We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of SPARTA TEAM Hotel

1 star Hotel | 21 MENANDROU STREET, OMONIA, Athens, Greece 10553

67.8% Overall Rating

9 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

Gila Gabay thinks…

"The staff was friendly and helpful. Location was average. Rooms were simple and it was a cheap accomodation."

Read all SPARTA TEAM Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Express check-in / out
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Soho hotel
12.52 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 74.1% 70 reviews
Chic Hotel
47.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Dorian Inn Hotel
34.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Athens Center Square Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 8 reviews
Athens Odeon Hotel
27.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Economy hotel
27.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 4 reviews
Zeus Hostel
10.75 USD

Hostel 72.9% 148 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
21.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 70.7% 117 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

9 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SPARTA TEAM Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.0%
Location
71.4%
Facilities
59.1%
Cleanliness
57.1%
Staff
85.7%
Value
76.2%
Safety
63.8%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap hostel with simply rooms; everything what you need for overnight

Disliked: only one electric socket in a room; light in bathroom doesn't work without inserted card, what is really annoying

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014

Liked: SOME of the staff were friendly

Disliked: the planks under the beds are drenched in turpentine and gave me a massive headache and sinus problems. When i asked the staff, their first reaction was "it is not going to kill you, hahahaha". after that i was told some story about how that is on purpose cuz the have roaches. the rest of the conversation was basically "do you like roaches?". i am very certain that they just got the planks cheaply cuz of that stench, it was not possible to stay in the room without having all windows open, the fan on the highest setting and staying close to the window. since i slept in another room the night before where there was no such smell, i am very certain i was lied to and then made fun of by the staff. the room smelled like a paint shop, if you value your health, dont go there.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Gila Gabay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. Location was average. Rooms were simple and it was a cheap accomodation.

Disliked: It was very very old, I felt like it was falling apart. I could not shower there because the showers were horrible. The area did not seem very safe. It smelled bad and there were always random people outside, some even rioting.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Raphael Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The Atmosphere because there were lots of strange guys in the hotel all the time.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the bathrooms.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Natalia Tomaszek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Staff was really, really helpful.

Disliked: Location is a horror. We stayed for a week and not once our room was cleaned. You must leave the key at the reception every time you leave, and all things considered I advise against leaving any valuables or documents in the room. The room had a one single plug in available, so imagine charging anything there (we stayed in a twin room) and there is no option to detach lamps or anything to use the contact. Bathroom was a total disgrace. Hole in the floor with a little metal crate over it, you could see water running there. Water leaking from the wall. Shower curtain ending 30cm above the shower sink itself. Mould. Take your own pillow, theirs is as thin as a sheet of paper. Fuse boxes was not working properly, and power was off once every two days. The lift has no inner door, so you could basically touch the wall moving. It generally looks as if it was home made, so I advise taking the stairs. No kitchen facilities whatsoever, not even a place to make a sandwich or tea.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Tullett

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was tidy and clean, well run for the most part. Had a very helpful lady check us in and show is where to go in Athens. I also enjoyed the old time-y lift they have.

Disliked: While the First Lady I met was lovely and really helpful the second was rude and blunt (this was upon checking out at 2am to go to the airport). Also the internet could be upgraded, the wifi is good (bit slow) but the computer didn't connect.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great!

Disliked: The shower is less than desirable

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Chris Owen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014

Liked: Good size room, TV and it was cheap. Also a very cheap area to buy food in

Disliked: Very dirty showers but the rooms where ok. Would rather have stayed in a hostel as they are generally nicer.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014

Liked: SPARTA TEAM Hotel is in a great location in Athens.

Disliked: I stayed at SPARTA TEAM Hotel on two occasions, and both times I feared that the chilling fans on the ceiling of my room were going to collapse: they weren't properly secured and whipped around making very unsettling sounds. I felt safer sleeping without the chilling fan off, which resulted in an uncomfortable sleep given the heat in Athens.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014

Liked: the price is cheap

Disliked: the bed is bad,rough,very uncomfortable.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014

Liked: Cheapest place around if you just want a bed

Disliked: This hostel should not be called a hostel but instead a refugee camp. It was filled with Syrian refugees who were living in the hostel for long periods of time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris geras

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Athens can be pretty dirty, but this is an oasis. Very friendly staff and safe.

Disliked: chris left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Hugh Moorhead

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Location was close to city centre. Cheap. Has a bar

Disliked: Despite being close to city centre, the immediate surrounds of the hotel are disgusting and people frequently tried to pickpocket me. The rooms were very hot and the shower not at all powerful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hsiu-Mei Chang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Hsiu-Mei would recommend this property

Liked: Service is good,

Disliked: Hsiu-Mei left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013

Liked: It is very easy to reach from the airport or harbor and an easy walk to the major tourist attractions. The staff is very helpful and hospitable. The dorm rooms are comfortable with sink and only three beds. Not too much noise from the street. It is very good value for money.

Disliked: There really need to be lockers in the dorm rooms so you don't have to rely on the honesty of fellow guests or carry your valuables with you everywhere. The property is located in a sketchy part of town. This isn't a criticism against the hotel, I think their security overall is decent, but just a heads up to other travelers to take adequate precautions.


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels