We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Altona

2 star Hotel | 166 rue du Faubourg, Poissonniere, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

78.2% Overall Rating

187 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2015)

Thao Nguyen thinks…

"The Altona hotel are very friendly and kindness and they help me a lot how to get different places, restaurant, also look after to us with a little small baby such kettle, baby food,... We refer to…"

Read all Hotel Altona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel du terrage
27.81 USD

Hotel 73.8% 6 reviews
Hotel Soft Paris
70.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St Christopher's Gare du Nord
25.03 USD

Hostel 89.8% 414 reviews
La Vieille France
59.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 5 reviews
Hotel Aris Nord
36.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 42 reviews
Central Hotel
53.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.7% 55 reviews
Hotel du Square
30.03 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Generator Paris
36.70 USD

Hostel 89.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

187 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Altona'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 214 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very halpful owner / manager. Very polite and willing to help.

Disliked: I asked for a fou bed room...the fourth bed was a small one and only a plush blanket was given, not a proper one...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful. Room was very clean and bright. Location fairly decent for sightseeing. Provided us with a map and spoke good English.

Disliked: Owner over-booked the first night and we had to stay at a different hotel; however, he did take quite a bit off of our bill, had someone show us over there, and left a dozen red roses and chocolate in our room for the trouble the next day, which was a nice personal touch you don´t see many places. At night, Monmatre is a bit shady, so that wasn´t great when we walked home one night. Otherwise, good deal for the money. In traditional French style, breakfast was pain and croissants with beverages.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Megan Ems

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: It was out of the touristic zone in Paris and actually was quite convienent because we could see the Sacre cure out from out window and was within a 5 minute walk to the Gard du Nord. I stayed with my friend and we loved the place because of the location, staff and convienence of the hotel.

Disliked: Of course we would have liked to stay in a nicer place in Paris but for our budget this was seriously a perfect place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dragan Brkovic

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Dragan would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff in hotel was amazing nice (from reception, till cleaning room and providing everything (clean glasses, towels...) every day, even if we didn't spend those from last days , also neighbours in hotel were quiet, breakfast was amazing (as much as you need - sweet French breakfast), for sure I will coffee, croasan and fresh orange juice. Hotel is located 100m down the street from metro station Barbes Rochecouart (if you use exit 2), what makes it connected with metro directly to Arch of Triumph, Eifell tower with one metro and islands in center and museums with other line of metro. Also it's very close (on foot) to Montmarte which was my favourite place of Paris, because of it's artistic atmosphere (street artists - musicians, painters...)

Disliked: that there is quite a lot drunk people around Gare du Nord (but there is also a lot of police and army, to protect you, like everywhere in Paris) which was metro station, that I used only for first day till I found metro station Barbes Rochechouart closer to hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price-value ration.

Disliked: Small rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dariusz Zazulinski

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Dariusz would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good location, nearby metro stations. I appreciated the fact that there was a brekfast included.

Disliked: No serious disadvantages.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ana Llamas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

29 June 2011

Liked: Boo

Disliked: Once we informed management about the bed bugs nothing was done about it. We were willing to try another room because it was only five AM (we checked in at one AM), but they were unable to accommodate us.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lina judzentyte

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2011 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed there the second time, and was happy about the service. Good location, and good value for money,.

Disliked: Breakfast time can get hectic, but if you come down earlier (round 8am) everything is fine.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked this hotel because of the price - it was cheap and had breakfast included (which was croissants, nutella, jam, butter, baguettes, juice, tea, coffe, hot chocolate). Pierre, the guy that sometimes stayed at the door and served us breakfast, was very kind, friendly and helpful at all times. If was not for him i wouldnt go back to the hotel, even thou it had free breakfast and was in a good location.

Disliked: The other two guys that were working there (i think they are brothers) were very rude and unpleasant. When we first arrived the guy did a horrible face when we said we had reservations. Well, sorry for making you work!!! And when we asked to leave our bags there after the check out to be able to do our tours without carrying it, they start to speak in french to each other and did a horrible face, throwing our bags in the laundry room. Oh and when we went to pay they again started speak in french and were complaining about the amount, looking at the total and saying "no, no, no"... I booked through a website, its not my fault the price that was advertised. Oh and the first room they put us was horrible, the lights werent working and it had hairs in the shower area. The nice guy (thank god!) was at the desk and he was sooo helpful, changed our room (for one that was lovely, seemed a different hotel altogether) and everything was fine after that (until the check out, which i already told what happened :) )

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, if you're looking for cheap and basic accomodation delicious breakfast

Disliked: poor conditions in the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and i like breakfast. nice and healthy breakfast.

Disliked: staff need to improve how to greeting costumer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

thitiwuth sunnanon

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 thitiwuth would recommend this property

Liked: near railway station and bus station

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Alarcon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff that spoke multiple languages. Traditional french breakfast included.

Disliked: the bedbugs were not friendly. Even though the location was good, the surrounding area is no very nice but that was not a problem for us.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room had its own bathroom and shower. There were also 2 large windows opening up to the street.

Disliked: The location is a bit out of the way, and we go lost a lot. I am not sure that anyone who didn't speak French would be able to communicate with the staff.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was included in the price, and the person at the desk let us leave our bags there after we had already checked out to go and walk around the city.

Disliked: The construction outside made us a little nervous, as well, the window in our bathroom had a scaffold with construction workers on it who could see into the window so we had to wait to take showers or even use the bathroom because there was no curtain. Also the bed was really uncomfortable and we hardly slept the two nights we stayed there because of it being so uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Dandurand

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 March 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and fantastic location.

Disliked: The breakfast room was crowded but that must just mean the place is popular, can't complain much about that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kira Piskalova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

10 March 2011 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good!

Disliked: The walls are so thin between rooms!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just fine.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really friendly and the room and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: the breakfast is a bit poor (one croissant and bread). the location is ideal for eurostar travellers but you have to use the metro to get to the city center.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and no curfew.

Disliked: the construction in the morning waking us up.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Keith Jabinsky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting room set up. Clean, with 2 bathrooms

Disliked: We had to share beds even though we thought we were getting 4.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, well located between Gare du Nord and Montmarte

Disliked: A little hard to find if you haven't done your homework

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the people working there, very helpful and welcoming, also the area is good and just next to the metro station.. safe and easy to move around

Disliked: the room is quite small but its fine for a short time stay, also i didnt like the fact that my room was at the back side of the building .. no street view :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the breakfest, the room.. it is a good place!!

Disliked: I sent an email for then and thwy didn't answer, i had to contacto to hostel.booker to solve my problem, but they change my booking too easily.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff

Disliked: quite old and like run down


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels