We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel des Arts

1 star Hotel | 18 Rue de Rochechouart, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75009

56.6% Overall Rating

57 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/06/2014)

Neil Watson thinks…

"It had a lot of character. Despite being near the Barbes area, I didn't feel threatened at all, despite being out late at night. The staff were kind enough to look after one case for me when I went…"

Read all Hotel des Arts reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.1% 27 reviews
Perfect Hotel and Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 81.4% 1199 reviews
Woodstock Hostel
25.24 USD

Hostel 79.7% 926 reviews
Hotel Riviera
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 22 reviews
Hotel le Faubourg
41.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 187 reviews
Vintage Hostel & Budget Hotel
27.77 USD

Hostel 80.2% 1821 reviews
Le Regent Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel
25.24 USD

Hostel 81.6% 2681 reviews
Le Village Hostel & Budget Hotel
30.30 USD

Hostel 85.4% 1528 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.6%

Overall Rating

57 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel des Arts'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
56.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 109 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 April 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Is the worst hostel I have been

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and great price.

Disliked: Towels and linens were old, but CLEAN. This place is not for the timid, but if you are looking for a dirt cheap place in a good location this is it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

achchanika tothong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 achchanika would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and situated in the nice neighborhood/location. If you can overlook the fact that it's not so clean, it's pretty convenient.

Disliked: It's not so clean. The towel & bedsheet...seem like a 2-decade old.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marko Seppälä

Alone

City break

29 March 2012 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: For the first, happy to be in Paris in a single room for this price. Considering that point you can easily forgive little faults, because the view to the street is nice and you wil sleep well.

Disliked: As I said one must keep in mind the unique atmosphere of Paris what you get for this price: anywhere else you would probably hate that there is no elevator and your room is on the fifth floor and there is very little space in this little hotel anywhere, but you will feel that you are staying in PARIS!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Pretty good location and for Paris we felt it was good value. The hotel itself was a bit run down but the bathroom and toilet were super clean, a major bonus in my book! I can't speak highly enough of the cleanliness. The rooms themselves weren't highly soundproofed internally (although we were only woken up once) but the external soundproofing was excellent! You could barely hear the outside noises. Also, whilst we had to share the toilet with those on our floor, we had our own shower which was great!

Disliked: Not sure if the owners review this but if you do, you might want to think about more than one roll of toilet paper in the bathroom, the roll runs out long before housekeeping replaces it. Also, soap is a must for toilet and bathrooms. We had to go to the supermarket and buy our own just so we could wash our hands. The towels were a bit threadbare and one of ours was actually ripped and frayed around the edges.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fine overall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Markéta Kopecká

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2012 Markéta would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff were helpful and kind- more than I expected. And location was great.

Disliked: The rooms should be cleaner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kayleigh Tremaine

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Kayleigh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was very cheap for a three bed private room. It was quiet and in a very good location. It was clean and good for a quick stopover. If you need a bed and a bathroom and somewhere to put your baggage then this is great.

Disliked: Kayleigh left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sumeyra Coskun

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: The staff

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

04 October 2011

Liked: It was available on a very busy night. That and the location.

Disliked: Everything else. The room was extremely noisy and SMELLY.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

02 October 2011

Liked: shower was very good, and the view was beautiful.

Disliked: Customer service was not very good, more friendly staff would have been nicer. I had a feeling the receptionist was always angry and that I was not welcome there at all. The doors where locked after 12am till 7am, which was not helpful at all, i had to work from 6:30am till 1am and it was a pain to leave the hotel and then to get back in. I was basically a prisoner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dana Fallon

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 September 2011 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: For the cheap price I was half expecting something broken down and dirty, but the place was pretty well kept and clean. I was pleased to find a shower in our room, but not all rooms have them so there's also a communal shower down the hall. And yes the shower is hand-held, but if you've been to France so are about 95% of the showers anywhere in the coutry. The staff seemed a little stand-offish at first but once you talk to them they're actually very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The room was very small, but it had a big bed and that was enough. No toilet in the room, but it was just right down the hall. The hotel was also fairly noisy, in that the walls are thin and you can hear just about everything going on in the hallway/stairs and some neighboring rooms, so if you're really big on privacy then you might want to abstain. But for a hostel, and one as cheap as it was, I was very satisfied with what I got for my money and it was a good place to crash after a long day of walking around Paris.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011

Liked: Newly renovated bathrooms and a fairly good location

Disliked: the hotel states on the site that 'Once you arrive at the reception, there's a cozy and artistic atmosphere, it is almost like a real "Parisian Titi"! You will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and knowledgeable reception staff.' This is the exact opposite of what I experience. The reception was dark and stuffy. The reptionist himself was not helpful at all getting confused with how much was owed on the room. The only knowledge he seemed to give during the three nights I was there was where there was an ATM.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Balint Nagy

Alone

City break

10 August 2011

Liked: the location only

Disliked: attitude of the receptionist was rather dissapointing,check-in was almost non-existent,informations were not given at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enough good for that price

Disliked: small rooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Quite dirty, dark and moist room, no lifts for rooms in the higher up floors and the tiny spiral staircase makes it hard to get your luggage up - more annoying when you just get back from 1 day of walking and sightseeing and have to climb 5 floors worth of stairs! The staff is reasonably friendly, but they don't really understand english.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011

Liked: Nothing other than I was desperate and needed a room to stay in for a night in Paris.

Disliked: This place was a total dive. The room is miniscule which is fine for Paris, but it was so unclean, I was staying on the 4th floor but the ''shower'' was on the 2nd floor. It was a big pink bathtub with a long shower head that didn't actually attach to the wall so you had to hold it the whole time to shower. There was a ladder and some plaster laying in the bathroom, you weren't sure if it was a storage closet or a bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Room was clean and bed was comfy.

Disliked: Staff were not hospitable and shower was hand held.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old

Disliked: No elevator

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Karl Petersen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap for the location.

Disliked: The bathroom was not in the room and was tiny.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location- near the Cadet Metro, not far from the eurostar station (Grand du Nord) and lots of patisseries and places for coffee.

Disliked: Not the warmest of staff but perhaps it would have helped if we had spoken more French.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: wifi only in the lobby. the shower and wash basin was in the room, but the toilet was in a common area. it's weird!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. Rooms are very small. Staff is not friendly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was new and had a window.

Disliked: There was mould in the room and the bathroom as well. The furniture was old and broken.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011

Liked: Polite recepsionist

Disliked: Everything, Mainly the bathrooms


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels