We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hôtel de la Comète

Hotel | 196 boulevard de la Villette, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75019

81.4% Overall Rating

45 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

Madalena Esteves thinks…

"The room had a good size, it was clean and confortable. All the staff was nice and helpful. The hotel is not in the tourist center but it has a subway station on the other side of the road and it…"

Read all Hôtel de la Comète reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check-in from 14:00, Check-out before 12:00, Credit cards accepted. For any change or cancellation, please let us know at least 48 hours in advance. It is very important that you inform us about any changes of your arrival time.Thank you.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Peace and Love Hostel
19.61 USD

Hostel 64.7% 982 reviews
BEAUTIFUL CITY HOSTEL
24.67 USD

Hostel 84.6% 37 reviews
Hotel du terrage
31.63 USD

Hotel 73.7% 5 reviews
St Christopher's Inn Canal
20.11 USD

Hostel 83.2% 2356 reviews
Paris 19th Apartment
35.42 USD

Apartment 64.0% 17 reviews
Hotel de Bellevue
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.2% 86 reviews
Hotel Altona
35.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.5% 233 reviews
St Christopher's Gare du Nord
22.14 USD

Hostel 87.2% 335 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

45 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hôtel de la Comète'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 51 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madalena Esteves

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Madalena would recommend this property

Liked: The room had a good size, it was clean and confortable. All the staff was nice and helpful. The hotel is not in the tourist center but it has a subway station on the other side of the road and it is surrounded by supermarkets ant patisseries. We were even able to use wi-fi from the nearby mcDonald's in the hotel's entrance. Considering Paris' prices, it's great value for money.

Disliked: Only one lady couldn't speak english. But when necessary she immediately went to call her husband. So there was really nothing to dislike.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room has everything you need. There's a nearby metro which makes things accessible. Close to supermarkets and some bars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located next to the Jaures metro station and a 10 minute walk from Gare du Nord which made it very easy to get around. The room was a good size and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was no free wifi but there was a McDonald's next door so we went there for internet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great, location nice, good value for money.

Disliked: Room smelled like a smokers room. Internet relatively costly with €3 for two hours only usable on one device only.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Scharfegger

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, metro on the other side of the street, a lot of restaurants nearby

Disliked: no internet (Wlan) included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaciro Steinmetz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Jaciro would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent just across the road from the tub station liturely 1 minute very clean and unbeatable shower and I could also leave my luggage for the day after the check out was done as my coach back home was in the evening

Disliked: The bath towels provided were crap

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very basic and there was nothing we did not lack, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. It was a great base for trips around Paris. It is in a very convenient location directly across from the Metro stop close to other conveniences. The front desk staff were very attentive and helpful. We would recommend the hotel to others!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marike Roberts

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Marike would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the people were really friendly and always willing to help. I would definitely go back again!!

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mariko de Almeida Carneiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Mariko would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, nice breakfest

Disliked: They charge yo an extra fee for wifi and it doesnt work. We were disappointed about it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Helpful & friendly staff - very close to metro station - basic but nice room - extremely clean - lovely area - not in a touristy area but in the lovely Canal St. Martin area which is beautiful with lots of trendy boutiques and cafes, great if you've already seen the 'traditional' touristy sites of Paris and want to get away from the typically busy spots. Buttes-chaumont park is nearby, and is particularly lovely.

Disliked: - double room only has one bed (which is smaller than a standard double bed) - we asked for a room with twin beds but were told that all rooms were like this - quite noisy at night time, as the metro is overground in this area

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daryl Ho

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Daryl would recommend this property

Liked: - Located literally next to the Jaures train station! And there is a Macdonalds right beside it. - Bed is comfortable, toilet is huge and room has a TV as well. - Receptionists are very friendly, even though some of them cannot speak English well they try their best to make you feel welcome and help you out with your queries. - Breakfast is provided for 6 Euros, decent - 1 croissant, 1 baguette, 1 orange juice and 1 hot drink (the hot chocolate is nice).

Disliked: - Could do with refurbishing the room walls to make the experience more pleasant for future hotel guests. The tiles in the room gave one the feel that he/she was sleeping in a kitchen or toilet at times. The walls are also a bit thin and you could hear guests in the next room entering/leaving their room or walking around in the corridor. - Wi-fi at 3 Euros for 2 hrs was overpriced, considering most hotels/hostels are now offering free wi-fi for guests.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Batuhan Kaya

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 June 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: most of the things

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohamed Muzammil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: Property is very near Juares station. Can get to all attractions from here.

Disliked: Mohamed left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Teresa Daraio

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: The price is worth the stay. The hotel is quite close to the city center and is well connected by the metro. Quite clean room and bathroom.

Disliked: The staff does not speak any English

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dixon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely 3-night stay. The room (double) was very small, but very clean. If you're not intending to spend a lot of time in the room, it doesn't really matter.

Disliked: The closest metro station is Jaures, which is a little bit awkward due to the need to connect to other lines, but this is a minor niggle and not worth quibbling over!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naqiu Safaa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Naqiu would recommend this property

Liked: The best. I think it's a family-run hotel which u get a more personalised and welcoming customer service from them. Been treated by 3 different people and all of them are v friendly

Disliked: They hardly speak English n I speak no French. So a bit problematic to discuss things

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Archibald

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic view over Paris. We were on 7th floor. Helpful and friendly staff Large room with large bathroom. Clean towels were provided every day as was soap and shampoo. Close to supermarket and metro station

Disliked: Nothing except that internet was not free - €5 for 4 hours - but signal was good in room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tsz Kwan Cheung

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 April 2013 Tsz Kwan would recommend this property

Liked: price is reasonable

Disliked: Tsz Kwan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to metro station Jaures (literally meters away) so very convenient access. Balcony facing the canal which has brilliant views of the water, city lights, eiffel tower and sacre cour. Helpful staff, most of whom spoke some english. Lots of restaurants nearby (we found a supermarket and nice patisserie around the corner)

Disliked: Metro facing rooms obviously noisy, though the 6th floor wasnt too bad apart from when the trains passed through. No shower curtain so bathroom floor would get quite wet. Wall are not very sound-proof. Area felt a little rough at night, but had no issues

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very cute and the stuff very friendly

Disliked: very loud also in the night, because it´s next to a metro station and a mainstreet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Macauley

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Price Location Right across the street from a metro, less than a block away from monoprix grocery store and another grocery store Windows that open up to view the street below Can see the very top of some tower (would like to think it was the Eiffel tower). Could leave my stroller in the storage room beside the front desk Price quoted online was all that we had to pay - no extras. McDonald's next door Cleaned the room evey day and provide fresh towels

Disliked: Had to give our key up when we left for the day - wasn't expecting his but it went so bad. Just may have left the room a bit tidier. Kind of got fussed at for arriving so late. Almost didn't get the room bc of our kids that we couldn't nclude in the booking unless we counted them as adults - that would be crazy for a 7, 5, 3, 1 year old. It was advertised as a family room though (quadruple). Lady gave me some extra bread for the children one morning. The metros in Paris are crazy for strollers and limited mobility. So many stairs and tunnels with inadequate elevators and escalators. It was very challenging. Line 2 is the best line to start from when leaving the hotel to get Into the city because there are elevators directly connecting street to train platform. Some people may not like the noise (goes all night). First night no sleep but that could have just been excitement . Second night in and out. Window access could be a problem for messy/adventurous chIldren. Slides open directly over the street with only a simple lock. If you go into the city, you probably won't run back to the room and go back out. It's like 20 metro stops ( could be exaggerating)


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels