We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Jaipur hostels
See all Jaipur hotels

Reviews of Hotel Kalyan

2.5 star Hotel | Hathroi Fort, Ajmer Road, Jaipur, India 302001

91.3% Overall Rating

81 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2014)

"Rooftop restaurant was very nice, served a great food. Staff were so friendly and they were kind enough to let us use a vacant room to change/shower after we checked out as our train wasn't leaving until 10pm."

Read all Hotel Kalyan reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.09
  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Jaipur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Jaipur

Hotel Flyview
40.43 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Apna Niwas-Blisszone
10.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sagar Guest Rooms
12.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pratap Bhawan
29.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Chitra Katha
6.47 USD

Hostel 83.3% 19 reviews
sunder palace guest house
7.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Kanchan Deep
10.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Bhim vilas
12.13 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

81 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Kalyan'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 89 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop restaurant was very nice, served a great food. Staff were so friendly and they were kind enough to let us use a vacant room to change/shower after we checked out as our train wasn't leaving until 10pm.

Disliked: The light in the corridor was blue and also our bathroom wasn't cleaned perfectly. I asked the staff to clean it but he only poured water over the floor and that was it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Gaa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Kalyan was great on many levels - the prices are more than reasonable, the rooms comfortable and decorated in Rajasthani style, and spacious. We were originally assigned a rooftop, basic room, but were upgraded at no charge to an enormous room on the second floor with a balcony. We slept comfortably with virtually no outside noise. The staff, particularly Vinita and Bhavnesh, were extremely helpful in getting us through a bank problem and followed up after we'd left to assure it had been solved. We found the stay to be a sigh of relief after hostels, home stays and overpriced lodging. They've also got a nice rooftop restaurant and free wifi - you really don't have to look any further!

Disliked: The wi-fi was a bit slower in the rooms - it's better at the restaurant on the rooftop, which is open all-day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polly Uttayaya

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, clean nice rooms, and delicious rooftop restaurant! The owner and her son took their time to meet every guest and inquire how their stay was going. They are very attentive and take pride in their hotel, it was lovely meeting them. The rooftop restaurant is fabulous and we ate their every night!

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Harrington

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, peaceful location in a busy city and with a beautiful roof terrace.

Disliked: Lunchtime service was haphazard but good at other times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Naranjo Palacio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: After a terrible hostel experience in Mumbai we came into this hostel with bad spirits but what a nice surprise! The family who owns the hotel is always on location and extremely devoted to the well-being of the guests. They made sure we got maps, they explained the major attractions and they changed our original room when we explained that it wasn't the one we had paid for. The hotel itself is excellent. There's a great supply of warm water (a must if you are traveling in the colder months), the roof has a nice view of the city and a restaurant on location with affordable prices and a great variety of food and drinks. We were 100% satisfied with our choice to stay here and if we're back in Jaipur we will stay again. As a side note: Jaipur was definitely the best part of our tour of central/northern India.

Disliked: Nothing was bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Den

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Kalyan is clean and cozy, with a nice and green roof restaurant, good food and friendly personnel. We stayed there for three nights and really enjoyed the experience. The area is safe and quite calm, but not too far from the famous markets. Tourist attractions are easily reachable with Auto rickshaws. Food was perfect and the menu is good and diverse. I drank a lot of famous Indian tea, called Chai, which was delicious at that hotel. Interior design is cozy and nice. Good taste Indian style with some art works on the walls. Nicely matched colors. Personnel are pleasant, friendly and attentive. But the best about this place is the roof terrace with outdoors furniture and some plants, it creates a nice oasis. We spent every evening up there. There is even wifi on the roof and electricity plug. All in all you can feel completely safe and relaxed at the hotel, both for your safety and leaving your belongings, so I recommend it for sure. I had a room with a balcony, so I could enjoy the outside and get enough of day light in my room. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Swan shaped fresh towels were waiting for us, when we arrived!

Disliked: Nothing,its already the best

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alen Craac

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2013 Alen would recommend this property

Liked: Great Property , Excellent Location,Well Maintained,Beautifully decorated in heritage style,represents the culture in true way.We really liked the service and the food as well.The rooms were clean,spacious had a great look and feel to it. The bathrooms were really the best cleaned all over in India. The rooftop restaurant is great,provides full views for the whole city. It was the best hotel in India for such a cheap price and really is a must choice in Jaipur. We would definitely come here next time. The best thing here was the personal attention given by the owners which was truely efficient as they guided us all dos and not dos in jaipur. We would definitely come here the next time when in Jaipur to have a great stay and also recommend everyone to stay here and to be really a first choice. No problems,great hotel. Definitely a must come.

Disliked: Nothing, everything perfect.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

TERESA XIU YI WONG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 TERESA XIU YI would recommend this property

Liked: The price, staff and location. The manager was kind enough to provide accomodation for our driver as well.

Disliked: The owner of the property keep harassing us to leave a review for them to the point that it is very annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Charlington

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 October 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Kalyan really offers great price/quality ratio.We really liked our rooms,the decoration,the food at the beautiful rooftop restaurant which was really the best restaurant i had eaten in India.First hotell in India which provided us with clean and well decorated rooms,clean bathrooms and the property was beautifully decorated which gave it an excellent character.FAST AND FREE WIFI ......wow it was really great. We really liked our stay here.....walking distance from railway station and many took took outside which gave the hotel a great connectivity with the beautiful pinkcity.We would definitely visit this hotel next time when we would be in Jaipur. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.A must to stay in Jaipur. Even if you are not staying here visit the rooftop.It also ha a tower which gives a 360 degree view of the city....wow all this offered in a low prices.GREAT STAY..

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Underdown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, the rooms are spacious and the hostel generally has a nice look and feel to it. The roof top restaurant serves lovely food at a good price. The WiFi here works perfectly and is free also. On our check out day they also allowed us to use a room after checkout time to freshen up for our long train journey which I thought was very kind and allowed us to also store our luggage safely there whilst we was out swimming. Out of a number of hostels we have stayed at this is by far a better one.

Disliked: There is just a few things that we wasn't really.happy with, the hotel owner and her son are quite forceful into giving good reviews on tripadvisor and hostel bookers/world. They tend to hang around you on the roof top restaurant during dinner time and ask you to leave reviews. They did ask my friend there and then to leave a review on trip advisor quite forcefully, I felt this to be out of order as you sho u of.leave a review good or bad in your Own time. We did also request to move rooms as the three of us were getting bitten by bed bugs all through the night which was mist uncomfortable. They did move us but we never received a apology from the staff. Lastly if you are owed 5-10 rupees Change for drinks or food in the restaurant one of the waiters tends to not give you the change. We stayed here for four nights and mostly was a pleasant stay, just felt we should of been left to it a bit more.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, nice room. Nice roof terrace. Helpful staff. Most of all we enjoyed the city of Jaipur with our rickshaw driver Khan. He drove us around for 2 days and showed us a lot of nice places. Definitely a recommendation if you want to see the city in a nice, relaxed way!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Boulton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: Having been away for 6 weeks this has to been the cleanest place we have stayed so far and hotel Kalyan gave us that little bit of sanctuary that we were hoping for. The bathroom was spotless and there was lots of hot water. We had a lovely thali in the rooftop garden and the staff were really friendly. The family who run the hotel were lovely, giving us lots of advice on what to see in the short time we were there and they allowed us to keep our room for as long as wished on the day of check out at no extra charge. If you have a lock then there is a cupboard in the room where you can keep your belongings. I would definitely say this hotel is worth the money.

Disliked: The aircon was a little bit strange ... Loud and sprayed water into the room. We abandoned it and just used the fan which was absolutely fine. We were also woken up in the early hours of the morning by a group of people checking in and in the end we had to ask them to be quiet. I realise this was not the hotels fault, however for this reason we did not get the best nights sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Humpolik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and kind ppl. Good value for money.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Valerija Jegorenko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Valerija would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room. Good restaurant.

Disliked: Valerija left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: meals served slow

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekarin Booncherdchaiyan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Ekarin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop restaurant served with tasty food!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot water all day. Wi fi was free and there was free pc use for those without own device. Staff and owner very friendly and helpful. No hard sell on tours etc. On side street therefore relatively quiet at night.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: owners are very friendly and helpful great rooftop restaurant area and good food rooms were clean and comfortable

Disliked: we were asked to change rooms a couple of times during our stay some of the staff made me feel very uncomfortable- whenever they would come to our room to ask something I would speak to them at the door however they would keep trying to push their way into the room...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What an incredible hotel, clean room, most helpful staff, amazing rooftop restaurant and the whole family are a pleasure to meet and talk to. Rooms are spacious, hot water consistent for showering, high speed wifi available around the whole building, including our room. The rooftop restaurant is an amazing place to sit & chill after a long day of exploring the city and is not noisy at night. Would definately recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergiy Litvyakov

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012 Sergiy would recommend this property

Liked: Good place in the Jaipur. Best region for small Hotel. Very clean (as Indian possible) rooms, very friendly staff. We like very much this place and like this hotel. The owner of this hotel Vinita Gupta met us at the restoran on the roof of hotel. She is very beautiful Indian women

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was excellent, near the train station and within a brief Tuk Tuk ride to the Pink City. The room was spacious, with all the modern amenities, the bathroom was big and clean with western amenities. The bed was big and soft with two pillows and a nice mattress. The air conditioning worked very well and the room was very cool and welcome after a long hot day of sightseeing. I loved the rooftop restaurant with its great views and beautiful garden like setting. The food was excellent and very moderately priced. I ate there every night of my stay and usually I like to shop around. The staff was very help full and the owner, Vinita Gupta made sure everything was perfect about my stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phunsuk PARK

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 October 2012 Phunsuk would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible staff....incredible owners...and yes incredible INDIA.My stay at this property was an incredible experience.The owner Mrs.Vinita Gupta also tries to help you and always ready to solve any problem (generally one doesn't have problems in this excellent budget hotel).Very Good people..liked the place very much..toilets clean ..rooms beautiful.The hotel was thoroughly clean.The rooftop restaurant serves very nice dishes and is a hub of foreigners.At my arrival there was a warm welcome.This hotel offers very good,clean and quality rooms at such lower prices.Very Good Atmosphere of the hotel.Very good place to relax at the rooftop.On my whole trip to India this was the best hotel we have ever got at such lower prices.Recommended to everyone

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mauricio Orey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and wonderful rooms. Great value for your money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Porter Illi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Porter would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the roof top is quite lovely.

Disliked: The sheets were really disgusting and there was far too much paperwork to fill out in order to check in. But overall great value for your money!


See all Jaipur hostels
See all Jaipur hotels