We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten

1.5 star Hotel | Schmellerstrasse 20, Munich, Germany D-80337

88.3% Overall Rating

217 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/10/2014)

"It is extremely close to Oktoberfest. Just a short walk and you're on the fairgrounds. There are several locked doors to keep your room secure. We had a private room with two beds and it was quite large and had quite a…"

Read all Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations up to 14 before arrival will incur no charges. Any later cancellation will be charged 100% of the value of the whole booking If the total booking value exceeds €500, a 50% deposit will be required. The propert will contact the guest if this is the case If the booking is made with Maestro, the property will need in 24 hours a credit card (Visa,Master Card) or they will cancel the reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

SMART STAY Hostel Munich City
15.18 USD

Hostel 80.2% 1758 reviews
Hotel Mons am Goetheplatz
35.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 122 reviews
Hotelpension Haydn
35.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.4% 174 reviews
D10´s apartments
87.29 USD

Apartment 69.3% 4 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 198 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
43.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A&O München Hauptbahnhof
22.96 USD

Hostel 76.3% 253 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
26.57 USD

Hostel 84.5% 201 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

217 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 217 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Colborne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, homey type place. The staff are very nice and provide a pretty decent feed for the free breakfast. Nice and quiet area.

Disliked: Its not very close to the city centre and hence doesn't quite get you amongst other traveler's unless you catch buses in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dejan Mauer

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, price.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice clean room in a convenient location. The staff was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very nice.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, staff and breakfast

Disliked: the toilet inside the room had a bad smell

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was excellent.

Disliked: The location was a bit far from the city center but convenient for the subway. Not a problem if you don't mind a bit of a walk though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011

Liked: the staff where very helpful. you could smoke in the corridors.

Disliked: we were told that breakfast would be from 7-11am each day. however, on one of the days that we woke up at 7 to eat breakfast there was nothing out. i knocked on the reception door and one of the owners was in her pyjamas still and said that breakfast wasn't going to be till 8am that day. then the following day, by chance we found out that breakfast was starting at 6am. it was very unreliable especially since we had tours booked and wanted to eat breakfast there before we went out, and obviously couldn't on that day. wifi connection was poor in room.the was no shower on the bottom floor so we always had to go up the stairs to shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Daniels

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is superb! Rooms and all areas are very neat. Also very close to the trainstation. It's in a quiet residential area with small pubs and restaurants close to the Pension. We visited a few! Oh, and we loved the mattresses, so comfy!

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and situation.

Disliked: The property, but the people there were un helpfull unless asked directly for information.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff that helped with everything--great breakfast and clean, comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, wonderful rooms, hearty breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing--it was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very secure and in a great location. It is approximately 10 minutes from the central train station. The hotel staff is very welcoming and payments are easy to make. The facilities were very clean and so were our rooms. Bedding and towels were provided and were great. The morning breakfast included bread, cereal, coffee, rolls, ham, cheese, vegetables, yogurt, oats, and pound cake and was amazing, especially after a night out in Munich.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds and showers... excellent breakfast

Disliked: It was a little far to walk from everything that we wanted to do

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sebastien Caron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011

Liked: Quiet, 2min from the subway.

Disliked: You have to ring to go to the reception and it's at the people's house so we were'nt feeling comfortable to go there to ask for something.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfest

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michi Nakanishi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Michi would recommend this property

Liked: The lady who works there was so nice, locaton is good. Close to Subway satation. They have a free parking, you can leave your car then take a subway to see the city. We bought a day pass for public transportation, that was like 5 someting Euros, single tiket was 1 something Euro, not expensive. It was little hard to find on with a car, but if you have a map, should not be that hard. Th breakfast was great, nice comfort, me and my mother had a great time staying there, I would stay there next time if we have a chance again. ;) recomended!!!

Disliked: Nothing. Absolutely!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Rusnáková

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: I like room, slovak speaking woman at reception and breakfast which is including in price, free and safe parking in penzion , good location near the old town ( ten minutes by foot or 2 undergroun station). It is easy to get there by car. Staff has no problem to help us, they were allways polite. I like it and recommend it to my friends

Disliked: everything was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a homerun hostel and the couple owns it is very nice. They are very friendly and they gave us really helpful advice on our city tour experience. The room is nice and tide. And must to mention there is a big flatscreen TV in it, which is rare as a hostel. There are interesting paintings on the wall, give the room a confortable relaxing feeling.

Disliked: It only has a big water heater in the room for shower instead of unlimited 24H hot water supply. If you are traveling as more than 4 persons and you all want to take showers, the last person might have to wait for the heater for a not quite short bit of time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, breakfast, close to middle of city.

Disliked: not much.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Claudia perez angeles

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

06 April 2011 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: the room was clean, nice and the staff ok, is a good hostel

Disliked: nothing, just the location, is a litle bit far from city center

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edmond Mitchell

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 April 2011 Edmond would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and proce

Disliked: Nothing. Did what it said on the tin

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ebony Wood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Ebony would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION LOCATION! Great spot, clean comfy rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly staff..

Disliked: walls slightly thin, but you get that in most places these days!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joerg Niehoegen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: Big, quiet room, close to undrground. Light breakfast room, excellent choice for breakfast. Very helpful owners.

Disliked: The smell of (tobacco) smoke in the staircase and corridor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and efficient. Literally had a one minute check-in time. Rooms were clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable as well. Breakfast was good (continental breakfast with a selection of fruits available). Good location as it is 3-5 minutes walk away from the underground station.

Disliked: Shared toilets were slightly cold. A little heating would be nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome!

Disliked: Lack of lockers and keys. No heaters in the restroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, minutes away from the centre on the U-Bahn. Good local bars but not noisy at night if you want some sleep. Our room was a good size, very warm (we were there in January) and the breakfast buffet was great.

Disliked: Nothing - the directions from the U-Bahn stop are a little confusing but if you look for the big Hotel Brack on the corner it's easy to find from ther.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels