HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mumbai hostels
See all Mumbai hotels

Reviews of Hotel Pearl

1 star Hotel | Chembur, D.K.Sandu Marg, Mumbai, India 71

69.9% Overall Rating

17 out of 20 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/01/2013)

"Clean, tidy pretty standard hotel. A bit over priced to say the least but that seems to be Mumbai generally. The wifi is only available in the lobby and we ended up staying only 1 night as a result. I had specifically…"

Read all Hotel Pearl reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mumbai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mumbai

Hotel Konark Inn
18.28 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Kohinoor Elite
89.72 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Anjali Inn
12.46 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 79.1% 243 reviews
iHOTEL
6.65 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Royal Palace
16.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.9% 3 reviews
Hotel Ace Residency
13.29 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Om Residency
15.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Highway Residency
15.99 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 68.8% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.9%

Overall Rating

17 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Pearl'

Atmosphere
66.0%
Location
59.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
70.0%
Staff
79.0%
Value
61.0%
Safety
86.0%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively safe and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The rooms needed a good clean, the hotel rooms are scattered within the building which hosts other offices, and the wifi only works in the reception.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy pretty standard hotel. A bit over priced to say the least but that seems to be Mumbai generally. The wifi is only available in the lobby and we ended up staying only 1 night as a result. I had specifically booked the place since i wanted somewhere clean and tidy (it is that) where i could have some privacy following laser eye surgery. You dont get much privacy if youre trying to have a skype chat in the lobby.... Overall a decent place tho and the staff were very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap for Mumbai, friendly security staff on door 24hours. Not in a touristy area so this is a good place to see some of "real" Mumbai. Quick internet/computer available.

Disliked: Air-con unit was very old (or maybe just faulty), which emitted a huge roaring sound whenever turned on! Not great for sleep! Also directly under the flight path for landing planes at the international airport. Be prepared to be woken up often in the middle of the night. Whilst the hotel is in a safe area next to shops and restaurants it does take a long time to get to the main sights in downtown Mumbai. We took taxi's to avoid the hassle, stress and suffocating crowds of the fairly unreliable public transport. Each trip took 60-90minutes as traffic jams were common at all times of day. The driving is also incredibly unsafe in India, most taxi's didn't have working seatbelts, on one occasion our taxi driver crashed into a motorbike sending the rider flying off his bike into the road. Staying in a more downtown location would cut out a lot of this time, stress and hassle if you are mainly wanting to see the traditional sights of Mumbai.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -nice and helpfull staff -very close to chembur train station -many shops nearby

Disliked: -compared to other accomodations in india its very expensive for not so great rooms -annoiing elevator playing "for elise" when the door wasnt closed properly, which it nearly never was -pretty noisy surroundings

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Although it was slightly difficult to find, it is in a lovely neighbourhood and easily accessible by train and road. The staff are so friendly and cheerful, helping us organise everything from taxis to tours. They offered cheap room service, delivered the paper to us everyday for free and let us use their internet, printer and phone for free. A fantastic place to stay.

Disliked: Quite far from South Mumbai where all the sights are.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful

Disliked: The bathroom toilet and sink leaked

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, reasonably quiet and free newspaper.

Disliked: Expensive for the location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we loved our time at hotel pearl, the staff were friendly and honest and not only didn't rip us off, they helped us to not get ripped off by anyone else:) there is the best restaurant probably in India- 'Sadguru' very close and it,s a very friendly and non-touristy area..we enjoyed just walking about and soaking up the atmosphere here. There,s also free internet and the daily paper is delivered to your door for free too :) we loved it.

Disliked: if you want to see the sights of Mumbai everyday then this hotel may be too far, although we took the local train (the station in a 5 min walk away) into town several times (about 45mins) we enjoyed the (very cheap and cheerful) journey. Not a backpackers though..better for couples, families or a group of friends :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice clean room for the money, however if you want to be in the thick of it, it is too far from Colaba about a 45min train journey. But good restaurants near hotel.

Disliked: Location was too far from Colaba.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arriving from the airport late at night, this was in a handy location, but despite being just around the corner from Chembur train station, its still quite far from the sights in town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think the room we stayed in was very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Going by the rates of hotels in Mumbai, I think we got a good value for our money. The place is surrounded with a bustling commercial area, so things were all accessible. Getting to it wasn't a big problem, even though I am quite ignorant of Mumbai, and particularly Chembur.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 December 2006

Liked: value for money,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Mumbai hostels
See all Mumbai hotels