We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Hotel Rio Athens

3 star Hotel | 13, Odysseos str., Karaiskaki sq., Athens, Greece 10436

68.8% Overall Rating

27 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

"Value for money. Seemed pretty clean and safe. The staff were helpful. Close to the metro."

Read all Hotel Rio Athens reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Hair salon
  • Dry cleaning
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Apollo Hotel
17.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.4% 19 reviews
Athens Delta Hotel
16.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.5% 43 reviews
Nafsika Hotel
15.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.2% 6 reviews
Stalis Hotel
27.83 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
MINOA HOTEL
20.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel San Remo
11.39 USD

Hostel 66.6% 201 reviews
Neos Olympos Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 1091 reviews
Athens International Youth Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 72.3% 446 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

27 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Rio Athens'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
65.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 September 2014

Liked: Close to a metro station (but in a ugly neighbourhood)

Disliked: We were not given the room we booked. It was a double bed and got a twin. When we indicate the error we were told "we don't have a double room because we are full." No apologies nor compensation (like free breakfast for instance). Also they never cleaned the room in 4 days. The air conditioning was broken. The staff were sour. The neighborhood was ugly and seemed dangerous. Dont stay here.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. Seemed pretty clean and safe. The staff were helpful. Close to the metro.

Disliked: My room wasn't cleaned once during my stay. The location seems somewhat dodgy and very run down. Every building around it seems to be shut down. My room was also extremely gloomy with a window that looked onto an indoor corridor rather than outside. The wifi was nonexistent in my room, and the TV had only one channel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, close to Hop in/Hop off buses. I have asked for a quiet room and I got a room facing the back of the building and it was great. The staff was helpfull.

Disliked: Nothing really; however the breakfast could vary a bit... But you can go around the corner and buy good pastries.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro station, relatively quiet rooms - no noise from the street, but you're unlucky if you have noisy neighbors as the walls are thin. Staff very helpful and not too nosy.

Disliked: The are did not strike as very safe. We had no problems during daytime, but I'm not so sure if it is the same after dusk. There was a mini shampoo bottle and bath foam bottle in the bathroom - the shampoo was half used and why do we need bath foam if there is only a shower?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and spacious. There was no noise coming from the street during the night. Good value and good location, really close to underground

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location,the oranges,the cleanliness.

Disliked: the breakfast was correct.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Per Flerén

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 July 2011

Liked: Location close to metro station.

Disliked: The poor standard of the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A little from the action, but close to the Metro, and great for the price.

Disliked: The room was on the small size, but good for the $$$$

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Our bed had sand in it the room seemed dirty and the fridge turned itself off when you removed the key.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great people and staff worth the money

Disliked: need to get on metro to get close to places

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: no internet or laundry facilities.there was wifi though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carly Davison

06 June 2009 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: A little noisy but ok.

Disliked: Carly left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the little garden in front of the entrance

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 August 2008

Liked: Travel agent downstairs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ana Almeida

05 August 2008 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: If you want some cheap and central is a good place to stay

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andries Naude

14 June 2008 Andries would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Andries left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Eckhard Willert

19 May 2008

Liked: friendly stuff

Disliked: Eckhard left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is classical with its beautiful façade, its high ceilings and discreet decoration, its nice coffee place with marble tables. Nevertheless it's quite simple and family, quite and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rosalyn andronescu

01 January 2008 rosalyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was VERY helpful -- they also own a travel business next door and booked our ferry tickets for Santorini. Also, let us check ih EARLY the morning we arrived! Terrific folks....

Disliked: rosalyn left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

BRUNO DUARTE

21 November 2007 BRUNO would recommend this property

Disliked: BRUNO left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaihua Huang

31 October 2007 Kaihua would recommend this property

Liked: It is a valuable hotel, it's quiet and the staff are very kindly and helpful. Recommend to those who want a clean bed after staying outside for a whole day, having no plan to spend another 2 hours in bar.

Disliked: Kaihua left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brent Gough

21 October 2007 Brent would recommend this property

Disliked: Brent left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Catriona Cameron

17 October 2007 Catriona would recommend this property

Disliked: Catriona left no negative feedback.


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels