We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Hotel Mercator

3 star Hotel | Mercatorstr. 38, Frankfurt, Germany 60316

75.4% Overall Rating

25 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2011)

"The location of the hotel is central and it still gives a safe feeling. It is very close to Konstablerwache train station and Zeil shopping district. Unlike the ones near hauptbahnhof, this hotel offers safe and quite…"

Read all City Hotel Mercator reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Cot / crib
  • High chair

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Special cancellation & payment conditions: Heimtextil 08.01.-12.01.13 Premiere 24.01.-29.01.13 Ambiente 14.02.-19.02.13 ISH 11.03.-16.03.13 Musikmesse 09.04.-13.04.13 IFFA 03.05.-08.05.13 IMEX 20.05.-23.05.13 Techtextil 10.06.-14.06.13 Tendence 22.08.-27.08.13 IAA Presse 09.09.-13.09.13 IAA 1 14.09.-20.09.13 IAA 2 21.09.-23.09.13 Buchmesse 08.10.-13.10.13 CPHI 21.10.-24.10.13 Euromold 02.12.-06.12.13 Cancelations during fair time done less than 4 weeks prior to arrival and no shows will be charged in full. The reservation done out of the fair time can be canceled free of charge up to 2 days prior to arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Frankfurt?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Frankfurt

Hotel Aria
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
City Hotel Frankfurt
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.7% 23 reviews
Alleenhof***
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Jaguar
26.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 52.0% 61 reviews
Hotel Ritter
34.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Ramada Hotel Frankfurt City Center
44.28 USD

Hotel 4 star 83.9% 14 reviews
United Hostel Frankfurt City Center
21.51 USD

Hostel 84.5% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

25 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hotel Mercator'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: no atmosphere or character

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thomas Sundberg

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A quiet neigbourhood, 10 minutes walk to the city center.

Disliked: The network is bad. Often it doesn't work and then after a while it starts working again. Very annoying. It was very warm and not there is no aircondition or fan to cool yourself with. We were able to sleep with the windows open.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, breakfast ok, I could sleep well

Disliked: breakfast only starts at 7am

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Twining

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

08 October 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and affordable, plus it was really comfortable and quiet.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel is central and it still gives a safe feeling. It is very close to Konstablerwache train station and Zeil shopping district. Unlike the ones near hauptbahnhof, this hotel offers safe and quite surroundings all day.

Disliked: Although it was promoted in the web page, there was no safety box in the room . The room was small but yet clean. The towels in the bathroom were looking old. The TV and the building's elevator were not only looking old but they were as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 March 2011

Liked: - Just a hotel where I could spend a night. For me it was ok.

Disliked: - It was quite clear that receptionist was unhappy when discovered that I am russian-speaking. She was russian as well and probably has some problems with her fellow country-mans. Normally I've got used that hotel personal show some kind of hospitality and willingness to help, but here it wasn't the case. - Internet connection wasn't working in the hotel

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Joseph Cleboski

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2011

Liked: Not much...:-(

Disliked: The hotel charged my CC twice...once to reserve the room and second when I checked in...the first charge to reserve the room is on my card for 30 days...why keep this charge on my card for 30 days, when I paid in full with my CC at check-in? I was told this was the way Mercator Hotel does business...Knowing this, I will do business elsewhere when I do future travel...made me feel like they rip off the customer...great way to do business!!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location that's very accessible to the Zeil, not noisy, fuss-free and best of all free wifi. Great value for its class ;)

Disliked: No hot water flask or kettle in room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

18 August 2010

Liked: It was close to where we had to go the next morning - the American Embassy-

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and they tried to give us the worst possible room: all the way at the top floor, in the last corner, with no view out on to the street or anything. We had to request to change rooms. Strangely, other people were offered good rooms right away.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price at weekend very good. Location.

Disliked: Personnel very unfriendly, in especial people at Reception.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexander Erdikler

07 June 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: the Hotel is not high class or even very professional, but it is a nice small hotel and offers almost more than you can get for this price. Not far away is a supermarket and a good Italian restaurant. the city centre is reachable in less than 10min. No street noise.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing, expecially for that price! Breakfast is wonderful, so much to choose from. Free wifi and well located. When going to Frankfurt, you should definitely stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, very clean and comfortable, great value for money, good location 10min walk into centre or a couple of stops on U5 tram/underground.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mian Rauf

29 March 2008 Mian would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel but lack of English Language Communication between International tourists and hotel staff which didn't help tourist to get right direction. But good attitude towards tourists which really attract trourists to come back again to stay in this hotel.

Disliked: Mian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Abreu

06 January 2008 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: It was so comfortable, clean, and well located. The staff zere nice and polite.

Disliked: Lucia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is amazing and the staff were super friendly!! plus having breakfast included was fantastic! i am definately coming back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 December 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s very clean and has good rooms. Nice with a bathtup, fridge, hairdryer and tv. It has a well assorted breakfast and is therefore good value for the money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Colin Brennan

07 October 2007

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.