HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten

1.5 star Hotel | Schmellerstrasse 20, Munich, Germany D-80337

87.4% Overall Rating

207 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

"Staff was overly friendly and helped with everything they even provided bandaids, tape, and other odd items we needed on our trip. Breakfast buffet was amazing, best breakfast I've had at any hostel. Location is also…"

Read all Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations up to 14 before arrival will incur no charges. Any later cancellation will be charged 100% of the value of the whole booking If the total booking value exceeds €500, a 50% deposit will be required. The propert will contact the guest if this is the case If the booking is made with Maestro, the property will need in 24 hours a credit card (Visa,Master Card) or they will cancel the reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

SMART STAY Hostel Munich City
19.35 USD

Hostel 77.3% 1691 reviews
Hotel Mons am Goetheplatz
38.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 120 reviews
Hotelpension Haydn
41.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 166 reviews
D10´s apartments
95.37 USD

Apartment 69.3% 4 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
44.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.3% 181 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
69.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A&O München Hauptbahnhof
40.29 USD

Hostel 78.9% 248 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
39.39 USD

Hostel 83.5% 197 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

207 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 206 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very secure and in a great location. It is approximately 10 minutes from the central train station. The hotel staff is very welcoming and payments are easy to make. The facilities were very clean and so were our rooms. Bedding and towels were provided and were great. The morning breakfast included bread, cereal, coffee, rolls, ham, cheese, vegetables, yogurt, oats, and pound cake and was amazing, especially after a night out in Munich.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds and showers... excellent breakfast

Disliked: It was a little far to walk from everything that we wanted to do

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sebastien Caron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011

Liked: Quiet, 2min from the subway.

Disliked: You have to ring to go to the reception and it's at the people's house so we were'nt feeling comfortable to go there to ask for something.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfest

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michi Nakanishi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Michi would recommend this property

Liked: The lady who works there was so nice, locaton is good. Close to Subway satation. They have a free parking, you can leave your car then take a subway to see the city. We bought a day pass for public transportation, that was like 5 someting Euros, single tiket was 1 something Euro, not expensive. It was little hard to find on with a car, but if you have a map, should not be that hard. Th breakfast was great, nice comfort, me and my mother had a great time staying there, I would stay there next time if we have a chance again. ;) recomended!!!

Disliked: Nothing. Absolutely!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Rusnáková

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: I like room, slovak speaking woman at reception and breakfast which is including in price, free and safe parking in penzion , good location near the old town ( ten minutes by foot or 2 undergroun station). It is easy to get there by car. Staff has no problem to help us, they were allways polite. I like it and recommend it to my friends

Disliked: everything was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a homerun hostel and the couple owns it is very nice. They are very friendly and they gave us really helpful advice on our city tour experience. The room is nice and tide. And must to mention there is a big flatscreen TV in it, which is rare as a hostel. There are interesting paintings on the wall, give the room a confortable relaxing feeling.

Disliked: It only has a big water heater in the room for shower instead of unlimited 24H hot water supply. If you are traveling as more than 4 persons and you all want to take showers, the last person might have to wait for the heater for a not quite short bit of time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, breakfast, close to middle of city.

Disliked: not much.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Claudia perez angeles

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

06 April 2011 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: the room was clean, nice and the staff ok, is a good hostel

Disliked: nothing, just the location, is a litle bit far from city center

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edmond Mitchell

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 April 2011 Edmond would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and proce

Disliked: Nothing. Did what it said on the tin

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ebony Wood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Ebony would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION! Great spot, clean comfy rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly staff..

Disliked: walls slightly thin, but you get that in most places these days!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joerg Niehoegen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: Big, quiet room, close to undrground. Light breakfast room, excellent choice for breakfast. Very helpful owners.

Disliked: The smell of (tobacco) smoke in the staircase and corridor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient. Literally had a one minute check-in time. Rooms were clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable as well. Breakfast was good (continental breakfast with a selection of fruits available). Good location as it is 3-5 minutes walk away from the underground station.

Disliked: Shared toilets were slightly cold. A little heating would be nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome!

Disliked: Lack of lockers and keys. No heaters in the restroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, minutes away from the centre on the U-Bahn. Good local bars but not noisy at night if you want some sleep. Our room was a good size, very warm (we were there in January) and the breakfast buffet was great.

Disliked: Nothing - the directions from the U-Bahn stop are a little confusing but if you look for the big Hotel Brack on the corner it's easy to find from ther.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohamed Sultan Bin Haja Silahudeen

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2011 Mohamed Sultan would recommend this property

Liked: Motherly Welcome From A Staff!!!

Disliked: Not Very Good Heating Facilities But It`s Fine...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cozy place. Good sized bathrooms. Great breakfast. Very warm (was there in December). Great location, especially for Octoberfest.

Disliked: Strong smell of cigarettes in the hall. The bathroom is shared by men and women. A bit noisy sometimes: nearby bells start ringing at 7:00.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about it- it had a nice family atmosphere, the rooms were really nice & well-kept, and the owner Ivan made sure everything was great in our stay. He didn't even say a word when we had to wake him twice in the early morning to ask a few questions. I loved the place! Highly recommended for security & cleanliness-conscious people. Breakfast was superb.

Disliked: None at all, it was quite a perfect hotel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the underground, quite close to the centre

Disliked: The reception had been informed that I would be a late arrival and we were informed this would not be an issue as there was always someone there. I arrived at 10:55pm and reception was closed, I rang the bell but got no answer, I called the hostel and could hear the phone ringing from the other side of the door but no one answered, I called my wife and she called the hotel, I could hear her calling, I banged on the door and at 11:30pm a member of staff answered the door and let me in but ignored the wringing phone, so I answered it myself. The person could not find my reservation in the plan but luckily I found it. I then received wrong directions to the room one floor above, retuning to reception to be told, sorry one floor below.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rune Grunnet

Alone

Business / conference

12 November 2010 Rune would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and Location is great

Disliked: Not really anything - lived up to my expectations

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cozy!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even there is no lift , the hostel staff is nice to help your if you needed a hand on carrying up and down your luggages. Breakfast is good. Nice and friendly staff. I also like the huge LCD television in the room.

Disliked: The bath room is too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good room and staff

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Ketley

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was awesome - good range of food from cereal to boiled egg and bread n cakes plus fruit juice and proper coffee machine (no instant rubbish!)

Disliked: Ensuite is quite compact

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Davi Cesar Mendes Leal

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

24 October 2010 Davi Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: That place is very calm and very good to stay. The breakfest is very good too and the place is clean. I recommend for couples or people traveling in groups.

Disliked: There was smell of cigarets at corridors and it was possible to hear others people at others rooms. It's not good if you go alone.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels