We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

2 star Hotel | Königswall 2, Dortmund, Germany 44137

86.9% Overall Rating

66 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/04/2015)

rami Elshinawy thinks…

"It`s really clean and it`s location is perfect for the city, the prices is good according to Germany standards"

Read all A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.77
  • Linen USD 3.33
  • Towel USD 1.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Bed linen for Dorms: 3€ (from July 2014: 3.50 €) Breakfast: 6 € (from July 2014: 7€) Credit card fee (for total amount under 200€) : 2.95 € Late Check Out: 7.50 €

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dortmund?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

66 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 69 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rami Elshinawy

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 April 2015 rami would recommend this property

Liked: It`s really clean and it`s location is perfect for the city, the prices is good according to Germany standards

Disliked: The stuff is not providing the hole information unless you stress on asking on every detail. The internet was not totally free!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, bar

Disliked: price

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Staff is polite and helpful. Rooms are clean and we felt very safe. I would recommed this hostel as a starting point to see western Germany.

Disliked: Very nice hostel. Staff is polite and helpful. Rooms are clean and we felt very safe. I would recommed this hostel as a starting point to see western Germany.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Friedrich Breckow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014

Liked: Next to the train station.

Disliked: Worst hostel I´ve ever stayed in. You can´t be sure about the price you get from hostelbookers.They charged me 20% more than the bill of hostelbookers was. That was because of taxes and for renting linen(!!!!). Which backpacker brings his own linen??? Actually the guy on the reception charged me 40% more, because he "forgot" to subtract my 15% payment in advance. Be aware of that! Plus there were no plug-in at the bedside, so no chance to charge your mobile...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm impressed by the atmosphere of A&O Hostels in Dortmund. Everything was in order during my stay. Actually it was more like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: I have no dislikes about A&O Hostels in Dortmund.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

gerald bailey

Alone

City break

26 June 2014 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: a good hostel 5 mins from main station very clean comfy beds

Disliked: like a budget airline..pay extra for bedding,and wifi in room (free in bar/lobby) and also charge fee for credit card. so please read all the description

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nur Nadira Wahab

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Nur Nadira would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended for travellers out there with great value of money and staffs were friendly as well and very helpful

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had things like postcards and beer and toiletries for sale. That was very convenient.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmytro Starostin

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Dmytro would recommend this property

Liked: In A&O Hotel property i like very good location near to center of the city and train station, good clean rooms friendless stuff, and tasty breakfast.

Disliked: Really for this price what I payed, I can`t call to mind nothing bad .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rahul Choudhary

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

08 January 2014 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly and resourceful. The location is excellent: right in the city centre and only few metres away from the central station.

Disliked: There is no kitchen for us to cook. There is no good pub as well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ertu? Görkem VAROL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Ertu? Görkem would recommend this property

Liked: It is located city centre. You can find it easily. Comfortable and very good staff. Lobby is great to rest and have some fun.

Disliked: No free internet without lobby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Monica Sanchez

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 October 2013 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Just 2 minutes away from the train station. Many facilities and services: bar, billar, internet...

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Marta Dubinska

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel itself was very good, we were allowed to check in after 10am (we arrived in Dortmund at 6 in the morning), which is a great plus. We also got free towels, there was a hairdryer in the bathroom and basic cleaning supplies.

Disliked: The disadvantages are definitely the lack of free wifi in the rooms and quite thin walls and a noisy street behind the window. Also, something that really made me angry is the fact that I found a pair of used panties under my quilt (which didn't have linen on), so I think it's not as clean as they say it is.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Csaba Balazs

With a large group / tour

Shopping

23 September 2013 Csaba would recommend this property

Liked: The coffe machine made a very good coffe.

Disliked: I have to pay to youse my cradit card.It is not free .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's just a 5 Star Hostel! Make sure you have a padlock for your wardrobe.

Disliked: Staying together in a mixed room? If you do do like to stay in only males or only female room you have to inform the staff earlier. But I think they should make it in a way that males and female stay stay differently. In that way you could be more relax and free in your room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a twin room. Nice, clean but of course you are in the City Center (ambulance and police during the night).

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION! Just few steps from Main Station. Rooms are cosy, clean and safe.

Disliked: everything was OK!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, good bar and bar prices

Disliked: ..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, near bus and train station, in the center od Dortmund

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to the central station so thiss was good for me, it was clean all u need for a short stay.

Disliked: It was a bit noisy from the other rooms, but thats not the hostel's fault, wifi is free only in the lobby, it was not mentioned on hostel bookers that you have to pay extra for towels+bed linens.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivanka Kadiyska

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 November 2012 Ivanka would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, private bathroom for each room (even in dorms), good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Ivanka left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marjan Ugrinovski

Alone

Events / festivals

09 November 2012 Marjan would recommend this property

Liked: the recepcion was very welcoming and they keep it very clean

Disliked: Marjan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localization, clean rooms, private bathroom for each room (even in dorms)

Disliked: I booked 4 beds mixed room, but I was given 6 bed room without any explanation and discount

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely good value for money. Central location, good security, clean facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.