We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Voltaire Republique

2 star Hotel | 10 Boulevard Voltaire, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

67.9% Overall Rating

374 out of 488 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

Durgesh Kawale thinks…

"The location is really central. The metro station, Velib and Autolib locations are all within 1 minute walk."

Read all Hotel Voltaire Republique reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

“The property may charge your credit card – not systematically – with the amount of the first night in order to ensure the validity of your guarantee“ “In case of failure, your booking will not be kept and you will be informed by email” Please Note: We will pre-authorise the first night stay on your creditcard after booking. The amount is not charged on your credit card but stuck to cover any cancellation fees out of time Can you please check with your bank to see if the amount is back on your account.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Mary's Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.7% 70 reviews
Absolute Paris Boutique Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 77.7% 710 reviews
Picard Hotel
48.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Paris Bruxelles 2*
50.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 9 reviews
Hotel Majestic Paris
47.44 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 91.2% 12 reviews
Hotel Saint Sebastien
32.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 1000 reviews
Hôtel de Nemours
59.08 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Soft Paris
79.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.9%

Overall Rating

374 out of 488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Voltaire Republique'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
70.4%
Value
69.6%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 318 of 453 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Republique so you can get to the center of Paris relatively quickly. The rooms were adequate size and the bathrooms ok. I knew beforehand this would not be the Ritz but I did expect better conditions. I've slept in nicer youth hostels than this hotel.

Disliked: The bathroom had a weird odor the whole time and no clue what it was. There was no shower curtain so water just gets everywhere. They advertise internet, it is far from free but there are (unfortunately) two Mc'Donald's within walking distance that always have free wifi. Our room also did not have an alarm clock. It was okay for what it was, a cheap hotel kind of outside the city. It was easy enough to get to and always felt pretty safe even one night after we missed the last subway and got home after 3am. If you just need a cheap(ish) place to stay, its not bad, but definitely worse than advertised.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lawton Burgstahler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011

Liked: It had a TV in the room....

Disliked: It was dirty and there was no air conditioning. It was a very small room for three people.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011

Liked: Proximity to Place Republique and Republique station

Disliked: Unsafe walking up and down stairs (no lighting), towels were not changed daily or even every second day, "twin" beds were really half a queen bed (ie. they zip up to form a queen) so they were difficult to sleep on initially, French pillows (I'm not sure if this is normal in France but the pillows were half the width of a normal pillow), wifi internet was unstable at times (annoying when you have to pay to access it).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Signe Ballew

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Signe would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very nice, and the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing it was all wonderful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good, it´s quite close to the Bastille, Notre Dame and the Louvre museum. There is a supermarket really close to the hotel where you can do your daily shoppings.

Disliked: The cleanliness was a little bit lacking, but the room wasn´t dirty at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was easy to get to from the airports. My friend came in from one and I from another and because there are so many metro and bus lines nearby, it's hard to get lost. All of the desk staff spoke English so there weren't any language barriers and they were all extremely nice. We were able to work out a pay arrangement since my friend and I came in at different times the day we arrived in Paris. Lots of nice restaurants nearby, some are pricier than others, but well worth it. If you could manage it, everything was walkable from the hotel. The Eiffel Tour was about 1h30 from the hotel, but there was a Metro nearby that brought you to the tower.

Disliked: I didn't like that you couldn't keep your key. You gave it to the hotel staff when you left and then picked it up again when you returned, but that was okay because there were never any issues requesting the key.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 April 2011

Liked: great location,very close to the metro station and restaurants,shops etc.also in good price.very friendly people in the reception desk.

Disliked: very very very dirty.and old.and unsafe because of the old age.and the elevator fits only one person!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing

Disliked: Right on the main road so traffic loud at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful reception staff. Room 55 has a great balcony and glorious street view.

Disliked: All good, though shower curtain was the kind that sticks to you when showering in the compact shower. Hardly a major issue though - I'd recommend Hotel Voltaire to anyone. Great location, value for money budget accommodation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, as it was a walking distance to the center and there were several metro lines going from Republique. The room was small but cosy.

Disliked: There were some misunderstandings before arrival as the hotel customer service didn't speak English that well and it was at times hard to understand their emails. But when we got their the service was excellent!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a tidy and a spacious room

Disliked: a bit far from the center, though the distance is walkable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really cheap, the location is very good. Just a few steps away from the metro. The staff is honest, candid and helpful..

Disliked: They should probably get nicer sheets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: not very clean, smallest elevator in the world

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overwhelmingly the best thing about this hotel was the staff. My friends and I found them to be very helpful and flexible whenever we needed anything.

Disliked: The only real issue that we had at this hotel was that the room we stayed in the first night had bed bugs, which was obviously a big problem. However, we informed the staff the next morning and they immediately gave us a new room and we saw that they also fumigated the room right away.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: No helpfulness of the staff

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Laura Penttinen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 December 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was rather cheap and the location is really good if planning on spending time in bastille area.

Disliked: The room was really smelly when we came on the first night. It was really discusting on the first night when you are trying to sleep and your pillow smells like cigarette buts. After couple of nights it seemed to get better but really bad in the beginning. Rooms were really noisy and the towels were not changed at any point of our stay (Stayed there 3 days). I was there with a friend and we only slept there so it was ok but I could only recommend it to you if your plan is to party in Paris. Honestly for anything else go somewhere else! The rooms are in definite need for renovation. I have stayed in Paris many times before and this was the worst so far even though it was not the least that I hae spent.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. We got a double room and were very comfortable- I mean, since we were out all day, we only really needed a nice bed and having our own bathroom was great. It was a simple check-in, check-out process.

Disliked: They didn't ask for our ID when we asked for our key each time we came back (you have to give your key to the desk each time you leave), which made us wary-anybody could just go to our room. Also, the water in the shower was pretty cold and the internet was slow, but that's not really a big deal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Sam Collins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you don't want to be in a touristy area and want to see a real bit of Paris, full of restaurants and bars.

Disliked: Really overpriced, it's as basic as a room can get.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localisation

Disliked: cleanless

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a kitchenette in our room so we made breakfast each day and dinner one night which saved money, rooms were comfortably sized and we had a small terrace which was nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is central and close to metro stations

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010

Liked: The location literally steps from the Oberkampf metro and near the Republique square was great. That is the only good thing about this hotel.

Disliked: We woke up after staying the night at this sketchy hotel to find bed bugs crawling over our bed. They left huge welts that are still itching days later. As for the room itself, the carpet was old and stained, the bathroom smelt ridiculously musty, and the shower was moldy. Need I say anything more?

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and central. Morning coffee was fantastic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels