HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Altona

2 star Hotel | 166 rue du Faubourg, Poissonniere, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75010

71.5% Overall Rating

180 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"Good location - metro station was 2min walk, few food and drink shops just outside the hotel. Monmartre was ~10min walk. Staff was friendly (especially the night shift one). Room was clean, sheets and towels changed…"

Read all Hotel Altona reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel du terrage
31.63 USD

Hotel 73.7% 5 reviews
Hotel Soft Paris
79.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St Christopher's Gare du Nord
24.67 USD

Hostel 89.3% 329 reviews
La Vieille France
75.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.6% 5 reviews
Hotel Aris Nord
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 42 reviews
Central Hotel
61.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.7% 55 reviews
Hotel Paris Bruxelles 2*
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 9 reviews
Peace and Love Hostel
24.67 USD

Hostel 64.7% 982 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

180 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Altona'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 207 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A simpatia dos atendentes

Disliked: Parece ser perigoso ao redor do hotel e o local tb é muito barulhento já pela manhã.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeremy Davis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Room was reasonably clean, even though the toilet seat was broken. Staff was friendly; hotel wasn't too noisy. Wifi was great, once we got it going.

Disliked: The neighborhood is not the best in terms of safety, but it is great for visiting Sacré Coeur.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caran Ebert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Caran would recommend this property

Liked: If there were 10 stars to give this hotel, I would put this as my review. Owner and all staff are friendly and accomodating. It seems like every language is spoken here. I loved this hotel and will definitely stay here in the future and recommend it to all my clients and friends. This is very close to the train and metro station Gare du Nord. Excellent restaurants that stay open til 2 am in the morning. This is the best, cleaniest, friendliest, shall I go on. Continental Breakfast is served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am and is very filling. Crousants, bread, cereal, orange juice. Hot milk, coffee, water for tea and hot chocolate. EVERY STAFF MEMBER is a pleasure to talk to, even if they had limited English.

Disliked: There is nothing that I disliked about this property.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Nechifor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: it was really clean and the breakfast was pretty fine.

Disliked: location it's not really good but it was ok most of the time

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012

Liked: Free breakfast was a nice bonus but your typical free breakfast, rooms varied drastically on size and appearance (we had 2 doubles).

Disliked: Expensive for what you got. Ordered a 4 person suite and got 2 doubles.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great night staff, pretty decent breakfast.

Disliked: A little away from center of Paris.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Evans

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is perfect for a convienient friendly clean place to stay. I went with my friend and we had a great time, it's a great location and the staff are nice. I wouldn't go if I wanted a romantic break with my boyfriend but for a cheap stay go for it!

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darragh Kelly

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 February 2012 Darragh would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. They also spoke English which was very helpful. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We felt safe in the hotel. We were travelling from London on the Eurostar and the hotel was within walking distance both the Eurostar and the Metro. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Paris.

Disliked: We couldn't find anything to dislike about this hotel. We will return at some stage for a holiday.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Mellek

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 February 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It is more like a hotel than hostel. The room was clean and really good. It has lifts.

Disliked: You can 'feel' the metro from time to time, but it was not loud and I could sleep really well.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is more like a small hotel than a hostel, but the staff are friendly, and the location is very good (a short walk to Gare Du Nord).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012

Liked: Nothing, the location was close to the metro thats about it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sergio Duarte

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: poor breakfast and lots of maintenance problems

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 January 2012

Liked: The shower was clean.

Disliked: There are much better places to stay for the money, the hotel is nothing like the pictures.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, nice breakfast included, clean and tidy room with shower en-suite, excellent location for people travelling to and from gare du nord

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Felix Bauer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money (online booking much cheaper!) - bathrooms - close to metro

Disliked: could have been cleaner - hallways are very sterile - breakfast is nothing fancy - location not the most secure

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Green

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 December 2011 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Location, value for money

Disliked: The walls are quite thin, would have liked more on offer for breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katja Daugelat

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: It's basic but clean and safe.Breakfast with baguette and Jam gives you good start for the day, good location for Mont matre, train station around the corner.

Disliked: light in the corridor was broken, we had to find our way to the lift in the dark.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matteo Maino

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Matteo would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money (it's an hotel and not a hostel) Breakfast (only sweet but croissants too and even Nutella on some days). Very kindly last day we were permitted at 7.00 (standars is 7.30-9.30)

Disliked: Some draughts from the windows Windows always left open by the maids: unsafe!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alexandra Rice

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and personal rooms

Disliked: Not very clean and smelled weird and hard to find

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Rodgers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money in paris for a private room

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was great, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating with our departure time. The fact that we could access wifi in the room and not just in the hotel lobby was also a big thing that we liked about the hotel. The beds were pretty comfortable as well. It was also only a few minutes walk from the train station, so it was easy to get to and from the airport. The hotel was close enough to the downtown part of the city that we walked and got to enjoy Paris without having to pay for train tickets or taxis.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled kind of weird.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

maja garbajs

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: The staff is friendly, every day clean towells.

Disliked: Very small rooms and bathroom, old walls, lights and whole building. Dark rooms and atmosfere.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011

Liked: The Hotel is located near to Gare de Nord, which is ideal for those commuting from the Eurostar.

Disliked: When we arrived at the Hotel, we were informed that although we arrived earlier than the check-in time, our room was clean and available. We went up to the room and found other people still in the room and thus had to wait for a couple of hours to be able to get into our room. The bathroom door did not shut properly. The cleaners at the hotel are not great. On one occasion, whilst cleaning the room, the cleaner mistakenly took our personal towels instead of the hotel ones to clean. I don't understand how this is possible as all the hotel towels are the same. When we asked at the reception about this situation, we were informed they would turn up but never did. We were offered 10 euros each compensation. The sheets on our bed were also not as clean as they could be. Both the quilt and fleece blanket had stains. DO NOT stay here if you are a female or in a group of females, as the near-by Barbès-Rochechouart metro station always has a throng of males hanging around it and on one occasion one followed us back to the hotel on a bike. The location of the hotel in general is not that safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff. very convenient location, close to metro

Disliked: a bit unsafe

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william meadows

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: Price kebab shop next door supermarket opposite train station 2mins walk clean rooms was able to leave my luggage there the day i checked out until 11pm that evening

Disliked: the mix up of our reservation was really frustrating (but the guys running it made it up to us by charging less)


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels