HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten

1.5 star Hotel | Schmellerstrasse 20, Munich, Germany D-80337

88.3% Overall Rating

217 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/10/2014)

"It is extremely close to Oktoberfest. Just a short walk and you're on the fairgrounds. There are several locked doors to keep your room secure. We had a private room with two beds and it was quite large and had quite a…"

Read all Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations up to 14 before arrival will incur no charges. Any later cancellation will be charged 100% of the value of the whole booking If the total booking value exceeds €500, a 50% deposit will be required. The propert will contact the guest if this is the case If the booking is made with Maestro, the property will need in 24 hours a credit card (Visa,Master Card) or they will cancel the reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

SMART STAY Hostel Munich City
18.85 USD

Hostel 78.6% 1757 reviews
Hotel Mons am Goetheplatz
35.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 122 reviews
Hotelpension Haydn
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.4% 174 reviews
D10´s apartments
87.29 USD

Apartment 69.3% 4 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 197 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
63.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A&O München Hauptbahnhof
32.35 USD

Hostel 76.3% 253 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
32.26 USD

Hostel 84.5% 201 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

217 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 217 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohamed Sultan Bin Haja Silahudeen

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2011 Mohamed Sultan would recommend this property

Liked: Motherly Welcome From A Staff!!!

Disliked: Not Very Good Heating Facilities But It`s Fine...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cozy place. Good sized bathrooms. Great breakfast. Very warm (was there in December). Great location, especially for Octoberfest.

Disliked: Strong smell of cigarettes in the hall. The bathroom is shared by men and women. A bit noisy sometimes: nearby bells start ringing at 7:00.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about it- it had a nice family atmosphere, the rooms were really nice & well-kept, and the owner Ivan made sure everything was great in our stay. He didn't even say a word when we had to wake him twice in the early morning to ask a few questions. I loved the place! Highly recommended for security & cleanliness-conscious people. Breakfast was superb.

Disliked: None at all, it was quite a perfect hotel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the underground, quite close to the centre

Disliked: The reception had been informed that I would be a late arrival and we were informed this would not be an issue as there was always someone there. I arrived at 10:55pm and reception was closed, I rang the bell but got no answer, I called the hostel and could hear the phone ringing from the other side of the door but no one answered, I called my wife and she called the hotel, I could hear her calling, I banged on the door and at 11:30pm a member of staff answered the door and let me in but ignored the wringing phone, so I answered it myself. The person could not find my reservation in the plan but luckily I found it. I then received wrong directions to the room one floor above, retuning to reception to be told, sorry one floor below.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rune Grunnet

Alone

Business / conference

12 November 2010 Rune would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and Location is great

Disliked: Not really anything - lived up to my expectations

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cozy!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even there is no lift , the hostel staff is nice to help your if you needed a hand on carrying up and down your luggages. Breakfast is good. Nice and friendly staff. I also like the huge LCD television in the room.

Disliked: The bath room is too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good room and staff

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Ketley

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was awesome - good range of food from cereal to boiled egg and bread n cakes plus fruit juice and proper coffee machine (no instant rubbish!)

Disliked: Ensuite is quite compact

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Davi Cesar Mendes Leal

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

24 October 2010 Davi Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: That place is very calm and very good to stay. The breakfest is very good too and the place is clean. I recommend for couples or people traveling in groups.

Disliked: There was smell of cigarets at corridors and it was possible to hear others people at others rooms. It's not good if you go alone.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was fantastic with so much to choose from!

Disliked: There was no lift and we had to carry our bags up 2 flights of stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: There's not a lot of sound proofing to stop you from hearing you neighbours sing for an hour at 2am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Dorgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, the rooms and bed were comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very close to metro

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sivaneswary palanibilo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2010 sivaneswary would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was greatand wifi availableand waling distance to U Bahn.and walking distance to Oktoberfest

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

RAKESH SHANKARAPPA

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

01 October 2010 RAKESH would recommend this property

Liked: Service

Disliked: nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near die weisen and easy access to U3/6. The street and building are very quiet.

Disliked: This is not bad but it is more like a tradional pension vs a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Little noisy in the morning, however that is living in a big city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was massive, with shower in the room. Toilets just outside room. Very clean. Clean sheets and towels. Free buffet breakfast was very good. Right beside U-Bahn so everywhere is accessible from here. We found everywhere very handy to get too. Also free Wi-fi. Pleasant experience.

Disliked: No negatives. we were pleasantly surprised with this hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: psycho santa staying next door

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Breakfast buffet was very good, I would not mind finding something like that (in a different size of course) in a bigger and more expensive hotel. You can have breakfast until 11:00 am, so basicly until check out. The personel I met was very friendly and helpful, too, I think the only thing I every heard him say was "Yes, of course, no problem". When I send them an e-mail to ask for conformation on my booking and about the check in time, I received a friendly answer right away with all the information I needed. The bed had fresh sheets and appeared clean, it was also much more confortable than the appearence suggested, as was the (pretty worn out) arm chair. The street was very quiet. And another little thing: the towels smelled really nice :)

Disliked: The appearence of the interior wasn't exactly my taste. I could not find any consistent style in the choise of the furniture. The windows should be renewed (definitly not 21st century standart especially in Germany!). There was some cable spaghetti under the little table the tv was placed on. And at least as far as I could see, no air outlet in the bathroom and the showers needed a minute to get warm, but when they were the temperature was pretty confortable, the showers were a bit small though. Also for non-smokers: You might smell some smoke on the hall from time to time, you may have to live with that. Bottom line, if you can live with the fact, that the interior of your room reminds you of the 1930s and the space is pretty limited (so when you are somebody who really cares more about bugget, than about comfort) you will find a rather tidy place with a nice breakfast buffet and friendly staff in a quiet environment, but really don't expect anything else, this is a place to spend your night not your day.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good for price.

Disliked: Some rooms do not have bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cheap accomodation

Disliked: The WC should be also included in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and welcoming staff, good location in the city, safe car parking, very good breakfast at pleasant and home like atmosphere! Definatelly recomend this place if you like to return to a calm and welcoming place after a long day in the city.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Shopping
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was only two stops away from the city centre. Staff was very nice and helpful

Disliked: -


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels