HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Armstrong

2 star Hotel | 36 Rue de la Croix Saint Simon, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75020

81.6% Overall Rating

365 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

Zuzana Mareckova thinks…

"- low price - clean and safe room - not so far from the historical center - really close to the metro station - helpful and kind, english speaking stuff - possibility of dropping luggage to a…"

Read all Hotel Armstrong reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hipotel Paris Printania
64.27 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Charma
42.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.5% 37 reviews
Hotel Ermitage
36.15 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.5% 318 reviews
Hotel Belfort
40.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 827 reviews
Hôtel Les Chansonniers
29.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 23 reviews
Hotel des Arts
42.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 528 reviews
Apartments Père Lachaise
34.82 USD

Apartment 85.7% 102 reviews
Hotel Richard
26.78 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.6% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

365 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Armstrong'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 297 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jens larsson

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 April 2014 jens would recommend this property

Liked: i love how it was so close to the metro and it took us a very short time to get to Paris. The receptionists were very helpful and patient when we asked for directions and help with getting around.

Disliked: The only negative thing was how thin the walls were. i could literally hear the person next door pee! it's okay tough it was no big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Mendoza

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 April 2014 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and were happy to help. The hotel is located close to Gare de Lyon which was convenient for us.

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly.

Disliked: It said it was near the Bastille but actually quite a long way from there. Not too far out though but just not where thought was going to be.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pratik Borhade

Alone

Business / conference

07 October 2013 Pratik would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people. 24 hrs open.

Disliked: i am not so used to keep the hotel key at the reception and get it back just giving the number.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Huxtable

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The room suited our needs - clean and tidy.

Disliked: Price of breakfast seemed expensive for what you got. Location allowed reasonable access via subway but was a bit out of the way and was in a rather deprived area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a really nice hotel, with neat, very clean, modern and comfortable rooms. Despite being a hotel and not a hostel, it has nice common areas downstairs- couches, a free pool table, free hot drinks, maps, computers, a bar and lots of tables and chairs to sit at. The staff were polite and helpful, they will print documents for you, give recommendations on anything you ask, and just generally make you feel welcome. Its a very short walk from the metro station- about 2 min- on the same line (although a long ride) away from the Eiffel Tower, and the metro is cheap and easy to get anywhere else in the city. There are a number of places to get food nearby. If you value a high standard of room rather than being right in amongst the action, then this is a great choice.

Disliked: For the price, you do have to sacrifice something, and what you sacrifice here are a couple of 30-40min metro rides each day getting to and from the centre of Paris to see the sights. I think that is very worthwhile though, rather than be staying in a place that was dirty, unsafe or just a dorm bed rather than my own room in the centre of town. I stayed at the end of July to start of August and it was very hot in the rooms overnight- there was no cooling in the room. For the first 24hours of my stay, there was no wifi up in the rooms. Not a big problem, as there were lots of places to sit downstairs and use the wifi. For the last few days of my stay I did have wifi upstairs (sometimes slow though) so not sure what was happening with it...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexander Mackay

Alone

Events / festivals

26 June 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel has very helpful staff - the rooms though small are quite comfortable and modern - the metro is a 2 min walk away - the internet was good and breakfast though not included was good value

Disliked: Not the best part of town but for the price can't complain on location. Only down side was though they cleaned the room and made the bed every day there was mold in the shower - nothing a bit of bleach could not fix.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was comfy, clean, maybe a bit too warm. Other people have complained about how tiny the rooms are... I would say that's pretty standard for Paris. The staff were pleasant enough and the metro was really close. This is about as cheap as it gets for a clean room in Paris.

Disliked: The neighbourhood was a bit dodgy and a bit far out. I've travelled to much dodgier places so I was all right with it but I can imagine that other women travelling alone would not feel safe. The walls were really thin so I could hear the couple next door chattering away, but I sorted it out with some headphones.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ABD RASHID MOHD YUSOFF

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 ABD RASHID would recommend this property

Liked: Room was excellent, internet was ok, staff was helpful, safe area

Disliked: A bit far from the town

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 April 2012

Liked: It wasvey cheap - 40 GBP per head fo two in a room. Near metro station.

Disliked: Room was described as a twn but beds were set in an unmovable double position. Window didnt shut so room was freezing. Shower / bathroom wasn't in great condition Location wasn't great, but at that price can't complain.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price: It is cheaper w.r.t. majority of hotels in Paris.

Disliked: The location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Lee

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and tidy. Felt very safe. Free internet and free hot drinks. Close to McDonald's (which does a double-burger deal which i have not seen anywhere else in paris, and does the best potato wedges) and other eateries. also has a pharmacy and a supermarket close-by. It's very close to a Zone 1 metro station. Very cheap considering the quality of the hotel and the services provided.

Disliked: a bit far from the city centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Internet terminals, the helpful staff who were fluent in English, and the cleanliness of the rooms.

Disliked: The distance from the hostel to central Paris.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Einsiedler

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: C´mon folks... Can´t understand all this ratings. We really enjoyed our stay for a clean and safe hotel which is of course not super close to all the sightseeing places but easy to reach in a good time. Stuff nice and always friendly and willed to help you straight away. It takes you about 15-20 min to the centre, is not too far to walk (1hour) or about 30 min bike trip along the Saine. Not the right place if you are party people but for everybody else it is perfect and cheap place for a weekend stay.

Disliked: There is nothing really I did not like. Ok, it isn´t right in the centre but therefore I only paid 30€ per night. So that fits too...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, close to metro stop!! nice small quiet hotel, if you want a relaxing break from hostels this is great.

Disliked: only problem was there were no shower curtains and the walls were thin, expensive 8 euro breakfast, there is a sauna for 10 euro an hour.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff, speak french and english with ease, affordable, each room has its own bathroom with shower.

Disliked: the location is far from the sites (still in zone 1 of transit but most sites are on the other side of the city), the rooms are pretty small and not well lit.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and save. Wi-Fi, TV in rooms. Free use of computers and free morning coffee in the lounge.

Disliked: Because it's at hotel and not a hostel there was no hostel feeling. It's located a little bit apart from the center but all in all it was good for the price.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very clean and it took us just 15 minutes to the city center! we dont understand why it is just a two star hotel!

Disliked: the double room was a little bit to small!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: small rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near Zone 1 Metro Station (about 3 mins walk) - making transportation into city centre cheap. There is a good supermarket nearby (6 mins walk) that allows you to stock up on food and essentials.

Disliked: The shower is small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Hicks

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I had plenty of room for one person and it had great views out the window! I was traveling by myself and felt it was a very safe neighborhood and was in easy walking distance of the Metro. Great restaurants and bakeries down the street and a very nice staff! I would stay there again when going through Paris!

Disliked: I do not think the breakfast is worth €9.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011

Liked: The accommodation had a neat and tidy room with everything that you needed and the hotel itself was nice.

Disliked: It was way too far out of the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 2 min walk to nearest metro. good clean toilets. clean rooms. tv in room. 24 hr desk.

Disliked: not much to not like in terms of what you expect from a hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amy Moorcroft

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 June 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception - so if you get lost, there's no worry about getting in whenever this may happen.

Disliked: I lost it easily, and I'm a person who rarely loses things. Needs more signs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was wonderful! Rooms clean and comfortable. Liked the computers in the dining area.

Disliked: Traffic and construction noise was bothersome.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels