lady working at fron desk was amazingly friendly and exceptionally easy on my old eyes

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Rehberg

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The common rooms

Disliked: It´s really far outside, so you need a car to get there. But that can be a plus aswell

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in an excellent location for Newgrange, with extensive communal sitting/relaxation areas. There are several huge rooms with a small bar, TV and loads of big, comfy sofas. We had a spotless & comfortable good-sized private room. The breakfast was simple but very good, on a self-service basis.

Disliked: The self-catering kitchen is very small and some of the equipment needs upgrading. We got lost trying to reach the hostel as instructions were not given for people driving from the Navan direction.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann O'Leary

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for touring the Boyne Valley, especially Newgrange and Knowth.

Disliked: Don't get a triple room for 3 people. Rooms are too small for a triple. Get a double or a single.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the friendly and well disposed staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Fekete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

27 March 2013 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s more a B&B. Lovely.

Disliked: The shower could have been a bit hotter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Luker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The Property has a beautiful deck. We brought some wine with us and enjoyed it on the deck, which had a great view.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel, friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francisco cosmo

Alone

City break

11 July 2012 francisco would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice. Clean, friendly staff, great breakfast.

Disliked: francisco left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Berg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: Sleek interior with great furniture and amenities. Felt like a hotel I should have paid three times as much to stay at! Very close to Newgrange and not to far away from Drogheda. Lots of outdoorsy stuff to do in the countryside.

Disliked: Definitely takes a car to get to. And the road signs leading to it from Slane are ridiculously confusing and poorly-posted. Get ready for a little bit of wandering if you don't have a map or a local to guide you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Edge

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

26 May 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: pleasant helpful staff, full kitchen facility, location for Newgrange monument

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sherrod

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Neat and clean, nice bathroom facilities, excellent common rooms - great people

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,free internet sky tv friendly staff.very clean and comforteble

Disliked: small rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Randall Loucks

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

06 August 2010 Randall would recommend this property

Liked: Ability to use grill to BBQ food. Proximity to Newgrange and Knowth. Excellent areas in which to relax. Computer/internet access. Bike rentals. Hearty breakfast.

Disliked: The one BIG spider we found on our door casing in the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, ensuite even in dorm and great breakfast.

Disliked: Too far away from city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, really nice staff, good breakfest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Sullivan

11 April 2010 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Wished I had more time here, I really liked it. It was very spacious and charming and nice, and the breakfast selection is TERRIFIC!!!!! yum!!! Was expecting a normal hostel set-up but it felt more like a hotel (towel, soaps, tv in my room). One more shout-out to the delcious breakfast. Also super close to Newgrange if that is what you are in town for.

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

iker elicegui

08 April 2010 iker would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELENT !!!!!!!

Disliked: iker left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Effken

08 March 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Newgrange Lodge was an excellent accommodation. My travel buddy and I loved the fact that it was so clean, safe, and quiet and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and the location is perfect for visiting the Newgrange monument, but it's not the most convenient to get to and away. It's a pity for the owners that it is so far off the beaten path, because it's really a great place to stay. We loved that it was isolated, it was nice to have the run of the place.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathi Olsen

22 December 2009 Kathi would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything about this place. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the place very clean.

Disliked: Kathi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Flowers

04 November 2009 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Great architecture and re-use of historic building.Close to Newgrange historic sites.Very good facilities, clean and friendly atmosphere.Soooooooo comfortable!

Disliked: Margaret left no negative feedback.