HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Altona

2 star Hotel | 166 rue du Faubourg, Poissonniere, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

71.5% Overall Rating

180 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"Good location - metro station was 2min walk, few food and drink shops just outside the hotel. Monmartre was ~10min walk. Staff was friendly (especially the night shift one). Room was clean, sheets and towels changed…"

Read all Hotel Altona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel du terrage
32.95 USD

Hotel 73.7% 5 reviews
Hotel Soft Paris
83.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St Christopher's Gare du Nord
28.86 USD

Hostel 84.5% 314 reviews
La Vieille France
57.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 5 reviews
Hotel Aris Nord
46.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 42 reviews
Central Hotel
63.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.7% 55 reviews
Hotel Paris Bruxelles 2*
59.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 9 reviews
Peace and Love Hostel
26.23 USD

Hostel 67.3% 980 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

180 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Altona'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 207 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dragan Brkovic

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Dragan would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff in hotel was amazing nice (from reception, till cleaning room and providing everything (clean glasses, towels...) every day, even if we didn't spend those from last days , also neighbours in hotel were quiet, breakfast was amazing (as much as you need - sweet French breakfast), for sure I will coffee, croasan and fresh orange juice. Hotel is located 100m down the street from metro station Barbes Rochecouart (if you use exit 2), what makes it connected with metro directly to Arch of Triumph, Eifell tower with one metro and islands in center and museums with other line of metro. Also it's very close (on foot) to Montmarte which was my favourite place of Paris, because of it's artistic atmosphere (street artists - musicians, painters...)

Disliked: that there is quite a lot drunk people around Gare du Nord (but there is also a lot of police and army, to protect you, like everywhere in Paris) which was metro station, that I used only for first day till I found metro station Barbes Rochechouart closer to hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price-value ration.

Disliked: Small rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dariusz Zazulinski

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Dariusz would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good location, nearby metro stations. I appreciated the fact that there was a brekfast included.

Disliked: No serious disadvantages.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ana Llamas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

29 June 2011

Liked: Boo

Disliked: Once we informed management about the bed bugs nothing was done about it. We were willing to try another room because it was only five AM (we checked in at one AM), but they were unable to accommodate us.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lina judzentyte

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2011 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed there the second time, and was happy about the service. Good location, and good value for money,.

Disliked: Breakfast time can get hectic, but if you come down earlier (round 8am) everything is fine.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked this hotel because of the price - it was cheap and had breakfast included (which was croissants, nutella, jam, butter, baguettes, juice, tea, coffe, hot chocolate). Pierre, the guy that sometimes stayed at the door and served us breakfast, was very kind, friendly and helpful at all times. If was not for him i wouldnt go back to the hotel, even thou it had free breakfast and was in a good location.

Disliked: The other two guys that were working there (i think they are brothers) were very rude and unpleasant. When we first arrived the guy did a horrible face when we said we had reservations. Well, sorry for making you work!!! And when we asked to leave our bags there after the check out to be able to do our tours without carrying it, they start to speak in french to each other and did a horrible face, throwing our bags in the laundry room. Oh and when we went to pay they again started speak in french and were complaining about the amount, looking at the total and saying "no, no, no"... I booked through a website, its not my fault the price that was advertised. Oh and the first room they put us was horrible, the lights werent working and it had hairs in the shower area. The nice guy (thank god!) was at the desk and he was sooo helpful, changed our room (for one that was lovely, seemed a different hotel altogether) and everything was fine after that (until the check out, which i already told what happened :) )

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, if you're looking for cheap and basic accomodation delicious breakfast

Disliked: poor conditions in the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and i like breakfast. nice and healthy breakfast.

Disliked: staff need to improve how to greeting costumer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

thitiwuth sunnanon

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 thitiwuth would recommend this property

Liked: near railway station and bus station

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Alarcon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff that spoke multiple languages. Traditional french breakfast included.

Disliked: the bedbugs were not friendly. Even though the location was good, the surrounding area is no very nice but that was not a problem for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room had its own bathroom and shower. There were also 2 large windows opening up to the street.

Disliked: The location is a bit out of the way, and we go lost a lot. I am not sure that anyone who didn't speak French would be able to communicate with the staff.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was included in the price, and the person at the desk let us leave our bags there after we had already checked out to go and walk around the city.

Disliked: The construction outside made us a little nervous, as well, the window in our bathroom had a scaffold with construction workers on it who could see into the window so we had to wait to take showers or even use the bathroom because there was no curtain. Also the bed was really uncomfortable and we hardly slept the two nights we stayed there because of it being so uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Dandurand

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 March 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and fantastic location.

Disliked: The breakfast room was crowded but that must just mean the place is popular, can't complain much about that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kira Piskalova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

10 March 2011 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good!

Disliked: The walls are so thin between rooms!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just fine.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really friendly and the room and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: the breakfast is a bit poor (one croissant and bread). the location is ideal for eurostar travellers but you have to use the metro to get to the city center.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and no curfew.

Disliked: the construction in the morning waking us up.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Keith Jabinsky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting room set up. Clean, with 2 bathrooms

Disliked: We had to share beds even though we thought we were getting 4.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, well located between Gare du Nord and Montmarte

Disliked: A little hard to find if you haven't done your homework

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the people working there, very helpful and welcoming, also the area is good and just next to the metro station.. safe and easy to move around

Disliked: the room is quite small but its fine for a short time stay, also i didnt like the fact that my room was at the back side of the building .. no street view :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the breakfest, the room.. it is a good place!!

Disliked: I sent an email for then and thwy didn't answer, i had to contacto to hostel.booker to solve my problem, but they change my booking too easily.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff

Disliked: quite old and like run down

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010

Liked: Close too Metro station

Disliked: Rooms are very small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Evans

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great. Breakfast was bread, jam, coffee, tea, juice, cereal but satisfying.

Disliked: There was a mixup the first night. They didn't have us as coming until the following night. We had to stay in a hotel down the street the first night and then move back for the remaining nights. But they were very accomodating and took the responsibility for the mistake.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfortable rooms, amazing staff and perfect prize (and croissants for breakfast!)

Disliked: I have no complaints.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels