HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel des Arts

1 star Hotel | 18 Rue de Rochechouart, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75009

53.9% Overall Rating

51 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2013)

Kieron Howland thinks…

"The position was great and great price. If you're not looking for luxury it is a great option, especially with the character like the steep winding staircase. You wouldn't want to stay particularly…"

Read all Hotel des Arts reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
75.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 26 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
34.53 USD

Hostel 80.7% 1127 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
35.84 USD

Hostel 81.4% 902 reviews
Hotel Riviera
68.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Hotel le Faubourg
58.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.8% 185 reviews
Vintage Boutique Hostel
26.17 USD

Hostel 76.3% 1767 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre
27.55 USD

Hostel 82.4% 2599 reviews
Hotel Rex Comprador
47.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 99 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.9%

Overall Rating

51 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel des Arts'

Atmosphere
46.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
36.0%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
52.0%
Value
53.6%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 102 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fine overall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Markéta Kopecká

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2012 Markéta would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff were helpful and kind- more than I expected. And location was great.

Disliked: The rooms should be cleaner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kayleigh Tremaine

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Kayleigh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was very cheap for a three bed private room. It was quiet and in a very good location. It was clean and good for a quick stopover. If you need a bed and a bathroom and somewhere to put your baggage then this is great.

Disliked: Kayleigh left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sumeyra Coskun

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: The staff

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

04 October 2011

Liked: It was available on a very busy night. That and the location.

Disliked: Everything else. The room was extremely noisy and SMELLY.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

02 October 2011

Liked: shower was very good, and the view was beautiful.

Disliked: Customer service was not very good, more friendly staff would have been nicer. I had a feeling the receptionist was always angry and that I was not welcome there at all. The doors where locked after 12am till 7am, which was not helpful at all, i had to work from 6:30am till 1am and it was a pain to leave the hotel and then to get back in. I was basically a prisoner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dana Fallon

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 September 2011 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: For the cheap price I was half expecting something broken down and dirty, but the place was pretty well kept and clean. I was pleased to find a shower in our room, but not all rooms have them so there's also a communal shower down the hall. And yes the shower is hand-held, but if you've been to France so are about 95% of the showers anywhere in the coutry. The staff seemed a little stand-offish at first but once you talk to them they're actually very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The room was very small, but it had a big bed and that was enough. No toilet in the room, but it was just right down the hall. The hotel was also fairly noisy, in that the walls are thin and you can hear just about everything going on in the hallway/stairs and some neighboring rooms, so if you're really big on privacy then you might want to abstain. But for a hostel, and one as cheap as it was, I was very satisfied with what I got for my money and it was a good place to crash after a long day of walking around Paris.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011

Liked: Newly renovated bathrooms and a fairly good location

Disliked: the hotel states on the site that 'Once you arrive at the reception, there's a cozy and artistic atmosphere, it is almost like a real "Parisian Titi"! You will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and knowledgeable reception staff.' This is the exact opposite of what I experience. The reception was dark and stuffy. The reptionist himself was not helpful at all getting confused with how much was owed on the room. The only knowledge he seemed to give during the three nights I was there was where there was an ATM.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Balint Nagy

Alone

City break

10 August 2011

Liked: the location only

Disliked: attitude of the receptionist was rather dissapointing,check-in was almost non-existent,informations were not given at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enough good for that price

Disliked: small rooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Quite dirty, dark and moist room, no lifts for rooms in the higher up floors and the tiny spiral staircase makes it hard to get your luggage up - more annoying when you just get back from 1 day of walking and sightseeing and have to climb 5 floors worth of stairs! The staff is reasonably friendly, but they don't really understand english.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011

Liked: Nothing other than I was desperate and needed a room to stay in for a night in Paris.

Disliked: This place was a total dive. The room is miniscule which is fine for Paris, but it was so unclean, I was staying on the 4th floor but the ''shower'' was on the 2nd floor. It was a big pink bathtub with a long shower head that didn't actually attach to the wall so you had to hold it the whole time to shower. There was a ladder and some plaster laying in the bathroom, you weren't sure if it was a storage closet or a bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Room was clean and bed was comfy.

Disliked: Staff were not hospitable and shower was hand held.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old

Disliked: No elevator

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Karl Petersen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap for the location.

Disliked: The bathroom was not in the room and was tiny.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location- near the Cadet Metro, not far from the eurostar station (Grand du Nord) and lots of patisseries and places for coffee.

Disliked: Not the warmest of staff but perhaps it would have helped if we had spoken more French.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: wifi only in the lobby. the shower and wash basin was in the room, but the toilet was in a common area. it's weird!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. Rooms are very small. Staff is not friendly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was new and had a window.

Disliked: There was mould in the room and the bathroom as well. The furniture was old and broken.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011

Liked: Polite recepsionist

Disliked: Everything, Mainly the bathrooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: conditions

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2011

Liked: Nothing!!!

Disliked: Very old and dirty!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, central but quiet. I think it has character and I was happy to live there, a good bed and nice warm water in the shower. it was clear that they really tried to keep it clean though everything was old. Staff spoke a little english and tried to help. Internet in the reception aria

Disliked: it's VERY old, all textiles are very used and torn - but clean. It smelled a bit funny but not to bad. No security lockers and easy to walk pass the reception unnoticed but I had to leave my key everyday- wasn't allowed to bring it. No toilet in the room, but shower(?!). Internetroom looked like a storage room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place!

Disliked: There is no the lift, some rooms very small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Jedrzejewska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: I have to agree with other travellers - smell


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels