HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hotel des Arts

Hotel

18 Rue de Rochechouart, Paris, France

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 42%

Location 87%

Safety 63%

Staff 62%

Value 65%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Parking
  • Telephone Fax Facilities

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 42%

Location 87%

Safety 63%

Staff 62%

Value 65%

Showing 11-14 of 14 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only location

Disliked: Rooms are too small, not clean and smell bad

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very helpful at the reception when I arrived :)

Disliked: Not the best looking room, very basic, but clean.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location was cool and the staff were great. The wash basin in the room was usefull.

Disliked: I was in a room on the top floor, the shower was on the second floor, When i did take a shower there was a very large amount of hair in the hand basin, the shower had no shower curtain and there was no where to put the shower head, i.e attachmet to wall, silly minor things but for £110 for two nights, i expected a bit better. The slats that were underneath my matress were not secure, so when i woke up or sometimes sat on the bed it dipped right in the middle.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The position was great and great price. If you're not looking for luxury it is a great option, especially with the character like the steep winding staircase. You wouldn't want to stay particularly long if you were on a higher floor. Our cheap room probably gave us this privilege although we also got a fairly rickety balcony which we would have made more use of if we'd stayed longer.

Disliked: The drain in our bathroom stank. We had to keep the door shut and the plug in. This was horrendous (another reason we'd make more use of the balcony if we stayed longer). Personally didn't mind but there is no lift so the staircase would be an issue for some.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The cleaning lady was very kind and helpful

Disliked: The manager is a disgrace. He moved my room without my knowledge then he told me he had my belongings put into Room 31 because this was a smaller room and they had given me a bigger room by mistake. I went up 6 flights of stairs only to find no belongings. I went down to the manager to complain. It took them 30 minutes to find which room my belongings had been taken to. They could not reach the maid. No apology he just blamed the maid. I then went to room 21 only to find the water was not working. The communal shower was 2 floors down and there was no toilet seat. The manager said I was a difficult customer! I spoke with the maid the next day, she apologized for her manager said he was a tyrant and horrible to work for. I speak fluent French by the way so there was no language misubderstanding. When you enter the property you hcan see the manager in the room behind the front desk, sprawled out under a blanket on the couch watching T.V. He then comes to the front desk like you are bothering him and acts like a dictator. Has no clue what customer service is

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location

Disliked: Didn't have correct information of our booking, just assumed, the second man was very smelly and was not very polite, room had holes around the floor skirting, sheets and bed cover had holes and stains, pillow didn't even have proper cover on it. floor uneven, No escalator (can't remember if it's on the description or not), shared toilet misused by others and therefore not able to be used by us, had to ring and ring and ring for the guy to let us in after hours, and worst of all, had electric shocks from the shower and taps when the hot water was on. We told the people, but they looked at us like we were crazy, NOT safe at all.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: + Location+ I liked the pink toilet paper

Disliked: - When we arrived the staff in the reception was wearing a t-shirt with tomato sauce all over it.- The smell- The toilet- The shower, everything was dirty- Way to expensive- No elevator, a lot of stairs

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Very good value for money. The location is central. We could walk and Velib-cycle to anywhere interesting in Paris and never entered the Metro. The building is, naturally, old, but well kept and clean. During our stay they were redecorating and our room had new wall paper. There is a toilet on any floor, and with some five rooms or so per floor, this is no problem. We got a room in the fifth floor (spiral starcase, no elevator), with a tiny balcony (sufficient to hold two chairs but not a table), a private douche and two electric sockets. The place is open 24 hours a day. We returned after midnight and were always promptly admitted. Since we only used the hotel for sleeping and spent the entire days sightseeing and visiting, we have found this place an excellent value for money.

Disliked: The stuff does not speak fluent English, or none at all (but was willing to help).

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: You pay what you get. It's close to the metro and about 10 minutes fast walking to the Gare du Nord.

Disliked: It's noisy at night. There is only one shared bathroom which is clean but quite old and only has a bath with a shower head adaptor.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The guy at the desk was funny, and the location was great.

Disliked: They didn't clean our room, change towels or take out the trash.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability