HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Altona

2 star Hotel | 166 rue du Faubourg, Poissonniere, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

70.7% Overall Rating

177 out of 230 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/05/2013)

Muhammad Khairin Mohd Kassim thinks…

"This place is near to Eurostar station to London and is main reason why I stay here. The metro station is nearby as well and not difficult to nagivate around it."

Read all Hotel Altona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Soft Paris
86.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St Christopher's Gare du Nord
30.37 USD

Hostel 88.5% 241 reviews
La Vieille France
73.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 5 reviews
Hotel Aris Nord
48.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 42 reviews
Central Hotel
66.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.4% 53 reviews
Hotel Paris Bruxelles 2*
62.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 9 reviews
Peace and Love Hostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 70.7% 960 reviews
Hotel de Bellevue
47.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.3% 80 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

177 out of 230 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Altona'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 204 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moeko Tajima

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

03 January 2014 Moeko would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the staff was helpfull.

Disliked: Not very spacious, the room, corridors, bathroom all very small. Very bad wireless connection in the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Muhammad Khairin Mohd Kassim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

31 May 2013 Muhammad Khairin would recommend this property

Liked: This place is near to Eurostar station to London and is main reason why I stay here. The metro station is nearby as well and not difficult to nagivate around it.

Disliked: I am not being bias but honestly the area are full of begger and not really that clean. It is not the hotel's fault but just a feedback for others who intend to stay in this area/hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Krycha

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

20 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, simple and good breakfast, great location, very nice bathroom in the room, it was possible to leave luggage at reception after checkout, quiet location (even though walls are thin), communication in English was not a problem.

Disliked: Shower drain was stuck, wifi is problematic, cards that work as room keys are old and malfunctional.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012

Liked: Nothing, horrible!!!

Disliked: unsafe, dishonest, crapped,horrible, try to overcharge. Definitely, won't book in the future!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to the train stations and a metro station. Quite clean and well kept.

Disliked: The pillows on the beds were enormous and very uncomfortable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good. Baguette and croissants along with tea and coffee.

Disliked: The walls were paper thin. You could hear a pin drop in next doors room! Toilet was tiny and didn't have a holder for the shower head. My hand had to do.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: me gusto todo

Disliked: no hubo nada que no me gustara

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Julia Mewes

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 October 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to a metro station. W-LAN available. Good shower.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, close to metro

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, great value for money, is close to the metro station and a few shopping and dinner areas.

Disliked: the ambient in the Hotel is not the best, but like I say before great staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nishant Jain

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Nishant would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms equipped with towels and toiletries. The hotel is located close to a metro station which makes the rest of the city very accessible to tourists.

Disliked: Nishant left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: We didn't get to stay at Hotel Altona because they had over-booked. The guy at reception ignored us and was rude. They moved us to their friends "3 Star" hotel, which was disappointing. I wouldn't recommend attempting to stay at Hotel Altona simply for the hassle it created when we were looking for a relaxing holiday.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Was told breakfast was from 6am onwards (we were leaving early so this was good) only to go down at 6am to find it was 7am ... but they quickly sorted something out for us so we could leave by 6.30am.

Disliked: Wifi not secure. Cold shower in the morning ... perhaps they only turn hot water on after a certain time as it was hot the night before. Shower broken (head not fitted on leant against wall). For some reason after we checked in and deposited our belongings (closing the windows while we went out into Paris) someone must have come in our room as our towels were gone when we got back and the window open ... not really any reason for anyone to enter the room straight after check in. Also payment balance was taken I don't know when without our consent / permission as when we checked in we asked to pay the balance as we intended on paying in cash the rest of it only to be told the room had already been paid?! Days later found the amount missing from credit card deposit was paid on.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2012

Liked: Location is the only advantage.

Disliked: See above.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to the metro station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Silvan Küttel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012 Silvan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: Around the hotel is it a bit dirty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Hunt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Plain and simple, with good quality linen, bathroom, breakfast facilities, and extremely helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Pinese

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It's like being at home..

Disliked: Antonio left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff were always very friendly and helpful! Good breakfast included as well.

Disliked: Did not send us directions from the train station in advance - made it very confusing to find! Also, the cleaning service did not always have towels ready for us quickly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap and okey hotel in the interesting area surrounding gare du nord.

Disliked: The breakfast only includes croissants, coffe, juice and some cereal. I guess you get what you pay for.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anelina Baeva

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Anelina would recommend this property

Liked: Ther staff is very kind!

Disliked: Anelina left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A simpatia dos atendentes

Disliked: Parece ser perigoso ao redor do hotel e o local tb é muito barulhento já pela manhã.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeremy Davis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Room was reasonably clean, even though the toilet seat was broken. Staff was friendly; hotel wasn't too noisy. Wifi was great, once we got it going.

Disliked: The neighborhood is not the best in terms of safety, but it is great for visiting Sacré Coeur.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caran Ebert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Caran would recommend this property

Liked: If there were 10 stars to give this hotel, I would put this as my review. Owner and all staff are friendly and accomodating. It seems like every language is spoken here. I loved this hotel and will definitely stay here in the future and recommend it to all my clients and friends. This is very close to the train and metro station Gare du Nord. Excellent restaurants that stay open til 2 am in the morning. This is the best, cleaniest, friendliest, shall I go on. Continental Breakfast is served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am and is very filling. Crousants, bread, cereal, orange juice. Hot milk, coffee, water for tea and hot chocolate. EVERY STAFF MEMBER is a pleasure to talk to, even if they had limited English.

Disliked: There is nothing that I disliked about this property.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels