HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Altona

2 star Hotel | 166 rue du Faubourg, Poissonniere, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

71.5% Overall Rating

180 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"Good location - metro station was 2min walk, few food and drink shops just outside the hotel. Monmartre was ~10min walk. Staff was friendly (especially the night shift one). Room was clean, sheets and towels changed…"

Read all Hotel Altona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel du terrage
32.83 USD

Hotel 73.7% 5 reviews
Hotel Soft Paris
82.72 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St Christopher's Gare du Nord
31.38 USD

Hostel 83.1% 317 reviews
La Vieille France
78.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 5 reviews
Hotel Aris Nord
45.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 42 reviews
Central Hotel
63.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.7% 55 reviews
Hotel Paris Bruxelles 2*
59.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 9 reviews
Peace and Love Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 67.4% 981 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

180 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Altona'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 207 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, good location and good value, specially for Paris!!

Disliked: nothing really, everything was good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 October 2011

Liked: Nothing special.

Disliked: Do not ask staff to call taxi for you. They will book some transport services instead of a taxi and you will pay more. If you will cancel the transport services (even couple of hours before it the booking time) they will push you to pay 10 euro. I had very bad experiences with the staff. I would not recommend this hotel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the station, clean room.

Disliked: Took the payment from my card and would not give me a receipt.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

16 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Their overall behaviour, the offered breakfast, the fact that we didn't have the rooms i had booked for, the district

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

igal Furman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 igal would recommend this property

Liked: good staff,good value for money and close to gare du nord. VERY honest and straight owner

Disliked: old building, not everybodys fault...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were friendly and helpful. They remembered us, making us feel at home in a foreign city. The breakfast helped us have more money for other thing, but was nothing incredible. The rooms were cleaned daily, and having a French balcony was a nice surprise. We would recommend this place and stay at Hotel Altona again.

Disliked: I think a maid stole some pocket change ( possibly thinking it was a tip?) when cleaning our room. It was noisy at night, but it was tolerable considering being in a hotel in the middle of Paris! Anything we didn't like was easy to overlook, considering location, value, and friendliness of staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hotel in very good location, typical french breakfast (not so big, but good enough for me) and nice and friendly staff. Clean room.

Disliked: I didnt have any problems.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the man working the front desk was very nice and helpful

Disliked: I didn't feel super safe walking there at night although nothing bad happened!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011

Liked: location near sacre cure and trainstation

Disliked: breakfast so minimal and in bad atmosphere

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

laura hagan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. Was a nice quiet clean room

Disliked: Nothing really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, value for the money. Clean, safe hotel with nice breakfast! Very centric, easy to reach and with good Metro and Bus connections to all the main sites (ask the front desk for details, they were really nice and helpful)

Disliked: The location: this is not the prettiest place in Paris, but we did not care so much about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lalit Chaudhari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Lalit would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful. I would recommend people to choose this hotel. Surroundings are also good.

Disliked: None.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: The bathroom smelled horribly of mildew

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful:) especially the two twins. It was really close to the metro and Paris Nord train station . Though the area itself wasn't all that.

Disliked: Our room smelt a little like smokey ham. But at one point after check out I needed the bathroom and their public one was broken they gave me a key to another room which smelt fresh as raises so it was our bad luck! And the shower was very tempreamental.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. It is very close to two train stations (Nord, Est), and another metro station with two lines (Barbes-Rochechouart) is located 50-100 m from the hotel. If you arrive by air, the RER-B transports you to the Gare du Nord. Therefore it is ideal to discover Paris. 2. Although our room was a little bit small, it was convenient to stay 10 days. 3. The hospitality of the staff is excellent. Each problem was dissolved quickly. 4. The breakfast was also good (baguette, croissant, butter, jam, milk etc.). Of course don't compare it to the expensive hotels. 5. A speciality: one man of the staff speaks some word in Hungarian - he kindly saluted us in our language in the morning...

Disliked: For the hotel we cannot mention anything dislike. However, some other things are to be noted: 1. The environment does not seem very secure (two train stations etc.), but we could not feel it inside. 2. Paris was terribly crowded by tourists in this period (of course, this is not the fault of the hotel). An advice: if you want to see the Louvre: it is open until 21.45 on Wednesdays and Fridays, from 17 h, that is not crowded, you can enter after 10 min queuing instead of 1-2 hours in the morning. 3. If you don't want to be nervous, don't go to Versailles: that was a horror ! After 2 hrs we returned without visit: we did not reach the ticket office during this period and there was a second queue to enter (the whole French aristocracy is not worth of it...) ! Choose another castle instead, or go to Saint Denis Basilique (metro line 13) to see the tombs of the French kings. Or, if you want to avoid the enormous crowd, choose another period for your visit, if you can...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the accommodation was good for the price. The breakfast was included and it was a very good one.

Disliked: Although it was good that the hotel was very close to a metro station, the neighbourhood was a bit noisy and sometimes difficult to sleep :-(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here when we got screwed over by Hotel Bonsejour Montmarte. Front desk worker was incredibly helpful and friendly, and remembered us and what room we were in 8 hours later when we returned back to the hotel and asked for our key. Location isn't quite central, but easily accessible. Room overall was clean.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled very strongly of mold and mildew, to the point where we had to keep the door closed, and tried to spend the minimum time possible in it. However, the surfaces of the bathroom itself seemed to be fairly clean, which suggests the smell is coming from inside the walls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THI AI THUY PHAM

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 THI AI THUY would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is not in the central but it's really near metrol (1 minute for walking) and I love the room there. The staffs are so nice. I think I will go back this hotel for staying in the Paris next time

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, delicious breakfast (included in prize), free wifi.

Disliked: Small room and bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a breeze to find; great location just off of a hub Metro stop. Once we got there (later than we expected), Pierre at the front desk made us feel welcome immediately. Our room was a great value for the money and the staff was more than accommodating! If you need a place to stay, this is a great one!

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't the cleanest, but for less than 40 euro a night in downtown Paris, what do you expect? Everything else was well kept!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Just 2-3 mins from metro station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Building is very old and a bit dirtier than I expected.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Larry Fulbright

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: the operators did all they could do to make our stay comfortable. there was always someone at the front desk and they spoke multiple languages (limited but helpful). The hotel was very close to the Metro and to Gard de Nord. (The main eurostar and rer station). There were many tradition french and international eating establishments nearby.

Disliked: The rooms are small but functional.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very halpful owner / manager. Very polite and willing to help.

Disliked: I asked for a fou bed room...the fourth bed was a small one and only a plush blanket was given, not a proper one...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful. Room was very clean and bright. Location fairly decent for sightseeing. Provided us with a map and spoke good English.

Disliked: Owner over-booked the first night and we had to stay at a different hotel; however, he did take quite a bit off of our bill, had someone show us over there, and left a dozen red roses and chocolate in our room for the trouble the next day, which was a nice personal touch you don´t see many places. At night, Monmatre is a bit shady, so that wasn´t great when we walked home one night. Otherwise, good deal for the money. In traditional French style, breakfast was pain and croissants with beverages.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Megan Ems

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: It was out of the touristic zone in Paris and actually was quite convienent because we could see the Sacre cure out from out window and was within a 5 minute walk to the Gard du Nord. I stayed with my friend and we loved the place because of the location, staff and convienence of the hotel.

Disliked: Of course we would have liked to stay in a nicer place in Paris but for our budget this was seriously a perfect place.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels