HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Hotel Modern

1 star Hotel | Schillerstr.16, Munich, Germany 80336

49.9% Overall Rating

267 out of 390 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"Cheap central accomodation, with breakfast and wifi included. Very near S Bahn and shopping areas. Has superb Vietnamese / Chinese restaurant adjoining"

Read all Hotel Modern reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Hotel Monaco
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 10 reviews
Jaeger's Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.5% 449 reviews
Euro Youth Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1851 reviews
Wombats City Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1042 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
32.26 USD

Hostel 84.5% 201 reviews
SMART STAY Hotel Station
25.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.1% 517 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
43.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pension Locarno
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 74 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
49.9%

Overall Rating

267 out of 390 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Modern'

Atmosphere
39.2%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
61.6%
Value
46.4%
Safety
48.0%
Refine your results Showing 214 of 265 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Amanda Stone

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything it was very dirty everything broken and food left in there from previous also asked for a refund after going back to reception complaining bout how disgusting it was cigarette butts all over balcony floor and security was non existent anyone can access your balcony via ladders built in

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kevin Douglas

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 April 2014

Liked: Cheap and near the central station

Disliked: No internet apart from downstairs, shower door broken, limited breakfast

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near train station

Disliked: on a very busy street near lots of strip clubs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was clean, warm and everything in it was new.

Disliked: The furniture in the room was too old, but it was comfortable and warm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap central accomodation, with breakfast and wifi included. Very near S Bahn and shopping areas. Has superb Vietnamese / Chinese restaurant adjoining

Disliked: Building, rooms, communal hallway was scruffy and badly in need of refurbishment

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly and nice, and the centered location of the hostel

Disliked: it's a bit expensive

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Easy

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 October 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient for the Main Station and the Old City. Towels & Linen were clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Towards end of season, the furnishings were tired. Many of the fixtures wer broken and remained unfixed

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Armin Lang

Alone

Business / conference

02 September 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kaitlyn Everingham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Kaitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station- very convenient. Helpful staff, clean, had all basic needs.

Disliked: Kaitlyn left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1) bathroom was in the hall way 2) hallways that the rooms were in, we're also shared by stores and cafes. There kitchens and storage closets would open up into the hotel's hallway. 3) filthiness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tome Lingurovski

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2013 Tome would recommend this property

Liked: Clean quiet... Friendly staff.....excellent location

Disliked: Tome left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Mr Gary Bennett

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 March 2013 Mr Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to station and centre.

Disliked: Mr Gary left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Anastasia Karlova

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 January 2013

Liked: close to the Bahnhof, the breakfast was ok.

Disliked: quite durty room, old furniture, one of the ""doors" of the shower misses

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Karel Spelina

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012

Liked: clean bed linen that we could leave our luggage in the hotel, although there's no designated room to do so; yet the reception staff were happy to keep an eye on our stuff

Disliked: 1) very dirty carpets in the corridors (we had room 211 but spoke to other travellers that were on other floors and the situation was not any different) 2) only 1 bedside lamp; 3) shower cubicle had a huge gap in the middle where there was no door / curtain so that the water splashed onto the bathroom floor; 4) bedroom curtains not hung properly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marianne Maier

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2012 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, cheap, location, very nice Asian restaurant.

Disliked: Some things were broken in the room such as the other curtain was half loose, the lamp seemed to be falling and the glass doors in the shower were broken (only half of the parts were there so the whole bathroom floor got wet when you took a shower)

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The worse hotel ever and totally not worth the price. They have two buildings which one in the front and one in the back. At first I stayed on the back on the first floor, down to the hall just next to the toilet, it's dark, smells, and really loud when someone is using the toilet (shared with about 3 rooms). The door of the closet even fall off and people eating outside can see me directly through the window!! I asked them to change the room for two days and they just ignore me and say we don't have another room. In the end I was so angry and wanna check out early but they won't return my money for the last day. After arguing with them for a while, they finally gave me another room which is on the 3 floor and a little bit better. It is obvious they have the room and just don't wanna change me before. what a bad attitude.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Giorgio Trumpy

Alone

Business / conference

20 June 2012

Liked: sheets were rather clean

Disliked: all the rest

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference

12 June 2012

Liked: The hotel was very dirty!

Disliked: Dirt!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012

Liked: breakfast was nice.

Disliked: Staff is uncooperative and rude, adjoining areas of the hotel is gross. rooms are not that good, tv doesnot work, wifi only works in lobby, it is not a place where students,backpackers,young guys should come and hav fun. There is no area to hangout. There are no locker so if you want to put luggage for sometime they'll force you to pay for whole day.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 March 2012

Liked: Location to station

Disliked: The room was unpleasant. Someone had painted part of an old pink wall with yellow paint probably to cover up something but couldn't even be bothered painting the whole wall so it was an eye sore to look at. We were on the first floor - no lift for luggage. Also what I think was some sort of cleaning products in large white sacks were kept by the stairs which smelt bad and was able to be smelt in our room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The position

Disliked: It is visibly old and not very clean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure and good location.

Disliked: Cleanliness very weak.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: BED BUGS! I woke up at 5am COVERED in bites, all over my body, the beds must be riddled with bugs. I went and showed the receptionist, who had obviously delt with this before, he offered my husband and I a single bed room till the next day when we changed rooms. The next room was fine, no bugs, but I wouldnt risk staying here again- so many bites!! Horrible!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located (near train station). Breakfast is provided (though simple). Good water pressure (especially on taking shower).

Disliked: The waitress of the restaurant was not friendly and did not have the food totally prepared upon opening (on the last day when we had to leave in the early morning). The pillow is too soft.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location to the central station. Plenty of good food options and nudie bars within walking distance. Breakfast was also good.

Disliked: Bathroom was very average, shower had no screen which meant the bathroom would flood. The Bathroom door would no close which eliminated any form of privacy whilst in there. Other than that it was a good place.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels