HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Canada Hotel

Hotel | Flat A6, Block A, 15/F, Chung King Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road Hong Kong, Hong Kong .

79.0% Overall Rating

29 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2013)

Ivy Deloso thinks…

"I love my stay in canada hotel. I didn't expect it to be that nice since im paying lower than any other accomodation. I have been to many places all around europe but this hotel in asia is definitely…"

Read all Canada Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hong Kong

Super 7 Hostel
36.13 USD

Hostel 88.0% 20 reviews
Apple Hostel
19.35 USD

Hostel 82.5% 139 reviews
Australian Guest House
22.58 USD

Guesthouse 72.9% 152 reviews
Kowloon TST Guesthouse
19.35 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Grand Hotel
25.16 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Osaka Hostel
26.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lucky Hotel
20.39 USD

Hostel 60.7% 154 reviews
Reliance Inn
15.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

29 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canada Hotel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FU-MAN CHUANG

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2014 FU-MAN would recommend this property

Liked: Canada hostel is very cheap.

Disliked: The location is not so good. If you're along girl, do not stay at this bulding.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

min jet lum

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 min jet would recommend this property

Liked: room and toilet too small

Disliked: downstair of the hotel many indian people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paweena Chinrakbumrung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

19 February 2014 Paweena would recommend this property

Liked: สะดวก สบาย ใกล้รถไฟใต้ดิน

Disliked: ลิฟท์น้อยไปหน่อย ต้องต่อคิวยาว แต่พอรับได้

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Narinder Singh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2014

Liked: Location of the building, that is Chung King Mansions. Nothing else is likeable.

Disliked: No room at Canada Hotel. Got pushed into a matchbox size cabin in an illegal guest house in an adjoining building. No space even to keep my one bag. Green color bed sheet. Can not say when it had been washed. Most hotels use white sheets. Will never book a guest house in Chung King Mansions again.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Stefano Galbiati

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: EVERYTHING: Chung King Mansion is DANGEROUS (there is police service 24/7 inside the building). The elevator requires cameras because robbery is an everyday activity. Let's talk about the rooms: as small as coffins, dirty, with air conditioning noisy as jumbo jets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NUR HAFIZAH BINTI MOHD YASIN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 NUR HAFIZAH would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly

Disliked: small room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kongqiao Wang

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping

18 May 2013 Kongqiao would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel is small but clean. the two Indian guys are very nice.

Disliked: it is quite noisy on the first floor.when I first come,I didn't feel safe.but actually it is not that bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivy Deloso

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Ivy would recommend this property

Liked: I love my stay in canada hotel. I didn't expect it to be that nice since im paying lower than any other accomodation. I have been to many places all around europe but this hotel in asia is definitely a value for money. From the very accomodating receptionist-- i forgot his name-but he is indian i thought so..though the other tenants in the building are still renovating but Canada hotel is quite and clean. the location is superb--accessible to any transpo--esp. from and to the airport..bus and mtr stops are just right outside the building..walking distance to popular tourist attractions..the room is not so big but its neat, comfy, fully air-conditioned and facilties like fridge, oven and hot water dispenser is always available for use especially if your on a budget and plans of bringing instant food... Everything that you are looking for a budget friendly inns..and very good wifi connection..ill definitely recommend this hotel to my friends..thumbs up guys! We really had a value of money.

Disliked: Ivy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Kwek

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

13 May 2013 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: newly renovated and clean. They pack the room everyday

Disliked: Corridor to the hostel is quite old, but the hostel itself is new

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Line to the lift

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location in Tsim Sha Tsui is impregnable. 5 minutes to MTR and restaurants are not expensive.

Disliked: The rooms are small and the lift to get to your hotel from the street is very congested.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maxime devilers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 maxime would recommend this property

Liked: Completely new inside

Disliked: The entry of the building is scaring (but safe) and when you're inside you feel like home .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Dixon

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2012 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: It's excellent location in the heart and life of Hong Kong/Kowloon. You get what you pay for from the accommodations but get even more from the friendly and helpful staff. Check in can be a hassle if you have a lot of luggage but they are willing to help you with it. Check out on the other hand is exceedingly simple and very convenient. All you do is leave, no need to confirm or check with the front desk, just leave the Key and go on your way. Overall, and excellent experience.

Disliked: The distance between the rooms and the check in counter. It's not really that far, but if you have a lot of luggage or very heavy luggage it becomes a hassle.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, location (except that you have to pass through ChungKing mansion entrance), almost on top floor of building thus not much noise except from street and good for taking elevator downstairs (during our time waiting was not so bad, max 2-3 minutes), cleanliness and comfortable bed

Disliked: Size of room is small as excpected, but as our large backbags were fitting under the bed it was fully sufficient. No common area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Candice Villarez

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 August 2012 Candice would recommend this property

Liked: The place itself exceeded my expectations based on the bad reviews of HK hostels. It is definitely not luxurious as hotels but it can give just as nice place to rest and sleep for my few days tour in HK. With its accessible location, cleanliness and security all the other things they offer such as facilities and very accomodating staff are pretty big bonus for what I paid for. I really felt proud and happy choosing Canada throughout my stay in HK. Not bad for first time HK traveller :)

Disliked: box office lift... that's it... hehehe

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evgenia Britner

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2012 Evgenia would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel location is great, 1 minute to Chim Sa Chui (central) MTR Station, avenue of stars and other nice places. The price is really cheap in comparison with other hotels nearby. The room in the hotel is very clean, furniture ans bathroom sanitary are new and the staff change towels and sheets every day. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only bid disadvantage - the room is really tiny, 9m2, but we were all the time out, so for us it was better to save money for shopping than to the hotel. So if for you the location, cheap prices and cleanness are important, I recommend this hotel, if you prefer comfort, check more expensive ones.

Disliked: Evgenia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok, friendly staff, clean, powerful Internet connections, more than a great location;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012

Liked: Fast internet and the reception guy was somewhat appologetic that what we booked doesn't actually exist at the hostel.

Disliked: Everything. We only stayed the first night. They don't have any 2-bed dorms as we booked and then they advised that we could pay extra for a private room. The whole building is ghastly; its filthy with large piles of trash in the upper corridors and through the stairwells between the 15th and 18th floor where our room was. Men in the lobby aggressively try to get you to book with them while you wait for the archaic death-trap of an elevator, which itself is an assault waiting to happen. Despite the name, they do not communicate well in English or French and there is nothing whatsoever here that relates in anyway to Canada. I am a seasoned budget traveller and always stay in hostels, but this place is a nightmare. Do not stay there!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012

Liked: extremely fast wireless internet

Disliked: extremely cold (no heating)!!!!! It"s colder in the room than outside the hotel, even the mtr station has a higher temperature than the hotel room. Small and shaby bathroom (about 1-2 square metres large), having shower may led to the result that the room may be floated!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff (allowed us to leave our bags overnight a night we didn't stay there). Excellent location in city. Room very clean.

Disliked: Expensive (but probably as good as you can get in HK) and room wasn't ready when we checked in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andree-Anne Asselin-Chretien

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Andree-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, location, very helpfull and generous

Disliked: Nothing, except maybe no common chilkout room but I think its like that all over HK, so everything was pretty perfect :)))

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ROVANA SOCOLOV

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 ROVANA would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central, Harry( the receptionist) alwYs there when we needed him

Disliked: The rooms was very loud because of the air con boxes, but you can get usedto it after 1 night. After that it sounded like a beautiful summer rain!:)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was large for the Mansion's standards, spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned every day. hot and powerful shower.

Disliked: we were moved out onto another floor as they'd clearly overbooked themselves. television reception was pretty bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui. Easy to get to and away from. My arrival was expected and service was prompt. Very clean rooms. Good view (we got a room with windows). Cheap as chips. FYI it's a little tricky to find (not on any signs) but keep poking, it's there!

Disliked: My main complaint was that the filth and age of the building makes you feel pretty unsafe the first night or two. If you look up "Chungking Mansions" on Wikipedia, it's not very encouraging.