HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hotel New Bengal Hotel

B- Sitaram Building, Dr.D.N. Road,, Near Crawford Market, Mumbai, India

Atmosphere 51%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 57%

Location 75%

Safety 75%

Staff 66%

Value 46%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Business Centre"
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Direct Dial Telephone
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 13.96USD
  • Luggage Room 0.29USD

Important Information

Please note that the tax of 16.18% is not included in the price and will be payable on top of your confirmed balance.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mumbai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 51%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 57%

Location 75%

Safety 75%

Staff 66%

Value 46%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: Atmosphere, cleanliness, comfort, value for money

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not very much.

Disliked: My room was basically a jail cell. It was dirty, and a good 30+ minute walk to the really happening part of the Colaba district. Also, their were huge sections of wall missing in my second story hallway, meaning it was wide open to the street down below and construction next door. For the money, it just wasn't a good value in any way, shape, or form.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hotel was excellently located and not hard to find. Within walking distance to Mumbai CST railway station.The locals are quite friendly and to get to the hotel, just ask them for the way to Crawford market. when you're there, you can ask them to point out the location of Hotel New Bengal.I would say this hotel is quite expensive for Indian standards, but I think the staff are really friendly and the service is very professional. the staff also greet you and smile all the time and some even introduce themselves to you. their hospitality is genuine and they don't stand around waiting for you to tip them.the single room with a/c was adequate and there was hot water. You get a free newspaper every morning and breakfast is also included.You can also store your luggage for free.

Disliked: The main downside, apart from the hight cost is that you have to pay extra for wifi, but it is accessible in your room.I think if you book an expensive room, wifi should be free for at least one hour.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is in a good loaction and there are taxis everywhere.

Disliked: It is totally over-priced....unbelievably so. There was no bedding. Ask specifically for a room not on the balcony as you will get no sleep. The rooms are als very small and the shower didn't work at all.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Hotel is in great location, and easy to find for anyone new to Mumbai (and Taxidrivers). Staff was nice and helpful, breakfast was included and also nice. (the Indian version, didn't try continental). All facilities were as described, had warm water all day, free newspaper every morning, TV (for those who feel sick or are not into diving into the city) AC and fan.

Disliked: Room was very small (3.5m²), had no windows, and thus had a somewhat mouldy smell. Could help myself by turning on the ceilingmounted fan. A highway of ants was running through my room, this could be helped by putting the dustbin out of the room. All in all a little expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location. Room clean and functional.

Disliked: Could be a bit noisy at times outside and inside hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location; near to Market and CST train station. The room was ok, had A/C, hot showers, a few staff were nice. The restaurant connected with the hotel had lovely food and the staff were nice. Breakfast was included.

Disliked: Very overpriced. Most of the hotel seemed grotty except for the room. The staff we met at the reception desk were rude and didn't seem at all interested in helping us or even talking to us. The pick up serviceIs very expensive. We got a taxi for half the price. Wifi is expensive and doesn't work properly. They charge u per bag if u want them to store your bag on check out.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast with a restaurant down the road (although VERY basic). OK location (approx 10min walk from CST and 30 Rupees in a taxi to Colaba centre). Stayed in a single room (as all they had left) and there was a free newspaper, TV, good sized bathroom, 24hour reception, room service.

Disliked: As a single traveler I'd say better to stay in Colaba if possible (more to do there). Staff were ok and helpful when you asked for stuff but only to a minimum. Personally I think overpriced but I booked last minute and they only had a single room available. Perhaps prices of dorm rooms are more suitable.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is not a bad hotel, just too expensive, should be two or even three times cheaper.

Disliked: Small room, no window, a huge cockroach in my room. Too hot.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the location being near CST station however, later on found that it would have been better to book somewhere in coloba

Disliked: I dislike that they charged us Rs100 for internet then when I went downstair to stay it wasnt working on my ipod. They said "oh it doesnt work on ipods" "Can i have a refund then?" NO!!! Not very fair in my eyes. There safety deposit box is to put it under the desk (not a lock or anything).

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability