HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of WESTEND HOTEL

3 star Hotel | Schwanthalerstrasse 121, Munich, Germany 80339

82.5% Overall Rating

184 out of 198 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Frantisek Podany thinks…

"I like short distance from center and from railway station. It was quiet neighborhood."

Read all WESTEND HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

for the period 19th September including 7th October 2014: - cancellation free of charge: up to 21 days prior to arrival - cancellations later than this or no shows will be charged with 100 % of booked services - payment is due to 21 days prior to arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

MEININGER Munich City Center
18.98 USD

Hostel 84.3% 1496 reviews
Pension Belo Sono
37.32 USD

Apartment 87.9% 41 reviews
A&O München Hauptbahnhof
33.32 USD

Hostel 76.3% 253 reviews
A&O München Hackerbrücke
22.96 USD

Hostel 61.5% 878 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 197 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
43.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The 4 You Hostel Munich
24.04 USD

Hostel 82.6% 1755 reviews
Hotelpension Haydn
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.4% 174 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

184 out of 198 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'WESTEND HOTEL'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 149 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice staff. Clean rooms. Offerred free luggage storage, wi-fi, coffee, and cakes.

Disliked: Quiet/boring part of Munich, unfortunately.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011

Liked: Fair price, friendly

Disliked: The shower is something between a joke and an insult. Hardly enough water pressure to wash your face let alone your hair. And this is due to an installed flow restrictor. If it wasn't for this I would recommend this hostel very much. Parking is an extra 10 Euro.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011

Liked: Nothing...

Disliked: There was no internet access 24h, it was unavailable by the morning and late evenings. The staff was unhelpful and very rude. And they do not accept credit cards for payments under EUR 50.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Cheap but much more like a hotel than a hostel. Not a good place to stay if you're looking to meet people, but really great for a good night's sleep. About 20 minute walk from the main train station. Pretty easy to get to the city center (old part of the city). Free apples in reception!

Disliked: Nothing really. Not a very interesting part of town, but we knew that going in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Same price as a hostel and much better quality.

Disliked: Internet was down when we arrived but that was fixed in a few hours and it worked well for the remainder of our stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the value for money. Really decent hotel for those money. I stayed with my girlfriend for 5 nights. It was very nice and clean. However some disadvantages(see under...) I would totally suggest it!

Disliked: It is about 5-10 minutes from the nearest underway station. You walk enough. The breakfast was to expensive. 9 euros. We did not had any. The good thing is that it is optional.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fair price

Disliked: The shower drain didn't work smoothly. And Internet access was not available.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Beck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Close-ish to HBF. Rooms are super clean and it's nice to have a privet room at a good price. Very nice place to stay. Located outside of the city -center near where they have Oktoberfest in the fall. Would stay here again.

Disliked: If you walk straight from HBF, the neighborhood can seem a little sketchy, but honestly the neighborhood directly around the hotel is alright.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap enough and warm.

Disliked: The walls are thin! It's supposed to be a hotel, but at times it felt like a hostel as you could hear everything from the rooms above/next to you. Complained, they didn't do much. So take ear plugs - you pay for what you get. WiFi is pretty slow too, but even they admit that at reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good reception

Disliked: small rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Belinda Bruce

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location very helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were REALLY helpful and nice. it is totally a hostel with heart. even though the ooms are small and not totally inviting or warm, they put gummie bears on your pillows and little baskets of fruit in the room. they have real soap in the bathrooms and towels are incl.Also, it is literally a 2 minute walk from Augustiner beer hall..yummo!!

Disliked: slightly un pictureque part of town, and felt a bit dodgy. room cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diego Ciulli

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 August 2010 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice Hotel for that price! The rooms are well furnished, and the hotel is colourful! Not far form the town centre, and next to the strassenbahn and an incredible Biergarten!

Disliked: Diego left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, it is a hotel.

Disliked: location is little bit off cental.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great value for the money. You can get a neat, clean, comfortable, well equiped room within the central location for a good price. We stayed in a double room with our own bathroom and we were really satisfied. Besides, the room number tags on the external side of the door are just very cool! The location is also OK, less than 15min walking distance from the train station and even closer to the new long distance bus station in centre. I recommend the place to anyone that prefers private rooms than dorms. However, I cannot judge about the 'fun' level, but I think it also has a bar or something.And if I'll need a place to stay in Munich again, this will certainly be the first place i'll check.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i had a very good experience at this hotel, the stuff is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gabriella Selmeci

16 January 2010 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, close to the hauptbahnhof. elevator. lcd tv. clean bathroom.

Disliked: Gabriella left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and the room was beautiful - bathroom was great too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Ifko

10 January 2010 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent hostel for young and old travellers. It's 5 minutes away from the metro station (you need to buy a ticket for metro anyway if you want to travel around the city, so it's good). There is LIDL shop on the metro station, opened from Monday - Saturday (8.00 - 20.00). It's very clean, very nice hostel, excellent for it's price and I would recommend it to anyone. I'm sure i'll stay there again, if i go to Munich. It's a great place to sleep - it's not a party hostel, so it's good for travellers who came to discover the city and then return to hostel to sleep. There is "all-you-can-eat-breakfast" for 9 euros, which I didn't buy, because I think you can get the food all around Munich for cheap price (bread..)... :)

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good at this price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: attractive price calm rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap is the first point!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: for the price amazing value. staff very friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 December 2009

Liked: damn cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i would definetly stay here again, it was near the tram, you reach the citycenter in 3 minutes. Very clean hotel, helpfull staff and nice backer just around the corner. very good price/quality ratio.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels