We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of 31 South Park

2 star Hotel | 198 Gandhi Bazaar Main Road, Basvanagudi, Bangalore, India 560004

69.2% Overall Rating

11 out of 14 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2011)

"All staff were really friendly and helpful, trying to make my stay as good as possible."

Read all 31 South Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangalore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangalore

Dr. Rajkumar International Hotel
32.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Maurya
14.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.7% 8 reviews
Hotel Bangalore Gate
22.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 3 reviews
Gold Finch Bengaluru
80.86 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Casa Cottage
31.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Piccola Service Apartment
21.83 USD

Apartment 93.7% 5 reviews
Mels Service Apartments
14.47 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Tranzell Court Service Apartments Palmgrove
15.36 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.2%

Overall Rating

11 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '31 South Park'

Atmosphere
54.3%
Location
70.0%
Facilities
62.9%
Cleanliness
72.9%
Staff
74.3%
Value
71.4%
Safety
78.6%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The large rooms are great and friendliness of staff

Disliked: Staff weren't expecting us, hadn't seemed to have checked emails from hostelbookers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Was a bit hard to find, at least for my Taxi driver :-(

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2011

Liked: All staff were really friendly and helpful, trying to make my stay as good as possible.

Disliked: Bed bugs!!! Even after being informed, the mattresses weren't cleaned and a new guest had been installed in my original room. Electricity and hot water were turned off when staff considered them not to be in use, despite requesting 24h usage. Very loud music from the bar/restaurant upstairs during the daytime.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Xu JIA

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Xu would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel itself is just CLEAN and Normal, with King-size Bed,no bed-sheets to change everyday. Be prepared to bring some clean bedding sheets for self use. The sanity of bathroom is a typical INDIAN ones, no TPs, only cold water, and if you want to shower, ya have to tell the receptionist to open the hot-water tube to your room. Only bed, bathroom, and a TV, the airflow there isn't good, since it's a Budget Hotel, it situated on the second and third floor, downstairs, night-club, so loud dancing music all the time ** GOOD TING ** # Even it located in the south a bit-far area, the local market, and restaurants nearby, and D.V.G road for souvenirs and India clothing shopping is good. Many B,lore famous chain store, and supermarkets are located nearby, with convenient fruit, and food market here. If you want to experience REAL India local life, it's a good place to walk around ,and have fun.

Disliked: The HOT water isn't hot enough to shower. The location might be a bit south to main downtown area

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Woolsey

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

07 March 2011 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Considering the cost compared to other options in Bangalore, this hotel is priced appropriately ... coming from a single business traveler on a tight budget. The bed in the room was one of the better ones I've had on my trip so far (memory foam type mattress). The bar and restaurant upstairs has a nice atmosphere but you'll need to be in the mood for the music to be cranked up. A Cafe Coffee Day is located right downstairs which was a bonus. The neighborhood itself had a lot of character with an outdoor market available daily with a lot of nice flowers and vegetables being sold. Staff were generally helpful and polite. Hot water works as advertised. No problems with bugs or cleanliness.

Disliked: Wi-fi only works from the lobby. The staff, although generally helpful and nice, made it very difficult for me to pay by credit card which was frustrating. I would also recommend booking through the website as I first arrived on foot to the hotel and was told a price 1/3 higher than that advertised on hostelbookers and was not given the advertised price until making my reservation online and showing my confirmation.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Helen O' Keeffe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011

Liked: Comfortable bed, lovely hot shower.

Disliked: Room was extremely grubby. There seems to be a lot of staff standing around doing nothing who could be cleaning. The free breakfast consisted of a plain omelette, toast and coffee the first morning, which was nice, but the second morning we were only offered dry toast and coffee. I couldn't make an international phone call from the hotel. No fresh linen and toiletries provided daily. The location is about a ten minute tuk tuk trip from MG Road and Train station areas. There are nicer and cheaper places to stay in Bangalore, see guide books.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 mark would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent VFM hotel which provides a great base for Bangalore. Rooms are clean and spacious with bathroom, fridge, TV, free wifi and very comfortable beds, which are cleaned daily. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: style

Disliked: location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff excellent. Large rooms, hot powerful shower, modern.

Disliked: Noise outside at night, mainly dogs barking but not all the time.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice but you need to argue with reception to get the AC that is advertised without paying 300 repuees extra and then argue again for the free breakfast. The location is also annoying as rickshaw drivers will charge 3 times the normal price after dark so it can get expensive to stay out but there is a lively bar on the rooftop if you fancy staying in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Giuseppe Salvia

Alone

Business / conference

14 October 2010 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: the frienfliness of people working there and the atmosphere of the market outside in the morning

Disliked: the absensce of facilities, staff not too efficient, not very clean, the location at night almost desert and probably unsafe

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kimberley Bannister

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2010 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: There was free wifi although it only worked in the lobby

Disliked: it felt very clinical

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: South Park is located right in Gandhi Bazaar, one of the main markets of the city. The service and price were also excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.