HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel El Sol

2 star Hotel | Salida a Santa Catarina Palopó, Barrio Jucanyá, Panajachel, Guatemala 00000

89.0% Overall Rating

42 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

"A nice and clean place. The dorm has only 5 beds, so its not too crowded. And they are not bunk bed, witch I really appreciate. They have coffee and tea for free. The shower is the best I've seen in Guatemala so far!"

Read all Hotel El Sol reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Panajachel?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Panajachel

Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
44.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Casa Ramos
13.00 USD

Hotel 76.3% 24 reviews
Hotel Montana
22.00 USD

Hotel 72.9% 4 reviews
Maya Experience Home Stays - San Jorge
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Jardines del Lago
29.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.0% 14 reviews
Hotel Miralrio
15.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 5 reviews
Posada los Encuentros
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 19 reviews
Grand Hotel Panajachel
17.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

42 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel El Sol'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice and clean place. The dorm has only 5 beds, so its not too crowded. And they are not bunk bed, witch I really appreciate. They have coffee and tea for free. The shower is the best I've seen in Guatemala so far!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, good hostel and the dormitories are very spacious and quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's bit far from the center but you can always catch TukTuk taxi on the street and it cost only Q5/pp. The hotel is very clean and very comfortable. The hotel staff is very helpful. They have Japanese food delibery service too. We order once and they were pretty good for the price. If I come back to PANAJACHEL, I will definitely stay at El Sol!

Disliked: I cannot find any.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013

Liked: The staff were extremely nice and helpful but the location of the hotel is far, and the taxi driver advised us against walking in the streets on foot at night. The location is about 20 minutes walking from the center. Moreover, the hotel no longer had a restaurant in it. Tuk-tuk ride to the center is 10Q

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpfull staff. Very clean. Good matresses!

Disliked: Bit far from the center (but lots of cheap tuk-tuks). Closest panaderia/place for breakfast is a bit far as well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spotlessly clean. nice family running the place. very cheap dorm prices.

Disliked: a bit out of the way, but easily accessible by tuk-tuk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rochelle Cashdan

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Rochelle would recommend this property

Liked: Attractive, clean, frequent tuktuks, japanese flavor, laundry facilities, meals available (middday & evening, quiet, restful, sitting areas - just about any letter of the alphabet would work. The road beyond the hostel a country walk. I extended my stay two days, I enjoyed El Sol so much--and I hope to go back. I stayed in a dorm room, two nights by myself, then one other woman arrived.

Disliked: I didn't mind the 1 km. walk into the center of Panajachel but some people might. Still, it's always possible to take an inexpensive little tuktuk vehicle to and from.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Calvo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very pleasant location, not near the festive center but close enough, walking or tuc tuc transportation becomes part of the adventure. Cleanliness, hospitality and comfortability are superb. Enormous value for the money.

Disliked: Ricardo left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and clean place.

Disliked: A bit far from the centre.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John David Weems

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 John David would recommend this property

Liked: great japanese restaurant

Disliked: long walk to central panajachel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Dìaz

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 February 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Es un lugar limpio,con piezas amplias, ubicado en un lugar tranquilo, con disponibilidad de agua fria y caliente filtrada para beber. Tiene tres pisos, con espacios para socializar. pero a la vez con cierta intimidad .

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet (except for roosters--although closing my window probably would have taken care of that), blindingly clean below the ceiling, windows that let in the wonderful lake breeze, friendly and helpful management, a good walking distance from the main part of town (or a quick and very cheap taxi ride), clothesline on the roof. An outstanding value.

Disliked: The fish dinner in the restaurant was a major disappointment: I expected a Japanese preparation andf got (frozen?) fish strips with uninteresting side dishes. The price did not reflect the quality.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is spacious, very clean with couches in reading area, kitchen access for cooking and a sushi restaurant on site. Also thermal pool on site. The hotel is a great facility for home away from home. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Great place for solo travelers.

Disliked: It is a fair distance from Panajacgel which gas it's advantages and disadvantages - a distance to get to eating facilities approx 2 km. It is good to be out of the main hub though.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

paul housden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place with good size rooms, location was a 10 minute walk from town but the advantage is that its a very quiet area

Disliked: Wi-fi hardly ever worked. No breakfast facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2012

Liked: The hostel was really clean, felt safe, and offered access to wifi with a computer on site. Many hostels have wifi, but no computers, so for people travelling without one, providing one is great. Nice hot showers! The restaurant was great, really nice to have authentic Japanese food in Guatemala. I'm all for eating local food everywhere I go, but having a break is always nice.

Disliked: The location! I read that it was far from the center of Panajachel, but this place is far from everything. I am used to walking a lot, but had to take a tuc-tuc to get here because walking with luggage was not an option. Also, if you stay there plan to STAY there. I was planning to check-in and go out to eat and walk around Pana, but coudn't because it is so far that it became very inconvenient to get out of there and back at night. Tuc-tucs were not running around the area anymore, and because of its removed location, I didn't feel very safe walking there at night (not very good street lights).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012

Liked: The place was clean, had free wifi, friendly staff, and was a good value for the price.

Disliked: Hotel El Sol is quite far from the center of Panajachel, such that we didn't even feel like we were in the same town. The place was nice, but the walking distance was not worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend this hotel if you need to stay in Pana, the rooms are beautiful and it is clean and reasonably priced. And the best part is that there is a Japanese restaurant that serves delicious food. IT is a quiet and peaceful place about a 5 minute tuk tuk away from the centre where you can party if you want to and escape to the peace and quiet afterwards.

Disliked: Carly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel El Sol in Panajachel ... Great value for your money! I extended my stay from two days to six days because this hostel offered such good living conditions. El Sol is immaculately clean and totally quiet at night. Great for people who want to be in bed by 23H and get up early to do yoga on the terrace overlooking the volcanoes.

Disliked: The hostel is a fifteen minute walk to the happening place in Pana. I loved my daily walk to the restaurants and to the bar scene. The walk is safe . A woman may however want to take an inexpensive tuktuk for 5Q. on her way back to the hostel at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Namju Jeon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 Namju would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Quiet and Safe. Very nice place to stay

Disliked: no

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxime Benard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2012 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: Calm quiet clean bright excellent wifi

Disliked: Only the location...its far from the center... For the same price you can find a place on the main street. Dont walk from the center to the hotel when its dark, its not safe and even the locals say that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really clean. Its run by a family of Japanese born and raised in Guatemala. Howver the family itself multicultural. As can be expected a lot of japanese tourists stay here. Most guests and all the staff is really friendly. Though I havent tried it myself, the place has a sushi place and a woman from Holland was raving how good the sushi was and what a great value for money it was.

Disliked: The property isnt very close to the heart of Panajachel (Calle Santander) where all the restaurants and travel agencies are. So its bit of a walk to all the restaurants. In the flip side there is a walmart (dispensia Familia) on the way. The hotel doesnt have a communal kitchen but the owner was generous enough and let me use it. I used it at the same time as his wife and kid. They were very friendly!! Finally the owner isnt uptodate about the touristy stuff here (what to see, where to book for good deals.) So you will have to all the leg woek yourself. Certainly do not expect any inside tips or hidden secrets that only locals know about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Crory

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: --SPOTLESS--!!----and GREAT VALUE--!!

Disliked: --just a LITTLE bit far from the central area--!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Hargreaves

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding hotel. A real hidden gem. The place is beyond immaculate, its clean, bright and airy and has a lovely chilled out feel to it. The Japanese family who own and run it quite clearly take huge pride in the hotel and can't do enough for any guest who stays there. I have been backpacking for 3 months and this is the most lovely place I have stayed so far. A real treat. Its only a 10 minute walk from Pana which is also to me, one of its perks as it means you get a peaceful nights sleep and a view of beautiful lush hills and vegetation - something you definitely do not get staying in the main town of Panajachel!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing! It is perfect.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value

Disliked: A bit outside of town

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ji won Noh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Ji won would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and kindness

Disliked: far from main street.