HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Hotel Modern

2 star Hotel | Schillerstr.16, Munich, Germany 80336

55.5% Overall Rating

267 out of 385 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"Cheap central accomodation, with breakfast and wifi included. Very near S Bahn and shopping areas. Has superb Vietnamese / Chinese restaurant adjoining"

Read all Hotel Modern reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Hotel Monaco
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.1% 9 reviews
Jaeger's Hostel
22.08 USD

Hostel 82.2% 414 reviews
Euro Youth Hostel
20.01 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1816 reviews
Wombats City Hostel
30.36 USD

Hostel 88.7% 1021 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
39.33 USD

Hostel 83.5% 197 reviews
SMART STAY Hotel Station
27.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 484 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
69.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pension Locarno
27.60 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.5%

Overall Rating

267 out of 385 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Modern'

Atmosphere
46.4%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
45.6%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
64.8%
Value
53.6%
Safety
53.6%
Refine your results Showing 213 of 261 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011

Liked: The bedlinen & towels were clean. That is the best thing you can say about the whole place.

Disliked: This is the WORST hotel I have EVER stayed at. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!! Staff took payment in full at check-in and when we got to our room (which stank of smoke despite being nonsmoking) I discovered that the shower was missing one side of sliding doors. When I went down to reception ´to report it the manager, who had checked us in, said ´yes i know you can just put towels on the floor` !! When I complained that we´d like to be moved to a room with a shower with functional doors, he claimed there were no available alternative rooms altho the sign in the window read ´Zimmer Frei´. We got not sleep the first night because of the noise from the strip clubs next door and across the street. Breakfast in the morning was served by a surly woman who gave us teaspoons to eat our cereal with. The ham and cheese stank so its doubtful it had even been refrigerated. Really I cannot say enough bad things about the place, they told my boyfriend they had a contract with a nearby parking garage where he could leave his motorbike, and then charged him 27 euros for parking when we left!! When I tried to complain at check out the manager talked over my complaints and was completely unresponsive. WORST HOTEL STAY EVER.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the centre and transport

Disliked: noisy Germans at night

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very cheap and you get a lot of things for your money. You live very close to the main station and Karlsplatz (Stachus) so you can go where you want easily by subway, feet or tram. The bathroom was new and very clean. We even had a balcony.

Disliked: The furniture was very old and the floor untidy. The property is located in a street of hotels, small turkey restaurants. But there are a lot of table dance and striptease bars, Beate Uhse and even locations with prostitutes. So in the evening it's no good place for children and teens to stay.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: The cleanliness of the room perhaps.

Disliked: The hotel doesn't look as nice as how it was described. The receptionists are very unfriendly and they do not keep luggages for the travellers on the day of check out as well. They did not seem to welcome us when we first arrived.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff is very nice, helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Except the reception staff is very nice, helpful and friendly! But this is the bad hotel which I have chosen. The staff of the canteen is extremely bad! The canteen is in-charged by a 40-50 yrs female, with long and golden color hair, thin build. I’ve never seen a rude waitress like that. Rude, impolite, keep in speaking German to different cultures people whatever they are not understanding what is she shouting about. No fork, no spoon, only gave you a knife for breakfast. You need to search the things by yourself. It is not an accident as I stayed there three days and all the times like that.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 June 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: Atmosphere

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011

Liked: The location was nice since it was near the train station

Disliked: the entire room was kind of dirty so i would not recommend the place

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Raffle

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money especially considering it's central location. Nice powerful shower and amusing view from the window, as long as you are open minded! All you can eat and drink breakfast included - bargain!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and comfortable

Disliked: nothink

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 October 2010

Liked: The rooms were located just passing by a corridor where is a Chinese restaurant kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

CASSIUS GUIMARAES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010 CASSIUS would recommend this property

Liked: It's a hotel, stayed just for one night, and I thought that it was okay. Good location, close to the main train station. I recommend.

Disliked: CASSIUS left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Francis Ingwersen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Close to railway station, new bathroom, excellent breakfast

Disliked: One staffer was rude, in-room fridge was locked; carpet worn, light fittings broken

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to where our bus dropped us and picked us up

Disliked: No internet as promised. Bar frigde that wasnt turned on. Right next to lift shaft.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Duncan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Although the street itself isn't the nicest of areas, the hostel is only a couple of minute's walk from the main train station and the city centre so it's excellent in that respect. The facilities are good.

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the central station, ensuite was pretty new and nice, nice breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010

Liked: the Onlz nice thing-bathroom

Disliked: location, not good for car travellers, mazbe good for backpackers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010

Liked: The free breakfast was nice and the room was a good size. It also had a balcony to hang close and such.

Disliked: Ok where to start.... The room was quite in disarray. Their was a shower door missing, which created inevitable flooding if you chose to bathe. There was no door on the cabinet. Black smudges remained on the walls where pictures were removed, the toilet would only flush it's contents when it wanted to. The restaurant that was nice to serve breakfast was very loud very early in the morning, bring ear plugs if you like sleeping. Oh and if you aren't into shady neighborhoods don't go there. Its right down the street from the train station, and a peep show... and prostitutes... It worked for me since we traveled on a budget and I only need a place to sleep.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2010

Liked: It was very close to the station, and it was nearly as loud as most of the comments make it seem, not the greatest place in the world, if you have other options, look at them first, but overall, not a horrible place to stay.

Disliked: I didn't like that, when you left the building, you had to leave your key with the front desk. Nothing was taken from my room, and to my knowledge nobody but me was in there, but it still doesn't bode well with me, really didn't like giving my key away.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great and the location is really nice - close to the center of town and to the train station. The rooms were clean. All and all and good experience.

Disliked: The only problem I had was with internet. It could only be accessed in the hall on the Entry level floor. I never did get it to work with my computer but it appeared that someone else was able to.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 May 2010

Liked: Very old hotel , Everything is broken such as Bathroom's door can't lock. Bathroom is very bad "Water drainage very slow , so Flood in room". Very noise in night. Only good thing is near Train station. Don't believe the picture.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

18 May 2010

Liked: Free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vasileios Drakopoulos

23 April 2010 Vasileios would recommend this property

Liked: Its proximity to the Central Station (Hauptbahnhof) and the existence of balconies.

Disliked: Vasileios left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giane cavalcanti

22 April 2010 Giane would recommend this property

Liked: The Hotel Was very good.

Disliked: Giane left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Man Chi Lai

13 April 2010 Man Chi would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Man Chi left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Kramarova

10 April 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and tasty breakfast

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels