We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Nord

2 star Hotel | Bremer Reihe 22, Hamburg, Germany 20099

59.3% Overall Rating

61 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2013)

Carla Bancu thinks…

"The staff was helpful and the place is literally 2 minutes walk from the train station, very comfortable ..."

Read all Hotel Nord reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings from countries which needs a visa from german embassy are non-refundable and the amount due upon arrival will be charged to your credit card at the time of booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hamburg

Kieler-hof
27.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.5% 261 reviews
Generator Hamburg
16.49 USD

Hostel 84.0% 797 reviews
Hotel Lilienhof
22.20 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 68 reviews
Hotel Mercedes
48.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 51 reviews
Wikinger Hof
49.47 USD

Guesthouse 65.4% 64 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
24.25 USD

Hostel 79.1% 574 reviews
Superbude Hotel Hostel St. Georg
20.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 92.5% 44 reviews
A&O Hamburg City
18.00 USD

Hostel 79.0% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.3%

Overall Rating

61 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Nord'

Atmosphere
45.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The hotel is in a sort of night clubs area, which didn't feel really safe. Our booking throught hostelbookers.com was not received, neither the money for the booking, and the receptionist clearly lied about the price of the room we had to take when we arrived in order not to detract those money we paid in advance via hostelbookers. besides that the receptionist didn't speak almost any english, which would have been a problem if my boyfriend didn't speak a little bit of German as he does.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: That it was close to the maint train station

Disliked: We booked a room with private shower but the owner called us and said that there were no rooms of that kind left. He offered 10eur discount, although the room without shower costs the same so there were theoretically no discount. At the hotel, the staff did not apologise for the inconvinience but instead they accused us and said that we should have booked the room earlier. It smelled smoke, people were smoking, especially on the corridors and inside toilets. The door to the room had a big gap under it making it possible to hear everything in the hallway. The toilet in the corridor had a window to the inside stairway which could not be closed. There were no soap or paper in the toilets either. The walls inside the room was dirty, some spots on them, television was several centry's old, to pay 30eur for insuranse for the remote control was hilarious. Eventough we were backbacking, this hotel was most expensive and worst we have ever been to.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: It's location.

Disliked: Everything else.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carla Bancu

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 June 2013

Liked: The staff was helpful and the place is literally 2 minutes walk from the train station, very comfortable ...

Disliked: The area is really dodgy, many weird people and prostitues on the street, yet I didnt feel it was not safe.... The place was quite clean, but everything is old and seems so used out, would need a renovation and some new furniture, Doesnt feel like a travellers hostel, but it is a good, quick solution for a night or two...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good. The staff is quite friendly. This hotel made me feel at home. I would recommend this to my friends !

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marius Cujba

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Work / volunteering

10 September 2012 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: In one of the day I must to aspect one hour in front of the hotel because don't was nobody in the reception and the door it was close.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

05 August 2012

Liked: Its location was really good, only 5 minutes by foot from the Hauptbanhof.

Disliked: It was really dirty, a bath for a whole level and very expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome location, nice staff and super soft and comfy bed

Disliked: internet is crappy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: The bedding had a rather strange smell and another guest was constantly smoking in the shared toilet on the floor. Also the WIFI is very dodgy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the guy who works there is very nice and polite. Breakfast is worth for the money.

Disliked: There are lot of prostitutes and drunkards around that area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just for one night it was ok. But for longer stay I would not recommend it.

Disliked: relatively loud surroundings

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 September 2011

Liked: It is very close to the Hamburg railway station with connections to the city centre and the port.

Disliked: The room was impregnating with a strong smell of cigarettes, which was very unpleasant, the room was facing the street and therefore was noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Brownson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice clean room and shower added in for free.

Disliked: Price!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Céline Réveiller

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 July 2011 Céline would recommend this property

Liked: The location, very close to the main train station and bus station. The 24/7 opening hours at the reception desk, ideal for people who go out at night.

Disliked: No way to pay with a VISA credut card, the unexpected 30€ deposit for the room key, the noise in the street and the floor.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

paul quinnell

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011

Liked: Excellent location 2 mins walk from main central station.Friendly staff.

Disliked: No hot water,was extremely cold all weekend.Lights in shower and toilet randomly switch off and wiring is exposed.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 June 2011

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The person that stayed in the room before us didnt return the key and kindly walked in on me and my girlfriend whilst we were sleeping - the hostel should have given us another room - very alarming as anyone could have come in - thank god he wasnt a lunatic !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Cawley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, clean, near to city centre travel connections and helpful staff.

Disliked: Some people might not like the fact that it is situated near the Hauptbahnhof and therefore traditionally in German cities, an area of somewhat 'ill-repute' if you know what I mean. It didn't bother me at all of course - but it might not exactly suit the family oriented.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nadine Villwock

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 April 2011 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: right next to the train station and therefor the perfect place to get around quickly, beds were comfortable and bedsheets and towels were clean

Disliked: the area nearby is a bit red lighty ;) the entrance smells funny and the light of the common toilet (1 for 6 rooms) keeps turning itself off all the time, its a bit pricier, but compared to other dunk bed rooms costing nearly the same in hamburg its ok

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic. It's a quiet, good value for money, place close to the main station. The street is lively with a number of bars and restaurants.

Disliked: A drawback is the limited check-in times. If i arrive in Hamburg after 6 p.m. i have to stay somewhere else (i am a regualr traveller to Hamburg).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2010

Liked: Convenient location to the central station, WiFi

Disliked: Rough area. Bums were mixing beer and vodka on doorstep. Broken lights hanging in the room, felt like staying at a terror cell. Staff did not speak English.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Juris Rotbergs

Alone

06 September 2010 Juris would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms clean and safe

Disliked: Juris left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful at reception.....even my stange request's for printing email, payment, and infomation were met with a 'can do' attitude :)

Disliked: Nothing....great place. Location is 'interesting'....but if youre coming in by train to Hamburg it's a great 1st stop to catch your breathe as is literally 2min walk from Hamburg Hbf station

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

25 August 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Mostly the location

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location in city centre

Disliked: location was on a dodgy street with questionable looking people and shops/bars

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sehr familiäre atmosphäre, obwohl ich es bei der super zentralen Lage nicht erwartet hätte!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.