We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Rex

2 star Hotel | 39 Monastiriou Str, Thessaloniki, Greece 54623

77.8% Overall Rating

289 out of 415 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

"Cracked tiles in the bathroom, dirty sheets, decor not up kept. An ok place for one night but not worth it for longer."

Read all Hotel Rex reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Thessaloniki?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Thessaloniki

Hotel Anessis
27.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Atlantis
19.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.9% 289 reviews
El Greco
31.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Kastoria
11.61 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.6% 65 reviews
Hotel Aegeon
34.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.9% 44 reviews
Colors Budget Luxury
25.90 USD

Apartment 90.7% 8 reviews
Tourist Hotel
129.48 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Luxembourg Hotel
129.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

289 out of 415 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Rex'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 230 of 234 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi connection, good location, helpful staff

Disliked: smoke in the room

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014

Liked: Cracked tiles in the bathroom, dirty sheets, decor not up kept. An ok place for one night but not worth it for longer.

Disliked: A bit dirty, not great up keep of the property

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really enjoyed the stay. booked shared rom but got double room for myself!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist. Also right opposite train station.

Disliked: Dirty carpets . Very poor lighting in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Pointon

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Found this property ideally a short walk from the railway station which was good for us as we travelled on the train through the different countries. Breakfast was good and everything was well defined

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Wc and shower were filthy and same thing with the room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good.

Disliked: The room smells like a smoke.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simona cafieri

Alone

City break

01 August 2012 simona would recommend this property

Liked: the internet access

Disliked: the breakfast is not included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: paid for a bed and had a room for myself,with ac and fridge!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TONI BOJKOVSKI

Alone

City break

03 May 2012 TONI would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station and city center,clean and helpful staff

Disliked: TONI left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms tiny. bathroom has open drainage hole in the floor where you can watch the waste water flow. Few light fixtures work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The general condition of the room was just ok. There was an abandoned fridge in the room, formerly a minibar maybe, with an expired coca cola can and an open bier bottle inside. Half of the lights

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Belousova

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 October 2011 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, near the railway station, 10 minutes from the city center, many buses.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

iosif tsaggarakis

Alone

City break

21 September 2011 iosif would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms ,a/c good brekfast

Disliked: none

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011

Liked: it did provide me with shelter in a foreign town - -the staff I met were friendly.

Disliked: My room was unclean and the hotel is situatied in area that I learned was not appropriate for a single female travelling alone.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

kylee matthews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011

Liked: air con

Disliked: we booked a double room with shared bathroom. our room was very dirty, a layer of dirt/dust over everthing in the room and on the balcony. you couldn't even drape your towel over a chair or lean on the balcony without being covered in a layer of black dust. the shared bathroom had no light in the shower, making it impossible to see when you closed the door. the toilet door didn't even shut properly on the ladies toilets.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emilie Storm

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: I love the room I stayed in! I had a private room and it was beautiful! I had a refrigerator in my room and the bed was amazing! I also had a balcony which was super cute! The T.V. was amazing as well! Air Conditioning was a plus and it was nice to sleep with it!

Disliked: There isn't anything I didn't like! Well I did arrive later on in the evening around 730pm and the front desk guy kept rushing off when I had questions but he could have been in the middle of eating or something. I wasn't too offended! I am sure when its normal hours to check in and a busy time people come in, the staff is ready! He was nice when I asked him questions, he was just rushing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It well located

Disliked: The toilet is too small and it does not look soo clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Masatora kanai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Masatora would recommend this property

Liked: room service was nice

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

parthena muller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 parthena would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location,just steps from the train station. Really friendly reception and clean rooms

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very convenient for railway station and accessible by bus (78) from airport

Disliked: Nothing important

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Montgomery Loftus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Montgomery would recommend this property

Liked: Very inexpensive and close to the train station. Free breakfast, comfortable beds and a tv with old Soviet soap operas made for a pleasant stop-over on my trip.

Disliked: It's in the middle of a red light district, which didn't bother me much but might sketch some people out a lot. It was dimly lit and kind of frightening to arrive there during the night. It's fine for a stop-over but I'm not sure I'd want to see Thessaloniki with it as a base.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like there, I would come again..

Disliked: Rooms haven't bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011

Liked: it's really close to the train station, the breakfast was ok.

Disliked: it is pretty much f****ed up - I don't know the other rooms but ours smelled and everything was like half broken...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephanie Neville

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: This place i good if you are looking to stop in Thessaloniki for the night. It is close to the train station and is on the main street but the carpet was filthy and well we had sparks coming out of the powerpoint that was supposed to be used for the TV however, the staff were more than willing to give us another room. All in all a good budget hostel. The staff did give us alot of tourist information and organised a taxi for us. They also have 24 hour reception.

Disliked: Dirty carpet and unsafe powerpoints but it is a budget hotel after all....