We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels

Reviews of East Side City Hotel

3 star Hotel | Mühlenstraße 6, Berlin, Germany D-10243

84.8% Overall Rating

34 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

Wanja Stier thinks…

"Friendly staff, very uncomplicated. Great location just opposite East Side Gallery with easy access to U/S Bahn"

Read all East Side City Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Dry cleaning
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Newspapers
  • Pets allowed
  • High chair

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Berlin

Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
20.70 USD

Hostel 86.9% 419 reviews
Industriepalast Hostel Berlin
14.61 USD

Hostel 89.4% 109 reviews
PLUS Berlin
11.39 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1900 reviews
Sunflower Hostel
11.76 USD

Hostel 80.6% 256 reviews
Art-Hostel Berlin City
20.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Jetpak Alternative
24.04 USD

Hostel 94.5% 52 reviews
Design Hotel DDR
37.95 USD

Hostel 77.7% 81 reviews
Hotel Comenius
27.20 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

34 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'East Side City Hotel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 35 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well priced,excellent breakfast buffet.

Disliked: Check in was chaotic as HostelBookers' price was different to default price on their computer and we were kept waiting for about half an hour for someone who could override the computer! Could not understand why this stopped us being able to go to room and freshen up.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Wanja Stier

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 July 2013 Wanja would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very uncomplicated. Great location just opposite East Side Gallery with easy access to U/S Bahn

Disliked: The court yard was basically the fleet of cars of the Berlin city cleaning. Was a bit noisy at times since we had to sleep with open windows. THe room can get very hot in the summer but it's acceptable with open windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bra och fräscht rum med mycket vänlig och trevlig personal. Jättebra frukost buffé med gott kaffe och färskt bröd samt frukt.

Disliked: Då en huvudgata gick utanför var det aldrig tyst utan stora lastbilar dundrade förbi dygnet runt. Receptionen och trapphusen såg väldigt nedslitna ut men INTE rummen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Townley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the hotel because of the very nice bedroom and bathroom. The staff were very helpful in every way and did their best to make us comfortable. The view from our bedroom window over looking the river was very lovely.

Disliked: We didn`t dislike anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dawn Hennessy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous place to stay if you are in Berlin for a few days and want to be in the thick of things :-) Right beside the East Side Gallery and only a stones throw from so many excellent restaurants, bars, clubs and cultural attractions. The staff were super nice and accommodating. We checked out the final day at 11 and didn't fly out until that night and they held our bags until we picked them up at 5, no hassle. The included breakfast was a great buffet style affair with plenty of good coffee!!(much needed after a night on the tiles) Overall a great place to stay for a group of friends travelling to explore and have fun. Hope to be back!

Disliked: Dawn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were cozy but not small. The view from the room was absolutely spectacular as well, overlooking the Berlin Wall. It was a great place to relax after a long day of exploring.

Disliked: There was only one slight let down to this property. It is an older building so the walls are a bit thin. If you are a light sleeper that could be an issue since it is near a busy destination.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Andersson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

20 February 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. 24-hour-bier-o-rama

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amelia Long

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 December 2011 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to and our room overlooked the Spree and the East Side Gallery

Disliked: The smell of cigarettes trapped in the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, literally opposite the eastside gallery and really close to all the nightlife in Kreuzberg.

Disliked: Although the hotel did not have a cerfew, we had to knock on the door a few times when we came back really late at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Pearce

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 September 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location by East Side Gallery, good transport links and near trendy area with nice restaurants. Good buffet breakfast included and friendly English-speaking staff. I would happily go back.

Disliked: If we're being really picky I'd have welcomed a hairdryer in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAE WOO CHOE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 JAE WOO would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff! good food! nice place! See you next time!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!! Quiet room, has everything that you need for a comfortable stay without excessive spending. Fantastic breakfast. , and extremely friendly. helpful, personable staff!!! Will definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brendan Wall

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful. My room overlooded the Berlin Wall. Bathroom facilites were good.

Disliked: the rooms were always very hot and couldnt really open my window at night due to flat roof infront of it and the noise of traffic outside early in the morning. they could have donewith air-conditioning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast buffet!

Disliked: Dull surroundings. Back of hotel facing toward parking lot of the city´s street cleaning department. They start very early...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Warren

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Directly opposite the east side gallery (ie the wall!) great location with amazing restaurants and bars down the road in Kreuzberg. And well serviced by public transport. Complimentary amazing buffet breakfast every morning. Room was services/cleaned each day and was good size (especially bathroom) and comfortable. Friendliness and willingness of staff to assist with your stay. 24 hour reception. Relaxed nature of the hotel. There is a hotel bar. Good price.

Disliked: If you are travelling alone and wanting to meet people this isn't the place to stay, but if you want a break from dorm life (but still on a backpacker budget) its perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronny Prinz

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 June 2011 Ronny would recommend this property

Liked: it´s a great value for money. good location in friedrichhain and only a short walk to get to kreuzberg. very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpful staff

Disliked: internet connection v slow in top room, carpet in room 43 a bit worn

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mika Torvinen

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2011 Mika would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Had to clear snow to park the car

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Roberto Confalonieri

20 September 2009 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place for going to friedrichshein for partying. View on the berlin wall directly from the room windows.

Disliked: Roberto left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tyrone Thorn

13 March 2009 Tyrone would recommend this property

Liked: Location - close to Warschauer Str station, across the road from East Side Gallery, within staggering distance to clubs like berghain / panorama bar (a must see, just don't try to go there on new years day evening!) and watergate. Friendly and helpful staff, room was basic but decent, oddly large sized bathroom with full size euro style bathtub & shower - i.e. missing the bracket to hold the shower head onto the wall.

Disliked: Tyrone left no negative feedback.


See all Berlin hostels
See all Berlin hotels