HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Katerina & John Hotel

2 star Hotel | Perissa, Santorini Island, Greece 84703

83.9% Overall Rating

326 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Mary Wilson thinks…

"While rooms are fairly budget, they were clea and comfortable. All facilities are there, ac, hot water, fridge, wifi, cooker, and outside swimming pool. Katerina and John were fantastic hosts,…"

Read all Katerina & John Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santorini Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santorini Island

Ostria Studios
21.09 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anny Studios Perissa Beach
11.39 USD

Apartment 94.5% 782 reviews
The Best!!! Studios and Rooms
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 29 reviews
Perissa Bay
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.4% 3 reviews
Sunrise Studios
12.65 USD

Apartment 89.2% 19 reviews
Robertos Villas
12.65 USD

Apartment 47.8% 7 reviews
Hotel MaryBill
16.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Aretousa Villas
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.6% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

326 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Katerina & John Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 307 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grigorios Delichristos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

09 September 2011 Grigorios would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best value accommodation in Greece! Being a hostel owner myself, this place makes me ashamed of my own prices. The immaculate double with AC, tv, fridge, kettle, safe-box and balcony overlooking the nice pool comes for less than any dorm bed in Greece! The free pick up from the port and Johns friendliness just add on to it. If money matters -come here.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rebecca Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Rich is a man who works there and was so helpful throughout our whole stay. The hotel was very accommodating and nothing was a problem to them.

Disliked: The road outside was quite noisy, but for the price we paid and the location it wasn't a big problem,

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and great with advice.

Disliked: We booked a double en-suite room. First night we were told they were full and as such relocated to a room of the owner's brother a street down the road. It was tiny with no windows and the shower was literally over the toilet. The second night we stayed where we were meant to - but instead of an en-suite double we got a room with 2 single beds and a bunk bed, so no I certainly did not get what they told me I had booked. Also we booked a tour of the island and were told to get the bus at 21h00 to return on the 40 min drive back to the hotel. We arrived at 20h50 and the bus had already gone. Another bus driver was shocked that no one told us all busses depart 15 mins before they are 'meant' to, so us and 3 other girls had to scramble around to try and get a way back. We were very lucky to be helped out by a good samaritan, but this could have been a real nightmare. When we booked the tour we really should have been told this.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 August 2011

Liked: not much, it was cheap and close to the beach.

Disliked: a bit grubby and no internet or breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shuk Yu Hau

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Shuk Yu would recommend this property

Liked: pool

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eliza kokkin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 eliza would recommend this property

Liked: It was all round a very good hostel to stay at, it was clean and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The only bad thing about my stay was the first night, when they said they didn't have enough room for me so they sent me down to another hostel to stay in for the night. It worked out being ok but i was a bit stressed as i was by myself and i was a bit worried, it all worked out though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very helpful and friendly!

Disliked: It's a little older than I expected.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: set up was nice that it was like a villa and had a pool. free pick up to and from the port. our room had a kitchen and table, very spacious. you must go to the white sand beach near by.

Disliked: not a hostel atmosphere as there is no common room, i guess its just at the pool as you walk in and out. this location is by the black sand beach, you need to take the bus to the city but there is a strip of restaurnats/bars and there are beach parties

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel is quite far from Fira, but its proximity to the Perissa beach is just perfect for us. It is located next to an internet bar, a scooter/ATV rental shop and a minimarket, so it is quite convenient to get everything. Staff are super nice and make you feel completely at home. One more thing: about 50m away from the hotel is a restaurant called Atlas - they make the best omelets!

Disliked: The toilets near the pool was a bit dirty. But you can always use the toilet in your room so it's not a big problem

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The independence of the room. It has a small kitchen where you can cook all that you need

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Fifles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2011 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: It's basically like staying with locals in their home, except you get your own room! They were really nice, even though John and Katerina don't really speak English, but their extended family does and they are really nice and helpful. Awesome for backpackers on a budget!!

Disliked: Bugs- but it was unavoidable, they came in from outside and we left our door open- our fault.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms are spacious little kitchenette available

Disliked: for the dorms, only one bathroom for 10 people our room was just beside de pool/common area, so there were a lot of noise, thin walls

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jack keeling

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 July 2011 jack would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money here was unbelieveable! I stayed here for o my one night as a pit stop before headed to ios. We got free transfers to and from the port, nice simple rooms with air con and bathrooms, great location, like 3 minute walk to the beach! And we got it for 6 euros each! More than worth it, I can't say what it would be like to stay longer as we only did 1 night but John who picked us up from the port was a character who blasted out r&b and hip hop tunes that he obviously hadn't ever heard before. And rich an American guy who also works at the hostel was very helpful in asking for places to eat and directions etc.

Disliked: Had no problems

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really nice, they didn't charge us the first night even if we cancelled only the day before and they offered us free transportation from and to the port. Access to internet, close to the beach, great excursion offered to visit all the island, market and restaurants on the street.

Disliked: Our shower had no curtains, so the bathroom floor was really wet when we took a shower, but for the price it's not a big problem.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Suppa

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap and a good place to meet people.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk to the beach, which is really all there is to do in this part of the island.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach; access to internet, mopeds, grocer and bakery. Owner pick up and drop off at ferry terminal.

Disliked: Kitchens could come a little better stocked: kettle and toaster would be nice additions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, right by the beach, helpful staff, great size rooms and kitchen included was a bonus

Disliked: had to pay for internet

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family run business, very friendly, internet cafe and motorbike/ATV rental next door, social pool area

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place on the Perissa side of the island, walking distance to the black beach. Market just beside, good restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Wifi not available.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nıce room and close to beach. Had mını kıtchenette ın our 3 person room.

Disliked: It was generally good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Rider

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly basic and a bit scruffy but clean and had everything I needed. I like basic and a bit scruffy! Great to have a swimming pool too. Everyone who was working there was very helpful. It was really great to be met from the airport and taken to the port when I left - all for free!

Disliked: Can't think of anything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Craig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: friendly staff whom were very helpful

Disliked: the place was a bit run down

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shayli Briedis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Shayli would recommend this property

Liked: It is close enough to walk to the beach. It isn't in the city centre, but it is cheap/easy to get there by bus or quad bike which are cheaper to hire down that end of the island. The pool is great, so is the friendliness of Katerina and John. It is cheap and has wifi which you can access via next doors connection.

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest place I have stayed at, but hey I guess you get what you pay for...There is no kitchen which is a bummer and makes it more expensive to buy food.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: John was so helpful! driving to and from hostel for us, even we stayed 2 nights only. It was a really simple room but has almost everything you need, so definitely worth of money!!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Grimmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Our three-bed room had it's own kitchenette! This was unexpected and very helpful. The internet next door offers a tour to the volcano and hot springs, with an option for the spectacular Oia, and they hire out ATVs. It's a five-minute walk to Perissa Beach. I was not lacking for activites the three nights I was there, and we were still offered the shuttle down to the port at 1am.

Disliked: Nothing, really.