We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of SMART STAY Hotel Station

2 star Hotel | Schützenstrasse 7, Munich, Germany 80335

74.2% Overall Rating

455 out of 527 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/05/2015)

Scott Stephens thinks…

"Great location. Right next to central train station and few minutes walk to the centre"

Read all SMART STAY Hotel Station reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.51
  • Towel USD 1.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

SMART STAY will verify and preauthorise the full amount to your credit card, but we do not charge it! If the card does not work, the booking is NOT valid. Payment is due on arrival! SMART STAY will not charge your card, except in case of no show or late cancellation. To avoid that please inform us about changes in your booking or about cancellations at least 48 hours before arrival via fax or email. Cancellations made by phone can not be accepted. Payment is due at arrival. We accept cash, Maestro, EC-, Visa- and MasterCard. Please note the 50EUR deposit in cash for full dorms. 100% of the balance will be charged from your credit card immediately after the online booking. In case the credit card is not working we will cancel the booking. Free cancellations are not possible, in case of customer cancellations (respectively no-shows) on short notice, the sum of the stay has to be paid; saved expenditures as well as proceeds from rooms that are rent to a third party will not be taken into account! This is true for following dates: Opti 09.01.2015 - 11.01.2015, BAU 19.01.2015 - 24.01.2015, Ispo Winter 05.02.2015 - 08.02.2015, IMOT 13.02.2015 - 15.02.2015, Free 18.02.2015 - 22.02.2015, Inhorgenta 20.02.2015 - 23.02.2015, Garten/Handwerk&Design 11.03.2015 - 17.03.2015, Die66 17.04.2015 - 19.04.2015, LOPEC-C 04.05.2015 - 05.05.2015, Transport 05.05.2015 - 08.05.2015, High End 14.05.2015 - 17.05.2015, Intersolar/Cosmetic 10.06.2015 - 12.06.2015, Laser 22.06.2015 - 25.06.2015, IBA 12.09.2015 - 17.09.2015, Oktoberfest 19.09.2015 - 04.10.2015, Expo Real 06.10.2015 - 08.10.2015, Ceramitec 20.10.2015 - 23.10.2015, Productronica 10.11.2015 - 13.11.2015 And in the next year: Opti 15.01.2016 - 17.01.2016, Ispo Winter 24.01.2016 - 27.01.2016, AUTO 04.02.2016 - 07.02.2016 , Expo Free 10.02.2016 - 14.02.2016, Inhorgenta 12.02.2016 - 15.02.2016, Imot 19.02.2016 - 21.02.2016, Garten/Handwerk&Design 24.02.2016 - 01.03.2016, BAUMA 11.04.2016 - 17.04.2016, High End 05.05.2016 - 08.05.2016, Analytica 10.05.2016 - 13.05.2016, Ifat 30.05.2016 - 03.06.2016, Automatica 21.06.2016 - 24.06.2016, Oktoberfest 17.09.2016 - 03.10.2016, Electronica 08.11.2016 - 11.11.2016

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Hotel Monaco
29.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 10 reviews
Wombats City Hostel
30.48 USD

Hostel 91.9% 1061 reviews
Pension Locarno
22.86 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 75 reviews
Jaeger's Hostel
23.95 USD

Hostel 79.3% 470 reviews
Euro Youth Hostel
21.23 USD

Hostel 90.6% 1880 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
27.76 USD

Hostel 85.1% 203 reviews
Creatif Hotel Elephant
30.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.5% 113 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
54.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.2%

Overall Rating

455 out of 527 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SMART STAY Hotel Station'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 357 of 481 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Annie Nelson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable price for single ensuite room. Just across the road from the train station and within walking distance of the city centre. Trams and subway also nearby though i didn't use them. Breakfast buffet is good. Helpful friendly staff. Whilst I was waiting for the walking tour the receptionist rang to let them know I was waiting.

Disliked: The windows in my room were old and didn't seem very secure. The reading light didn't work and wasn't fixed even though I let them know it needed a new globe. You have to pay extra for WiFi. Everywhere else I have been its free and you can just go across the road to Starbucks and use theirs. The breakfast is additional but I think it's good value for 6.50 euros. I wanted to book a third night and the price doubled due to the demand created by the trade fair being on this week.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ng Lian Choo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Ng would recommend this property

Liked: Near Munich Hauptbahnhof, convenient location Rooms are big

Disliked: No TV Was told Wi-fi not avaiiable due to poor reception

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mayra Bezerra Rodrigues

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012

Liked: The Location.

Disliked: The walls and carpet looks dirty, the bathroom smells bad, but the bedlinies were clean, and the breakfast was good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpful staff, big room (private)

Disliked: there was no free internet in the room, the breakfast didnt seem to be worth 7 euros, the wash basin was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susanne Meier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: the location was very good, everything was in walking distance. The staff was fríendly and helpfull.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Tung Nguyen

With a large group / tour

City break

23 February 2012

Liked: Staff are nice, good location

Disliked: A bit dirty and smelly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and character.

Disliked: Prefer a hostel with a kitchen and lounge/gathering space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Pont

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, close to railway station, shops and Glockenspiel

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, very near the main train station and subway station connections

Disliked: room was small and run-down, with moldy carpets and walls (Rm. 316). only 1 electrical socket with a short extension cord that was hanging in the air when you plug the TV and lamp, not very safe.. towels were old and have seen better days (with a hole)..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, especially if you're using the train/metro/tram. The stop is across the street. The staff was very welcoming when I arrived. Each room/shower was locked and needed a key card to enter which was very comforting. The rooms were very nice and cozy.

Disliked: The only downside was that the doors to the bedrooms are old and VERY squeaky making a quiet entrance/exit at night impossible.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are very friendly and helpful. So nice..... And the location is so near the main station.

Disliked: But I am confused if someone has not checked in and enterred the dorm, who made dorm's smell is not well. I am also sorry to hostelbookers, who cost the dorm fee from my creditcard automatically because I checked in late. And I paid to the reception again by cash. Hope my extra fee can come back to my credit card.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Cave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very comfortable hostel/hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The place has a nice quiet feel to it and its own bar I would recommend it to anyone that isnt travelling in a big group

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kirby Erlandson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Kirby would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Good location and helpful staff.

Disliked: The rooms smelled like smoke even though it was supposedly smoke free.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to railwaystation, easy to reach

Disliked: We had 2 single rooms, and it was slightly cheaper than in other hotels. My room was quite ok, but my colleague paid the same price, and his room was much smaller and noisy, there was a gap between door and floor, he got no towel (I had 2), and they did not clean up the room. Breakfast room is really small, breakfast is ok but modest.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly and it was very close to the the train station and shopping malls.

Disliked: We stayed in an en-suite room, but during the night we heard the flushing of the bathrooms of the shared rooms, which was very loud and kept waking us up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Fung

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and tidy. The staff is very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Better if free wifi is available.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, large rooms

Disliked: no main lighting in the room was a bit strange

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good - 5 min from Hbf and 15 min walk to Marienplatz. Staff very friendly.

Disliked: Not very secure - stayed in a six bedroom dorm where there were no lockers. The luggage key for the luggage room was given to anyone that asked (ie require no ID!). However I personally had no problems. Also there are only showers on two out of four floors and only one toilet per floor for dorms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and well-situated, decent staff.

Disliked: A lot of things are charged as extras. And wow, how hot is the luggage room? Our chocolate melted. Still, good place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap for a hotel. Very close to the train station, which was very nice! Overall a very good location. Right in the heart of the shopping district. Walking distance to just about everything, even the beer gardens. Close to an internet cafe. We enjoyed having breakfast at the internet cafe. Very good!

Disliked: no free breakfast

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011

Liked: .

Disliked: bed bugs!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Dale

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

13 September 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Location, practicality and cost were fantastic. We obviously wanted to see the delights of Munich and so the hostel was only needed for rest and breakfast really. The location is fantastic, especially considering the value; a ten minute walk away from Marienplatz, the heart of the city.

Disliked: I guess the noise, but we were expecting this because of other reviews. It was only the roadworks that were noisy, directly opposite us. But, being in the centre of a busy city this is expected; this really isn't a complaint.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hervorragende Lage, gute Matratze, Zimmer hinten raus war sehr ruhig. Das Frühstück für 5€ wirklich zu empfehlen

Disliked: es könnte mal renoviert werden und der Teppichboden hat wirklich besser Tage gesehn.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You pay 5 € extra for breakfast, but it is really worth it! Location was great, right in the city center. Really nice staff. Our room and the bath room were very clean.

Disliked: I didn't like that all rooms, hallways and stairs were covered by carpet. BUT: there was cleaning staff around and it didn't smell old or something. So it was ok, especially with slippers.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels