HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Katerina & John Hotel

2 star Hotel | Perissa, Santorini Island, Greece 84703

87.9% Overall Rating

308 out of 336 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Close to the beach, cheap quad and scooter right next door, run by a nice family. Very social hostel."

Read all Katerina & John Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santorini Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santorini Island

Ostria Studios
23.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anny Studios Perissa Beach
11.05 USD

Apartment 94.4% 770 reviews
The Best!!! Studios and Rooms
55.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.0% 29 reviews
Perissa Bay
55.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.4% 3 reviews
Sunrise Studios
30.38 USD

Apartment 89.2% 19 reviews
Robertos Villas
13.81 USD

Apartment 47.8% 7 reviews
Hotel MaryBill
17.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Villa Aretousa Hotel
55.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.9% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

308 out of 336 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Katerina & John Hotel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 302 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the bus stop for Thira

Disliked: A bit rundown, but functional

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Forrester Cruz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Just 3 minutes walk from the beach, bus right in front of the hostel that takes you all over the island. If you want to rent a scooter it's next door. A lot of good restaurants around and a delicious bakery on the corner. Value for the money is more than amazing. John picked me up at the airport and gave me lift for the port on my way out! Amazing people! I just loved!

Disliked: Internet works just by the pool. It would be nice to have it in the room also.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cute property just 15mins from the beach. Although the owners dont speak english well they are very nice and helpful people and the rooms are clean.

Disliked: Its a 20min bus ride to the city centre and sometimes the wifi was inconsistent but it wasnt much to complain about

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARIEFE MERTO

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 MARIEFE would recommend this property

Liked: It was run by a family as the name of the Hotel implies: Katerina and John. And manage by their son Markos with wife Daniela. They are very helpful. In fact, they offer free pick up, back and forth, from port to hotel. They also give tips where to go, what to see, where to eat etc. And the best part is it is considerably very affordable.

Disliked: Not really a dislike but somehow if you prefer to be in the city of Fira and Oia (the best place in Santorini I believe), the location is not in the centre but towards west. However, the advantage of the place, it is near to the black sand beach with several shops and restaurants which is just lovely as well. An you get to see the entire island when you stay in Perissa.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Janine sicotte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2012 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to affordable rental atvs & bikes (and therefore everything else on the island), outdoor shared space within the hostel grounds for socializing, grocery, 24h bakery, convenience stores (with books in english!) all right there. I stayed in an 8-person dorm that had a counter, sink, and fridge but no cooking facilities. some rooms had hotplates and were more private for only a couple euro more per night. And John gave us a ride to and from the ferry! I loved that it didn't feel like a business or a hotel. I ended up staying a week!

Disliked: Cockroaches. But there were only a few, and they were outside (doorways, etc., get sprayed every day). Certainly nothing was luxurious, and dorms can be loud, but it's 6e a night, and I still feel I really got more than I paid for. The internet cafe next door is quite expensive, and the net is slow, so be prepared to pay, or don't leave the next leg of your journey to the last minute like I did.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Porter

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Nice family feel. John is absolutely lovely. It's nice they pick you up and drop you off to the ferry. Good value for money. We extended our stay!

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melodye Brant

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Melodye would recommend this property

Liked: You are an easy walk from one of the best beaches on the island AND there's a pool in the common area. They give you a locker for your valuables and the staff is very helpful with how to get around the island. Perissa is NOT Oia or Fira, but I preferred to be away from the ruckus and just visit when I wanted to. John, the owner, doesn't speak much English but is very kind and picks up/drops off at the port for free.

Disliked: Nothing, really!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good, outside the hotel there's bike rental and an internet point.

Disliked: It's really dirty. At our arrival they tried to give us a different room that wasn't the one we reserved, without the kitchen and with just one bed in two. Than we changed, but the other room was still dirty, the light of the bathroom was not working, neither the clima, and there were some huge bugs running under our beds. Ah, obiouvsly the kitchen was not working.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krati Pandey

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Krati would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place and awesome people.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Wifi not working inside the rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lau Ho Siu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

08 July 2012 Lau would recommend this property

Liked: its very far from the center city so u have to take a bus connect to fira and oia which is one hour one bus. the area near the hostel have nothing special but there are supermarket and restaurants. the hostel itself is lovely and good valur for money. staffs are nice and kind and helpful. There is even air condition inside the room, which is very impressive for our stay in greece!!!! the room is also tidy and comfortable.

Disliked: you have no wifi in the hostel and you have to buy some credit from the internet bar nearby. they offer you the transport from the port to hostel but there are not enough space on the car so you probably have to sit very crowded in the car.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Huang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: A family business with extremely kind and helpful members who were so accommodating! We got a free pick-up from John at the port when we arrived in Santorini and the room was all ready for us, with the sheets and towels nicely laid on the bed. There was also a refrigerator in the room where we can chill drinks which was awesome for the summer weather! A lot of information of what we can do in Santorini was provided by Mark and Danielle once we got settled in, which was very useful since it was our first visit to Santorini. Katerina also provided us with beach towels free of charge which was a really nice gesture (: Though its location is not in the city centre, everything was near and we had the best souvlakis and a 24h bakery right opposite the hostel. On the day we left, John sent us to the port once again (free of charge!). After traveling for 6 months in Europe, if we had to match value for dollar, this hostel really, thumbs-up! Definitely coming back again (:

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Majda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to restaurants, markets, the bank!!! and the beach.

Disliked: The shower stalls did not have a shower curtain or some sort of enclosure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't be beat for the value. You get a decent sized room with a full bath, television, and a small refrigerator. Short walk from the beach, supermarket, bakery, restaurants, and travel agency. If you want to get away from the noise and congestion in Thira, go here and then spend the 2 euros to take the bus to Thira or Oia.

Disliked: Nothing but Greek language on the television. Makes for a long day if you're stuck inside.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price! Very cheap for a private room compared with other Greek Islands. John picked us up from the port and dropped us off. His son has a ATV and scooter rental place next door with good prices. Location is nice because it basically forces you to ride around the island and allows you to see parts of it you may not have seen if you stayed in Fira or Oia.

Disliked: You have to pay for the internet and we got the wi-fi internet and it was very slow, they blamed it on the weather. It is a hassle to buy unique wi-fi passwords everytime and even more annoying when the interenet is very slow. But the price of the Hostel makes up for it. Also they do really take credit cards. They say they do but they really want cash, they again said they couldn't take credit because of the "weather" but I could take out cash down the road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, good value, pool

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very beautiful and very friendly staff. Near beach is so good. Cheap price.

Disliked: Wifi is not work in the room but wifi and internet use next house.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carmaria Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Carmaria would recommend this property

Liked: For the money it was a fine place to stay. The rooms were large and clean. The staff are friendly and polite. The grounds are well looked after and they came in to clean my room about every other day. I would stay here again for sure. The son has an ATV/Scooter rental place right next door with great prices. There is an internet cafe in the ATV/Scooter rental office that you have to pay 1 euro per half hour for. Very friendly happy staff. 5 monute walk to beach, phone, bank machine, 24 hour bakery. About a half hour beautiful ATV ride to get into Fira....easy to ride an ATV all oround the island.

Disliked: You can only get Wi-Fi in the common outside area by the pool. The dorms are very damp and have a bit of a dank odour. I upgraded to a private room which was warmer and not damp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! it is an amazing property, the people are nice, everything is clean! totally worth it!! plus santorini is an paradise

Disliked: nothing! I

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, easy to rent ATV's and explore the while island, not just the famous parts. Transfers to and from port. Yummy bakery nearby.

Disliked: Didn't really seem to be a common room, which would be ok in summer, but not a cold spring night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of this family-run hostel were extremely friendly - they offered lots of useful advice and were always around to answer questions. As it was the off season, they offered to drive us to and from the port, even though we weren't staying in a private room. Located close to the Perissa beach, but is on the other side of the island from the more famous towns of Fira and Oia.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been a little cleaner, but not really a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kimberly mccauley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to the beautiful black sand beaches and not as touristy area

Disliked: they people who run it and the atv/internet cafe shop next door are amazing!!! so helpful with regard to the island and just really nice people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vishal bhandari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 vishal would recommend this property

Liked: i would like to thank Richard, i would say my experience of the hotel and the place and santorini was really made worth it because of Rich, Very good hospitality much appriciated. Nyc place, good ppl, nyc 24 hrs bakery close by.. Value of Money

Disliked: vishal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Bernstein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Cute, Quaint, Freindly are just a few words, I loved it and will come back. I love Santorini, it this was tbe best place to stay, especially the cost. Internet cafe on premise, 24 hour bakery, and beach is 2 minutes away.

Disliked: A little cold, but thats March.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Che Che Murrill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2012 Che Che would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful family owned beach hotel. John was great. Helpful and kind. 24 hour bakery accross the street, beach 200 meters away.

Disliked: weather in March is cold sometimes.