We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Day and Night Hotel

2 star Hotel | Block D&E, Flat D8&E2, 10th Floor, 40 Nathan Road, Kowloon Hong Kong, Hong Kong 0000

75.5% Overall Rating

105 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2014)

Lara Andapat thinks…

"everything is perfect. Staff are extremely friendly. I got a free LAUNDRY. Room is clean and newly decorated. Very good value of money for budget travellers like me. they have free coffee, tea, sugar…"

Read all Day and Night Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Newspapers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In the case of a no show or a cancellation made less than three days before arrival a full charge of the stay will be made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hong Kong

Canadian Hostel
11.27 USD

Hostel 65.1% 297 reviews
Shanghai Hostel HK
11.27 USD

Guesthouse 69.7% 10 reviews
New Tokyo Hostel
18.67 USD

Hostel 85.7% 4 reviews
Guangdong Guest House
32.84 USD

Hostel 92.1% 207 reviews
Crystal Hostel HK
11.27 USD

Hostel 73.1% 27 reviews
Tokyo Hostel - Hong Kong
25.75 USD

Hostel 81.5% 100 reviews
New International Guest House
16.74 USD

Guesthouse 69.5% 6 reviews
Four Seasons Hostel
22.54 USD

Hostel 65.3% 84 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

105 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Day and Night Hotel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 133 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Rooms are very small. The photos of the property are misleading

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Chris Patrik Riedel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Chris Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, clean rooms

Disliked: Dorm room would have been cheaper by doing a booking without hostelbookers (the room mates only paid 120 HKD per night), little privacy, staff entered room at 9am in order to ask who is going to check-out

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location. Fridge in the room

Disliked: Very small room. No lock on dorm room. No communal areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Andapat

Alone

City break

06 June 2014 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: everything is perfect. Staff are extremely friendly. I got a free LAUNDRY. Room is clean and newly decorated. Very good value of money for budget travellers like me. they have free coffee, tea, sugar etc.. which is helpful in the morning for a coffee drinker like me that i dont need to rush to 7-11 for an instant coffee. Boys help me carry my luggage to the lift. Bathroom is well equip with all the necessities you need (shampoo, body soap, slipper) hotwater, hair dryer etc. etc. they emptied the bin and change my towels and linens. I cant ask for anything more for the price i paid in this guesthouse. thumbs up and will highly recommend this guesthouse.

Disliked: lift is small and always full. But this guesthouse has an access to Block-E where lift are not so busy unlike Block-D

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

leon roper

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: Nothing, however it led me to a rough part of town and this was a worthwhile experience as it showed me the sinister people that hang about this building.

Disliked: Access, one lift to get to room, stairs lead through a maze of floors, the place is extremely filthy, and smells repulsive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

martin knowles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: comments made earlir

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, one of the cleaner and more established hostels in the block

Disliked: the cues for the lift and it being on 10th floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, staff is helpful, rooms are clean

Disliked: Lift takes time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Forget the negative comments ... some of those people clearly should either a) just stay at home or b) quit being whiny broke-a** tourists and check into a 4 star hotel that is up to the standards they apparently. For HK, this place is a great deal. It's clean, staff is friendly (especially if you're not an obnoxious individual, expecting five-star concierge service), location is ideal. Thumbs up.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff. Not the cheapest in Chunking Mansions but very good value (for Hong Kong) considering it's clean and safe, unlike some other options there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: there's too much ghost stories about Chungking Mansions accomodation, this place is really good value for money. not exactly backpacker design, so don't expect common room and late night movies, but dorms are usually filled with travellers and are refurbished and decent. wi-fi works good, owners are nice and there is free coffee.

Disliked: Krzysztof left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are very casual.

Disliked: Infomations like keys, passwords are not clear, you need ask by yourself.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yerkin Kubenkulov

Alone

City break

26 November 2013 Yerkin would recommend this property

Liked: Surprisingly, it was a quiet place for a Chunking Mansion. I had to check-in almost at midnight, but the staff was friendly. Be ready that you might be relocated to stay at hostel with different name, but the owners are the same, so no frets about it.

Disliked: No specific dislikes as it is a Chunking Mansion hostel :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff done my laundry free of charge.free wifi

Disliked: cheapest price

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Genuinely friendly and helpful staff, very sensitive to the needs of the guests and they went out of their way to help! Clean, decent, comfortable + great value for the money. I researched all the hostels available in the area and decided on this one, and was glad I did so.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angel Kaushish

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Angel would recommend this property

Liked: good location. got fresh washed towels everyday. Bed was made everyday nicely.

Disliked: The top bed space was too less. It was hard to sit on the bed near the roof.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ondrej Ginter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013

Liked: The location is somewhat good. It is close to the pier which has ferry to the HK island.

Disliked: Almost everything. Starting with the shady people at the entrance trying to sell you watches, SIM cards, suits and later in the evening even drugs (technically this is not the hotels fault, but it adds up to their image). The elevators are indeed tiny and crowded. But I rather took the lift then using the disgusting smelly stairs with rats running around. Rooms were tiny (I had a dorm with 5 other people), beds squeaky and filled with bedbugs and cockroaches. The only bathroom on the floor was disgusting and I saw a guy chopping a chicken on the floor there (and I am not even joking now) I stayed there 2 nights and then I decided to book another hostel elsewhere (i paid for longer stay, and of course they didnt even refunded any money).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was convieniently situated and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like waiting for the elevator as it is too small and only allows 7 people at a time and it is a busy time of year for tourist.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very accessible to shopping centers and tourist areas.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was hands-on with his guests. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. I like how it is conveniently located 2 blocks from MTR station and 7-11. McDonald's which is opened 24 hours is only a few steps away from the hostel.

Disliked: Elevator sucks. You have to line up for minutes. At first I was a little scared when I entered Chun King Mansion but when I got to see the hostel owner and his staff, somehow I felt relieved. However, the Chinese guards made me feel secured.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013

Liked: Nothing at all apart from the location, and still, there's so much better locations around Hong Kong.

Disliked: All you can think of, to make your stay pleasant or even just ok. Hong Kong has much to offer, not this "dump", apart from ruining a potentially great visit to this city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Nikiforova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Very pure hotel! Friendly personnel!

Disliked: elevator -)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rommel Sofia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2012 Rommel would recommend this property

Liked: It is in Nathan Road! And the proximity to train station, and many sights in Kowloon. And at a very reasonable price.

Disliked: Rommel left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 December 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: surrounding

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Katsunori Watanabe

Alone

Business / conference

30 November 2012 Katsunori would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: bath room no light. no cleaning.