HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Voltaire Republique

2 star Hotel | 10 Boulevard Voltaire, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

71.4% Overall Rating

371 out of 482 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

Emily Randall thinks…

"The room was very cheap; an alright-sized room with an en-suite and balcony. Good shower. Friendly staff. Good location, close to metro."

Read all Hotel Voltaire Republique reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

“The property may charge your credit card – not systematically – with the amount of the first night in order to ensure the validity of your guarantee“ “In case of failure, your booking will not be kept and you will be informed by email”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Mary's Hotel
33.16 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.7% 70 reviews
Absolute Paris Boutique Hostel
38.47 USD

Hostel 78.7% 709 reviews
Picard Hotel
50.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Paris Bruxelles 2*
59.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 9 reviews
Hotel Majestic Paris
45.76 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 92.0% 10 reviews
Hotel Saint Sebastien
21.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.7% 994 reviews
Hôtel de Nemours
46.43 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Soft Paris
83.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

371 out of 482 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Voltaire Republique'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 314 of 446 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good, it´s quite close to the Bastille, Notre Dame and the Louvre museum. There is a supermarket really close to the hotel where you can do your daily shoppings.

Disliked: The cleanliness was a little bit lacking, but the room wasn´t dirty at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was easy to get to from the airports. My friend came in from one and I from another and because there are so many metro and bus lines nearby, it's hard to get lost. All of the desk staff spoke English so there weren't any language barriers and they were all extremely nice. We were able to work out a pay arrangement since my friend and I came in at different times the day we arrived in Paris. Lots of nice restaurants nearby, some are pricier than others, but well worth it. If you could manage it, everything was walkable from the hotel. The Eiffel Tour was about 1h30 from the hotel, but there was a Metro nearby that brought you to the tower.

Disliked: I didn't like that you couldn't keep your key. You gave it to the hotel staff when you left and then picked it up again when you returned, but that was okay because there were never any issues requesting the key.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 April 2011

Liked: great location,very close to the metro station and restaurants,shops etc.also in good price.very friendly people in the reception desk.

Disliked: very very very dirty.and old.and unsafe because of the old age.and the elevator fits only one person!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing

Disliked: Right on the main road so traffic loud at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful reception staff. Room 55 has a great balcony and glorious street view.

Disliked: All good, though shower curtain was the kind that sticks to you when showering in the compact shower. Hardly a major issue though - I'd recommend Hotel Voltaire to anyone. Great location, value for money budget accommodation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, as it was a walking distance to the center and there were several metro lines going from Republique. The room was small but cosy.

Disliked: There were some misunderstandings before arrival as the hotel customer service didn't speak English that well and it was at times hard to understand their emails. But when we got their the service was excellent!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a tidy and a spacious room

Disliked: a bit far from the center, though the distance is walkable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really cheap, the location is very good. Just a few steps away from the metro. The staff is honest, candid and helpful..

Disliked: They should probably get nicer sheets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: not very clean, smallest elevator in the world

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overwhelmingly the best thing about this hotel was the staff. My friends and I found them to be very helpful and flexible whenever we needed anything.

Disliked: The only real issue that we had at this hotel was that the room we stayed in the first night had bed bugs, which was obviously a big problem. However, we informed the staff the next morning and they immediately gave us a new room and we saw that they also fumigated the room right away.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: No helpfulness of the staff

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Laura Penttinen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 December 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was rather cheap and the location is really good if planning on spending time in bastille area.

Disliked: The room was really smelly when we came on the first night. It was really discusting on the first night when you are trying to sleep and your pillow smells like cigarette buts. After couple of nights it seemed to get better but really bad in the beginning. Rooms were really noisy and the towels were not changed at any point of our stay (Stayed there 3 days). I was there with a friend and we only slept there so it was ok but I could only recommend it to you if your plan is to party in Paris. Honestly for anything else go somewhere else! The rooms are in definite need for renovation. I have stayed in Paris many times before and this was the worst so far even though it was not the least that I hae spent.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. We got a double room and were very comfortable- I mean, since we were out all day, we only really needed a nice bed and having our own bathroom was great. It was a simple check-in, check-out process.

Disliked: They didn't ask for our ID when we asked for our key each time we came back (you have to give your key to the desk each time you leave), which made us wary-anybody could just go to our room. Also, the water in the shower was pretty cold and the internet was slow, but that's not really a big deal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Sam Collins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you don't want to be in a touristy area and want to see a real bit of Paris, full of restaurants and bars.

Disliked: Really overpriced, it's as basic as a room can get.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localisation

Disliked: cleanless

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a kitchenette in our room so we made breakfast each day and dinner one night which saved money, rooms were comfortably sized and we had a small terrace which was nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is central and close to metro stations

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010

Liked: The location literally steps from the Oberkampf metro and near the Republique square was great. That is the only good thing about this hotel.

Disliked: We woke up after staying the night at this sketchy hotel to find bed bugs crawling over our bed. They left huge welts that are still itching days later. As for the room itself, the carpet was old and stained, the bathroom smelt ridiculously musty, and the shower was moldy. Need I say anything more?

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and central. Morning coffee was fantastic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

COLIN LOVELL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 COLIN would recommend this property

Liked: £20 a night, easy access to local metro station,

Disliked: need s a make over, just about as basic as you can get, rooms are drab and beds very basic, electric sockets hanging off and bathroom crabby but its 20 quid anight so what do you expect

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brenda Hubner

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 August 2010 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient and open 24 hours. The staff was very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and close to metro. However the hallway was very smokey, if you left your room door open your room would get the smell. Otherwise the room is what you would expect for the price in Paris.

Disliked: Smokey hallway was unacceptable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location :)

Disliked: Shower was tiny


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels