HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mumbai hostels
See all Mumbai hotels

Reviews of Hotel New Bengal

2 star Hotel | B- Sitaram Building, Dr. D.N. Road, Near Crawford Market Mumbai, India 400001

65.1% Overall Rating

54 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/12/2012)

"This hotel was excellently located and not hard to find. Within walking distance to Mumbai CST railway station. The locals are quite friendly and to get to the hotel, just ask them for the way to Crawford market. when…"

Read all Hotel New Bengal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.73
  • Luggage Room USD 0.33

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the tax of 16.18% is not included in the price and will be payable on top of your confirmed balance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mumbai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mumbai

Chateau Windsor Hotel
22.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 117 reviews
Comfort Inn Heritage
57.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ramee Guestline Hotel, Dadar
109.26 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Metro Palace
33.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.3% 12 reviews
Ramee Guestline Hotel, Khar
58.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Singhs International
12.42 USD

Hotel 5 star 57.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Samrat
14.90 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 63.1% 73 reviews
Red Palm Residency
19.04 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.1%

Overall Rating

54 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel New Bengal'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
50.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 64 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: Atmosphere, cleanliness, comfort, value for money

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013

Liked: Not very much.

Disliked: My room was basically a jail cell. It was dirty, and a good 30+ minute walk to the really happening part of the Colaba district. Also, their were huge sections of wall missing in my second story hallway, meaning it was wide open to the street down below and construction next door. For the money, it just wasn't a good value in any way, shape, or form.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was excellently located and not hard to find. Within walking distance to Mumbai CST railway station. The locals are quite friendly and to get to the hotel, just ask them for the way to Crawford market. when you're there, you can ask them to point out the location of Hotel New Bengal. I would say this hotel is quite expensive for Indian standards, but I think the staff are really friendly and the service is very professional. the staff also greet you and smile all the time and some even introduce themselves to you. their hospitality is genuine and they don't stand around waiting for you to tip them. the single room with a/c was adequate and there was hot water. You get a free newspaper every morning and breakfast is also included. You can also store your luggage for free.

Disliked: The main downside, apart from the hight cost is that you have to pay extra for wifi, but it is accessible in your room. I think if you book an expensive room, wifi should be free for at least one hour.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012

Liked: It is in a good loaction and there are taxis everywhere.

Disliked: It is totally over-priced....unbelievably so. There was no bedding. Ask specifically for a room not on the balcony as you will get no sleep. The rooms are als very small and the shower didn't work at all.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel is in great location, and easy to find for anyone new to Mumbai (and Taxidrivers). Staff was nice and helpful, breakfast was included and also nice. (the Indian version, didn't try continental). All facilities were as described, had warm water all day, free newspaper every morning, TV (for those who feel sick or are not into diving into the city) AC and fan.

Disliked: Room was very small (3.5m²), had no windows, and thus had a somewhat mouldy smell. Could help myself by turning on the ceilingmounted fan. A highway of ants was running through my room, this could be helped by putting the dustbin out of the room. All in all a little expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Room clean and functional.

Disliked: Could be a bit noisy at times outside and inside hotel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joanna McGee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast with a restaurant down the road (although VERY basic). OK location (approx 10min walk from CST and 30 Rupees in a taxi to Colaba centre). Stayed in a single room (as all they had left) and there was a free newspaper, TV, good sized bathroom, 24hour reception, room service.

Disliked: As a single traveler I'd say better to stay in Colaba if possible (more to do there). Staff were ok and helpful when you asked for stuff but only to a minimum. Personally I think overpriced but I booked last minute and they only had a single room available. Perhaps prices of dorm rooms are more suitable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011

Liked: The location; near to Market and CST train station. The room was ok, had A/C, hot showers, a few staff were nice. The restaurant connected with the hotel had lovely food and the staff were nice. Breakfast was included.

Disliked: Very overpriced. Most of the hotel seemed grotty except for the room. The staff we met at the reception desk were rude and didn't seem at all interested in helping us or even talking to us. The pick up service Is very expensive. We got a taxi for half the price. Wifi is expensive and doesn't work properly. They charge u per bag if u want them to store your bag on check out.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Carlos Segovia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011

Liked: It is not a bad hotel, just too expensive, should be two or even three times cheaper.

Disliked: Small room, no window, a huge cockroach in my room. Too hot.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location being near CST station however, later on found that it would have been better to book somewhere in coloba

Disliked: I dislike that they charged us Rs100 for internet then when I went downstair to stay it wasnt working on my ipod. They said "oh it doesnt work on ipods" "Can i have a refund then?" NO!!! Not very fair in my eyes. There safety deposit box is to put it under the desk (not a lock or anything).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sheik parwez jaulim

Alone

Shopping

16 June 2011 sheik parwez would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and above all easy access

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Work / volunteering

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, hot showers, felt secure, friendly staff.

Disliked: Damp smell in room, noisy a/c

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the most beautiful places. You can reach everything by walking.

Disliked: Because of the Crawford Market it smells a little bit.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

ZOE FITZGERALD

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011

Liked: the rooms were a good size and clean. bathroom facilities were good including shower

Disliked: it was slighting to far away from colaba cuaseway which is the main hub of the city

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joshua Anstee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011

Liked: Was cheapest place i could find within the close vicinity of the major attractions of Mumbai. The room was clean and airy, aircon worked, tv worked. Breakfast is included

Disliked: They are building an extension to the rear of the hotel. When i was turning in for the night at 1am there was a JCB still working and it was making a lot of noise! When i was checking they charged me 50 rupees because there was dirt on a towel i had used. A tad unreasonable i thought when i was paying 1800 rupees a night!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Room adequate with a frig which was appreciated.

Disliked: Being renovated and all looks very shabby outside. Room OK though.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Stokes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Really dirty and no one would clean our room and they charged us twice for the room and never gave extra money back

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the fact that you can sit on the balcone and find somone to chat with, or just read your guide book and map out your stay in India.

Disliked: The room I satyed in had no windows, making it very prison like, and was slightly cramped.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. It's in a good location especially if you are catching a train from CST. The restaurant serves excellent food.

Disliked: The rooms can be a bit pokey and do not look like they do on the website. It's much more basic than it appears

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011

Liked: 24hr reception and location

Disliked: creepy atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juha Seppala

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Juha would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody knows Crawford Market so New Bengal is at good place. Cheapt restaurant near.

Disliked: Staff wasnt so willing to help you. Forexample they didnt even borrow me a pen!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

mancinetti marco

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2011 mancinetti would recommend this property

Liked: near the station, clean

Disliked: small rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YUNMI CHI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2010 YUNMI would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and the crowford market was quite near.

Disliked: too far from kolaba(cst train staion)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Steffen Wagner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: Location an price

Disliked: dirty sheets, noisy air condition

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Wouter de Vries

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 December 2010 Wouter would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, good location, digital tv, wifi availible for 175 rs / day

Disliked: Lot of money for what you get, but i guess that's the case anywhere in mumbai


See all Mumbai hostels
See all Mumbai hotels