HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel des Arts

1 star Hotel | 18 Rue de Rochechouart, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75009

58.6% Overall Rating

57 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/06/2014)

Neil Watson thinks…

"It had a lot of character. Despite being near the Barbes area, I didn't feel threatened at all, despite being out late at night. The staff were kind enough to look after one case for me when I went…"

Read all Hotel des Arts reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.1% 27 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
29.10 USD

Hostel 79.5% 1197 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
26.57 USD

Hostel 78.6% 925 reviews
Hotel Riviera
45.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Hotel le Faubourg
50.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 187 reviews
Vintage Hostel & Budget Hotel
29.03 USD

Hostel 79.8% 1819 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel
27.77 USD

Hostel 81.6% 2681 reviews
Hotel Rex Comprador
43.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.9% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.6%

Overall Rating

57 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel des Arts'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
58.4%
Value
61.6%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 108 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2011

Liked: Nothing!!!

Disliked: Very old and dirty!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, central but quiet. I think it has character and I was happy to live there, a good bed and nice warm water in the shower. it was clear that they really tried to keep it clean though everything was old. Staff spoke a little english and tried to help. Internet in the reception aria

Disliked: it's VERY old, all textiles are very used and torn - but clean. It smelled a bit funny but not to bad. No security lockers and easy to walk pass the reception unnoticed but I had to leave my key everyday- wasn't allowed to bring it. No toilet in the room, but shower(?!). Internetroom looked like a storage room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place!

Disliked: There is no the lift, some rooms very small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Jedrzejewska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: I have to agree with other travellers - smell

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Wifi internet doesn´t work...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Xiang Yan Pok

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Xiang Yan would recommend this property

Liked: the room is dirty and smelly oh gosh but the staff is nice

Disliked: the room is dirty and smelly oh gosh but the staff is nice

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to Gare Du Nord Station for the Eurostar

Disliked: The bed was not overly comforatble and the room was quite bare.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gave all the basic necessities. Hot water, warm room, and clean.

Disliked: Could have done with a kettle.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 November 2010

Liked: good location

Disliked: The room smelled of cigarettes, I found a spider, the bathroom was 4 floors below me. I did not really enjoy it and ended up actually sleeping there one night even though I had booked two.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2010

Liked: Clean and reasonable prices

Disliked: Toilets are VERY small (but clean). Bathroom not on the same floor, and shower was not ok. No curtain and no clamp to hold the shower head (could not be many €'s).

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 September 2010

Liked: The location is the only good thing this hotel has going for it....

Disliked: HATED EVERYTHING! The staff were so unhelpful and unapologetic when they overbooked the hotel and made us go to another hotel down the street.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alina Bytchkova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010

Liked: It was the cheapest one we could find.

Disliked: Sketchy inside the hotel, loud at night, no toilet in the room, very bright outside the hotel due to large neon signs, outside sheets had stains on them from never being washed, and the toilet on our floor had no toilet paper for the time we were there.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Fabio Capelli

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

17 August 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of cleanliness most of all.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2010

Liked: the location is good

Disliked: the cockroaches and hole-ridden linnens...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

erica tweddle

Alone

City break

19 July 2010

Liked: Location was close to Montmatre.Not far from Metro.

Disliked: Unsafe electrics.Filthy bathrooms.Staff phoning room late at night to invite me 'for a drink'.Continued even after I had politely,then less politely,refused.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2010

Liked: THE DAY I LEFT

Disliked: JUST EVERYTHING!!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 June 2010

Liked: it is near the metro station cadet and not so far from gare de Lyon and montmartre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2010

Liked: Its near Gare du Nord and Gare le Est. and that was the reason i booked the place. I believe it's cheap for 43 euro per night but you get what you pay for. The place tends tpo maximize the sapce and the WC per floor is so narrow that width of the WC is the width of the WC room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is fine for budget travellers who don't expect any luxury. The location is amazing, on a narrow street full of old buildings, with lots of great bars, cafes, etc. a stone's throw away, a good Internet shop right across the road, and very close to Cadet metro (3 mins). The room was adequate and was cleaned daily. It's probably better if you book an ensuite room, as the sole shared bathroom is on one floor of a 5-storey building!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Ignacio Marquez

18 April 2010 Juan Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, clean and well serviced.Not a nice area of Paris but close to the city.The staff didn't speak english as it best but it was ok.

Disliked: Juan Ignacio left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

15 April 2010

Liked: nothing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

12 April 2010

Liked: good location close to a metro station, close to tgv station gare de l'est.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good room for this price, safe neighborhood, shops, bars, restaurants nearby. I think i will come back in this hotel again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

DANIJELA RASIC

21 March 2010 DANIJELA would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. I didn't like dirty carpet. Toilets and showers are clean.

Disliked: DANIJELA left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 February 2010

Liked: We had an alright time here, but it really had little to do with the hostel. The room we were given was on the fifth floor and every trip up the winding stairs was a killer (this is AFTER having lived on the third floor in an Amsterdam apartment and happily navigating the typical Amsterdam stairs there). The room stank unbelievably bad of stagnant water and while airing out the room did help... letting the cold winter air in was the sacrifice we paid for it. On the bed, instead of pillows there was one very hard bolster-type "pillow". Ouch. There was wi-fi and it was free (yay), but it was only available on the ground floor and the first floor (boo). When asked about using the wifi, the front desk manager was very helpful, opening a side room for us and clearing a couple of tables for our use. There's a couple great bakeries across the road and around the corner, as well as a Carrefour (supermarket). I'd recommend them. On the other hand, there's a pizza place next door (Andiamo)... not good... really not good. A metro station is conveniently located (Cadet) down the road and the Gare du Nord and Gare de L'Est are about 10-15 minutes away on foot. The Montmarte and Sacre Coeur are close by, as are many restaurants and cafes (and the red light district - didn't know that before we arrived!). We booked this place because it was a very last minute trip and there was little in the way of choice. Would we stay here again? Yes... but not if we had another option.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels