HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

SOHO Hotel

Menandrou 25, Athens, Greece

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 74%

Location 67%

Safety 72%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

Rates include taxes, free wireless internet in the lobby, free use of laptop, free coffee and tea all day and free welcome drink. Continental breakfast is extra 4 euro per person

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 74%

Location 67%

Safety 72%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 11-5 of 5 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not far from Center, clean rooms

Disliked: Location seemed to be a bit sketchy

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The price at which you pay is so reasonable! It is clean and in a walkable distance from the centre city and the acropolis. Great when on a budget

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to Omonia station, rooms were quite clean. Solid choice for a hotel/hostel, but nothing amazing.

Disliked: The guy who was at the desk earlier in the morning wouldn't help us call the bus station to find out how much a certain trip would cost, so when we got there it was double what we had expected but we didn't have any others options by that time. Small thing but was annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: las habitaciones son muy lindas y tiene buenas comodidades

Disliked: creo que si bien esta bien ubicado y se puede llegar caminando a plaka y a la acropolis no estaria mal acercarse un poco mas, o quedarse en plaka o sobre alguna avenida importante

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: While Menandrou Street isn't the best -- crowds of leery men galore outside after 9 or 10AM -- it's not a far walk at all from nicer areas. When I first arrived at the hostel on the first day, it was 5 o'clock and because of what I had read here about there being dangerous characters roaming the street, I didn't leave the hostel for dinner. I am a 20-year-old female, so I felt a bit hesitant to be out on my own at first. I learned, though, that as long as I came back at 8 the latest (if I was walking -- I came back later than 8 the few times I took a cab), I was safe. I wasn't approached or accosted by anyone, and I was always on my own when leaving and coming back to the hostel. So, what I'm trying to say is: don't be too scared of the locals on the street; if you mind your own business, they'll respect that (you'll still get a "hello" or "psssts", but just smile and ignore them if you want to be completely safe.)Great points about the hostel: there was a laptop available in the reception area / cafe (though the woman I stayed with on my 4th night had stayed at Soho before and said that there had been 2 laptops previously), the room was clean, the shower was of great quality, the toilet paper was well stocked, the garbage was taken out every day, soap was provided, clean towels were provided, there was a wardrobe, the heating was sufficient, there were enough electrical outlets, coffee was unlimited 24/7, there was an elevator, a balcony, a TV with a few English channels including BBC, and the rooms were big.I had paid for a 4-person, female-only room for 7 nights, and for the first 3, I stayed in a room with 3 beds just by myself! I wasn't charged any extra for that, which was super -- under 10 euros for a big, private, comfy room of my own!When I first arrived, a bunch of maps were given to me and the receptionist helped me orient myself in order to find all the major sight-seeing areas. I had taken a taxi to and from the airport as I'm not the best at navigating metros in foreign cities, but there are detailed instructions on how to do so (otherwise you pay 38 euros to get to the hotel from the airport -- pricey!!)There are boardgames in the cafe area, and 2 bikes available to rent for free (though I never took advantage of the bike rental service.)

Disliked: Menandrou Street, as you'll glean from the reviews here, is dirty and feels unsafe. However, what you should realise is that most of the people on the street are just poor people involved in their out-of-the-way crime, as opposed to violence against tourists. That being said, I walked quickly to and from the safer areas, and always had my valuables tucked away.Maybe it's because HostelBookers hasn't been updated in a while, but when I stayed at Soho (end of January 2013), the 4-euro breakfast advertised on this site was not offered. No biggie, but something to be aware of if that's what you were expecting when booking this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Price

Disliked: Kinda dangerous area

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The room was nice and warm , it had clean towels and TV and it was quiet.

Disliked: The blankets were looking dirty inside the closet and also the windows were covered only with curtains and the morning light was waking you up.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The common room was nice, and the woman who worked during the day was very helpful. But the night staff was completely worthless and knew nothing about Athens.

Disliked: Pretty much everything. The night staff sucked and the location was terrible for two American girls traveling by themselves. At one point we were trying to walk to Acropolis but had to turn around and literally run to the nearest metro station because we were scared it was going to turn into a bad scene from the movie Taken. Also BEWARE OF BEDBUGS...we stayed here and my friend got eaten alive by the bugs, I only got a bit but that was because I only slept for an hour in the bed....

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything was like described in hostelbookers site. I really like the police near the entrace. More feelings about safety ;)

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a hotel priced as a hostel. Room with single beds rather than bunks. Receptionist was helpful.

Disliked: A bit of a dodgy area. I was advised to take a taxi on my way out even though it would've been walkable, because it was before sunrise and potentially dangerous.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability