HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten

1.5 star Hotel | Schmellerstrasse 20, Munich, Germany D-80337

89.7% Overall Rating

210 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2014)

"Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten is an amazing hostel! The beds are very comfortable, and the staff went above and beyond to help our group with all of our questions. Excellent breakfast. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!"

Read all Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations up to 14 before arrival will incur no charges. Any later cancellation will be charged 100% of the value of the whole booking If the total booking value exceeds €500, a 50% deposit will be required. The propert will contact the guest if this is the case If the booking is made with Maestro, the property will need in 24 hours a credit card (Visa,Master Card) or they will cancel the reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

SMART STAY Hostel Munich City
26.72 USD

Hostel 79.3% 1734 reviews
Hotel Mons am Goetheplatz
37.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 122 reviews
Hotelpension Haydn
40.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 168 reviews
D10´s apartments
92.65 USD

Apartment 69.3% 4 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
43.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.3% 190 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
67.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A&O München Hauptbahnhof
37.42 USD

Hostel 77.8% 251 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
38.27 USD

Hostel 83.5% 197 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

210 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 161 of 210 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even there is no lift , the hostel staff is nice to help your if you needed a hand on carrying up and down your luggages. Breakfast is good. Nice and friendly staff. I also like the huge LCD television in the room.

Disliked: The bath room is too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good room and staff

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Ketley

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was awesome - good range of food from cereal to boiled egg and bread n cakes plus fruit juice and proper coffee machine (no instant rubbish!)

Disliked: Ensuite is quite compact

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Davi Cesar Mendes Leal

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

24 October 2010 Davi Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: That place is very calm and very good to stay. The breakfest is very good too and the place is clean. I recommend for couples or people traveling in groups.

Disliked: There was smell of cigarets at corridors and it was possible to hear others people at others rooms. It's not good if you go alone.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was fantastic with so much to choose from!

Disliked: There was no lift and we had to carry our bags up 2 flights of stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: There's not a lot of sound proofing to stop you from hearing you neighbours sing for an hour at 2am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Dorgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, the rooms and bed were comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very close to metro

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sivaneswary palanibilo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2010 sivaneswary would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was greatand wifi availableand waling distance to U Bahn.and walking distance to Oktoberfest

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

RAKESH SHANKARAPPA

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

01 October 2010 RAKESH would recommend this property

Liked: Service

Disliked: nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near die weisen and easy access to U3/6. The street and building are very quiet.

Disliked: This is not bad but it is more like a tradional pension vs a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Little noisy in the morning, however that is living in a big city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was massive, with shower in the room. Toilets just outside room. Very clean. Clean sheets and towels. Free buffet breakfast was very good. Right beside U-Bahn so everywhere is accessible from here. We found everywhere very handy to get too. Also free Wi-fi. Pleasant experience.

Disliked: No negatives. we were pleasantly surprised with this hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: psycho santa staying next door

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Breakfast buffet was very good, I would not mind finding something like that (in a different size of course) in a bigger and more expensive hotel. You can have breakfast until 11:00 am, so basicly until check out. The personel I met was very friendly and helpful, too, I think the only thing I every heard him say was "Yes, of course, no problem". When I send them an e-mail to ask for conformation on my booking and about the check in time, I received a friendly answer right away with all the information I needed. The bed had fresh sheets and appeared clean, it was also much more confortable than the appearence suggested, as was the (pretty worn out) arm chair. The street was very quiet. And another little thing: the towels smelled really nice :)

Disliked: The appearence of the interior wasn't exactly my taste. I could not find any consistent style in the choise of the furniture. The windows should be renewed (definitly not 21st century standart especially in Germany!). There was some cable spaghetti under the little table the tv was placed on. And at least as far as I could see, no air outlet in the bathroom and the showers needed a minute to get warm, but when they were the temperature was pretty confortable, the showers were a bit small though. Also for non-smokers: You might smell some smoke on the hall from time to time, you may have to live with that. Bottom line, if you can live with the fact, that the interior of your room reminds you of the 1930s and the space is pretty limited (so when you are somebody who really cares more about bugget, than about comfort) you will find a rather tidy place with a nice breakfast buffet and friendly staff in a quiet environment, but really don't expect anything else, this is a place to spend your night not your day.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good for price.

Disliked: Some rooms do not have bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cheap accomodation

Disliked: The WC should be also included in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and welcoming staff, good location in the city, safe car parking, very good breakfast at pleasant and home like atmosphere! Definatelly recomend this place if you like to return to a calm and welcoming place after a long day in the city.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Shopping
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was only two stops away from the city centre. Staff was very nice and helpful

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lydia Milligan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: ran by a very friendly women and breakfast in the morning is lovely.

Disliked: It was quite a walk from the centre and the surrounding area was pretty dead.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brenna O'Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Brenna would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro, about a 20min walk to the center of Munich. Owner was really nice about letting us in at 7:00am to drop off our bags and check in. Breakfast was good. Only one shower but we never had to wait. Not a real place to meet people, but a nice stay overall :)

Disliked: Brenna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As above:: well located, helpful, good breakfast, clean, TV in room, etc.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Down the street from the subway and a WONDERFUL breakfast included in the price. Near local grocery stores and restaurants for a quick bite. The staff was really nice and regularly checked to make sure that there was enough of everything. Definitely a nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pinegar

14 June 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: thanks!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels