HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Katerina & John Hotel

2 star Hotel | Perissa, Santorini Island, Greece 84703

87.9% Overall Rating

308 out of 336 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Close to the beach, cheap quad and scooter right next door, run by a nice family. Very social hostel."

Read all Katerina & John Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santorini Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santorini Island

Ostria Studios
23.01 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anny Studios Perissa Beach
11.04 USD

Apartment 94.2% 771 reviews
The Best!!! Studios and Rooms
55.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 29 reviews
Perissa Bay
55.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.4% 3 reviews
Sunrise Studios
30.37 USD

Apartment 89.2% 19 reviews
Robertos Villas
13.80 USD

Apartment 47.8% 7 reviews
Hotel MaryBill
17.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Villa Aretousa Hotel
55.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.9% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

308 out of 336 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Katerina & John Hotel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 302 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Billy Sims

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2012 Billy would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. All my friends met up here. Rented scooters here, and saw the whole island. I love this place and will be back in the summer

Disliked: Nice family owned, comfortablle rooms, hot, hot showers, great for March.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

renato natal de oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 renato would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place, the cost, beaches are beautiful, the best in the world. Good Staff. 24 hour bakery, great pastries, and the price was exscellent. I recommend for all travelars.

Disliked: renato left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location price the building

Disliked: strange noise continued from the roof ,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Libania Gomes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 Libania would recommend this property

Liked: Its near to the beach, it has a 24h bakery and it has a place that rents motos to a special price to people who stay here. The room is nice, it has kitchnet and its clean. For this price it couldnt be better!

Disliked: The location is not very good. But if you rent a moto I think it's ok to stay in Perissa and travel all around the island.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011

Liked: Just near to Perissan Beach, nothing special.

Disliked: Very far to Fira and Oia. And you need to travel by bus to these two popular sites, which cost Euro 7.80.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had a pick up from the port, a pool, cheap, av rental right outside, close to beach.

Disliked: the dorm room was a lil dingy but for only 6euros, def good for that! cant complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great! We booked 2 nights for so cheap and stayed for 5 (the extra 3 nights they gave to us at a discounted rate!). The whole family are really nice and will help you with anything, they picked us up and drove us to the port even when we were the only 2 going. Perissa beach is a great place to stay. Rent an ATV it's a good way to see the island as the buses are pretty average. People who have complained about this place expect way too much. It is a little dated, but think about how cheap it is for a Greek Island, and how it is only 300m to the beach!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to the Black Beach which is awesome outside the hotel there is a bus stop, 24-hour bakery and supermarket, very convenient.

Disliked: check-in time is pretty flexible, which can be a merit but that means there can be someone which enters your room at either very late night or very early in the morning.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price! 30 euro each for a twin room for 4 nights with own bathroom, tv, fridge and camp stove. Had a pool and was a short walk from Parissa beach or you could catch the bus or rent an ATV for 15 euro for 24hrs from John's son next door and head over to Fira, Oia etc. Free shuttle to and from the ferry port if you contact them beforehand.

Disliked: Our room was next to the pool so it was a little noisy if a group of people we're hanging around till late into the night. Had to pay for internet at cafe next door but we found if you go to a cafe on the beach, some have free wifi for customers so you can just buy a drink or lunch and chill on the internet there and go simming etc

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shan Li

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Shan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very nice and friendly! Very valuable for money! Strongly recommend!

Disliked: Location is far from Fira and must take bus to sightseeing. Bus comes every one hour, and is not punctual.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Haig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms decent size, has a pool, in good area, clean, free port transfers, good value for money. Visited a few areas in Santorini but if you want to be near the beach with choice for places to eat & drink Perssia is the best, Kamari was okay but the rocks were a bit big & it was a little more pricey.

Disliked: Bit further from beach than some of places but it was next to internet cafe, bike hire stores, great bakery, supermarket & ATMs.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011

Liked: The owner is really helpfull

Disliked: Its really dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grigorios Delichristos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

09 September 2011 Grigorios would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best value accommodation in Greece! Being a hostel owner myself, this place makes me ashamed of my own prices. The immaculate double with AC, tv, fridge, kettle, safe-box and balcony overlooking the nice pool comes for less than any dorm bed in Greece! The free pick up from the port and Johns friendliness just add on to it. If money matters -come here.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rebecca Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Rich is a man who works there and was so helpful throughout our whole stay. The hotel was very accommodating and nothing was a problem to them.

Disliked: The road outside was quite noisy, but for the price we paid and the location it wasn't a big problem,

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and great with advice.

Disliked: We booked a double en-suite room. First night we were told they were full and as such relocated to a room of the owner's brother a street down the road. It was tiny with no windows and the shower was literally over the toilet. The second night we stayed where we were meant to - but instead of an en-suite double we got a room with 2 single beds and a bunk bed, so no I certainly did not get what they told me I had booked. Also we booked a tour of the island and were told to get the bus at 21h00 to return on the 40 min drive back to the hotel. We arrived at 20h50 and the bus had already gone. Another bus driver was shocked that no one told us all busses depart 15 mins before they are 'meant' to, so us and 3 other girls had to scramble around to try and get a way back. We were very lucky to be helped out by a good samaritan, but this could have been a real nightmare. When we booked the tour we really should have been told this.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 August 2011

Liked: not much, it was cheap and close to the beach.

Disliked: a bit grubby and no internet or breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shuk Yu Hau

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Shuk Yu would recommend this property

Liked: pool

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eliza kokkin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 eliza would recommend this property

Liked: It was all round a very good hostel to stay at, it was clean and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The only bad thing about my stay was the first night, when they said they didn't have enough room for me so they sent me down to another hostel to stay in for the night. It worked out being ok but i was a bit stressed as i was by myself and i was a bit worried, it all worked out though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very helpful and friendly!

Disliked: It's a little older than I expected.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: set up was nice that it was like a villa and had a pool. free pick up to and from the port. our room had a kitchen and table, very spacious. you must go to the white sand beach near by.

Disliked: not a hostel atmosphere as there is no common room, i guess its just at the pool as you walk in and out. this location is by the black sand beach, you need to take the bus to the city but there is a strip of restaurnats/bars and there are beach parties

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel is quite far from Fira, but its proximity to the Perissa beach is just perfect for us. It is located next to an internet bar, a scooter/ATV rental shop and a minimarket, so it is quite convenient to get everything. Staff are super nice and make you feel completely at home. One more thing: about 50m away from the hotel is a restaurant called Atlas - they make the best omelets!

Disliked: The toilets near the pool was a bit dirty. But you can always use the toilet in your room so it's not a big problem

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The independence of the room. It has a small kitchen where you can cook all that you need

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Fifles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2011 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: It's basically like staying with locals in their home, except you get your own room! They were really nice, even though John and Katerina don't really speak English, but their extended family does and they are really nice and helpful. Awesome for backpackers on a budget!!

Disliked: Bugs- but it was unavoidable, they came in from outside and we left our door open- our fault.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms are spacious little kitchenette available

Disliked: for the dorms, only one bathroom for 10 people our room was just beside de pool/common area, so there were a lot of noise, thin walls

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jack keeling

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 July 2011 jack would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money here was unbelieveable! I stayed here for o my one night as a pit stop before headed to ios. We got free transfers to and from the port, nice simple rooms with air con and bathrooms, great location, like 3 minute walk to the beach! And we got it for 6 euros each! More than worth it, I can't say what it would be like to stay longer as we only did 1 night but John who picked us up from the port was a character who blasted out r&b and hip hop tunes that he obviously hadn't ever heard before. And rich an American guy who also works at the hostel was very helpful in asking for places to eat and directions etc.

Disliked: Had no problems