HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Richard

1 star Hotel | 35 rue Richard Lenoir, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

62.5% Overall Rating

184 out of 309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

Sophie Latter thinks…

"Really close to underground and laundrette, which was great as we were travelling and needed to do laundry. We were able to drop off our baggage before the checkin time which was good. The room was a…"

Read all Hotel Richard reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

We will pre-authorise the first night on your card in order to guarantee your booking. If your card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel des Arts
50.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 529 reviews
Hotel Belfort
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 827 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
88.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews
AIJ Paris
24.44 USD

Hostel 76.8% 251 reviews
Hotel Rhétia
29.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.0% 237 reviews
Bastille Apartments
30.36 USD

Apartment 86.4% 224 reviews
Apartments Père Lachaise
32.89 USD

Apartment 85.4% 104 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.8% 131 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.5%

Overall Rating

184 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Richard'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
56.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 277 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Latter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to underground and laundrette, which was great as we were travelling and needed to do laundry. We were able to drop off our baggage before the checkin time which was good. The room was a good size, clean and despite the description, bedding was /linen was free of charge. The location was nice and it was nice to sit and look out the window down the streets.

Disliked: We booked a double with private bathroom.... And whilst the shower was ermm private, it was also just in the room with a clear door! Now some couples may like this, however I was travelling with a friend so whilst we dealt with it and laughed about it, it could be very awkward for others! plus we were still sharing a toilet with everyone else on the floor, oh wait, the hotel because there only seemed to be one working, the rest were blocked and flooded and grim. The wi-if only works downstairs in the lobby. There was building work going on when we arrived, however this didn't disrupt our stay. When we arrived we were very confused as to what was happening, we sat for at least half an hour in the lobby only to realise the person we saw when we had come in had forgotten about us! The 'safe' cupboard to leave our luggage did have a lock... But he just gave us the keys... Meaning anyone could have done the same and taken our stuff.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Corie Wilcock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013

Liked: Not much at all.

Disliked: The bed bugs. Having to ask for bed linen on our arrival. The employee behind the counter was arrogant, non helpful and seemed not to care at all.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leoni Tsiama

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 May 2013 Leoni would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: no tv in the bedrooms and the receptionist is a bit mean

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: Close to the metro..

Disliked: It was very dirty. I felt like I was staying in the worlds biggest dump hole. Every time you walked through the stairs I felt like I was going to fall right through them. Staff were rude and unhelpful. The bathroom light did not work. The whole place is decrepit and not worth any cent. Do not stay here. Find another place to stay that's worth your money. There was 1 toilet between about 8 rooms of people and it was very dirty.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 April 2013

Liked: N/A They used to host more people and send them to other hotels. Althought in our case we were hosted in a better hotel for the same price. So at the end we have a satisfied experience.

Disliked: Discordination in reception.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Magdalena Rutkowska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the metro station

Disliked: wifi didnt work at all upstairs, only on ground floor. My room was on the 5th floor, too high a little bit

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Was't clean and looked poor. Very noicy at night ana early morning.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rajeev Maithani

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 November 2012

Liked: The only good thing about it is close to the metro station. The wifi worked very well in the room.

Disliked: everything except its location which is very close to the metro. If you can find any other accomodation for this much of money then definitely look out for the other option.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012

Liked: It was really close to the metro and in a pretty good area.

Disliked: The bed was really hard and the sink was clogged and there was no where to put your clothes and there was a public shower and the doors to that didn't even close all the way.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012

Liked: Location (metro station).

Disliked: Cleanliness of common bathroom and toilet.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 September 2012

Liked: It had a really convenient location and the wi-fi worked.

Disliked: Staying here was a nightmare. I felt like I was just waiting to get robbed because it's such a rickety hole, and the conditions of the hotel were unbelievably squalid. There was mould on the taps and in the holes of the shower head, the walls were grimy and bits of the skirting board were separating from walls. it was a very old place, and to be honest, it looked as if it had never been cleaned since it was opened. Sheets weren't provided, but with everything else that was wrong, I wasn't going to give them more money, so I just used the paltry blankets stored in the closet. The same was true with towels, but luckily, I had my own with me anyway. There was a female in the staff who was polite and nice, but the owner was impolite from the beginning and became increasingly more so. By the day I left, I was thoroughly desperate for a place to stay because Paris was so booked out at the time. I approached the owner and asked him if the room would be free for the next night. He said he was too busy to talk about it then, and I should come back in 10 minutes. I had washing to do, so I went and did it. I came back an hour later, and waited on the chairs at the front to talk with him while he spoke to an elderly male customer. After he left, a staff member walked into the reception. I'd been quietly waiting for him to get through speaking to the elderly male customer for about 10 minutes, which I should never have had to do anyway, and he just started talking to the staff member, completely ignoring me. I don't know French, but it became obvious from his gesticulating and tone that he was complaining about the customer he had just been talking to, imitating the concern he had about problems with Paris and the accommodation. After he had continued on that conversation for a little while, he casually looked over at me sitting at front of him in the reception, still waiting, and simply repeated that he didn't have time to talk to me about it and that he was really swamped with bookings and couldn't tell me whether or not the room would be free. He told me to come back in an hour. I didn't, because it made me realise that no matter how cheap the place was, the owner's behaviour is unacceptable for someone in a management position with a customer service role. There was no lift in the hostel because it was so old, and the stairs were very steep (almost vertical). Both of the windows in my room were broken and didn't close. There was smoking inside, too. Access to the luggage storage room wasn't supervised and there were no cameras there or anything. I felt so nervous leaving my laptop in my luggage there, but it is so heavy that I pretty much had to. The hostel had a dank, musty smell that was particularly noticeable in that room, but also in the bedrooms, which was pretty inconvenient since my windows didn't open. I just want to add too that, although I should have been careful to not get anything on them to begin with, I accidentally got a bit of oil on the sheets from a meal that I was eating. After I left, they billed my credit card for no less than 30 euros without so much as informing me. I only found out after I checked my bank account. It seems a bit rich to charge that for sheets that the hotel considers irredeemable when it's a place that looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years. I think when you see the low cost and centrality of the hostel, you'll probably think what I though, "Quality is relative. I can deal with a place that's a little shabby if it's that dirt cheap." This place is more than a little shabby, and the owner will frustrate you to no end.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrius Audickas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Andrius would recommend this property

Liked: Place, cheap

Disliked: service

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012

Liked: Cheap, not far from metro station, luggage room available.

Disliked: - No Wi-Fi signal at our floor at all - Both windows couldn't be closed - No soap or even toilet paper - The closet was locked so nowhere to put coats and boots - 'Clean' would be the last word I'd use for describing the blankets - Our room has been never cleaned and garbage never taken out throughout a week - Loud noise from the doors at the hallway with excellent audibility - No towels at the reception - The shower handle broken - Mostly indifferent staff - Shall I go on? The most disappointing experience I've had for 14 years of travelling.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Agnieszka Musial

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: quite cheap ,good location, near cathedral nore dame, centrum pompidou

Disliked: Agnieszka left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, wi-fi

Disliked: sometimes noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to center of city!

Disliked: Living on the upper floors is a little sketchy the stairways do not seem that safe...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to fine, great location. Nice sink in the Rooms.

Disliked: Too many stairs. Not enough showers in the morning. Had to pay for Wifi.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and it was great being first experience in Paris

Disliked: There is still a gum in my roomy blanket.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Quite dirty, very dirty actually! Climbing on 5th floor is not much fun either- there is no lift.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpful stuff, cleaner than expected

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012

Liked: not too much

Disliked: it was not cleqn

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the room, we had a private double and it was pretty big. The location is also good, easy available by metro and the sights in a walkable distance.

Disliked: The toilets are.., you dont feel comfortable. Then we lived in the fifth floor, that was anoying. Moreover the wifi didnt work in our floor we alsways had to get down. Theres no kitchen or real common place, its all a little bit dirty and there is no real friendly atmosphere.the beds were not really comfortable and unclean and there is a certain smell in the rooms. and yes i refused to use the showers, we were only staying 2 nights. but for its price its ok. i think you won find anything better in paris if you dont want to pay the double.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, facilities are fair for the price.

Disliked: it could be a little cleaner, esp. toilets and showers...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, located near a metro stop

Disliked: the fat owner, the decor, no sink in the bathroom, the decor, dodgy area, the decor, no soap, the decor, shared showers, bar only open from 8-10 (in the morning), window didn't close and lastly the decor; But we've had worse (in africa).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sarwar Sayeed

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: when booked at Hostelbookers then the check out time was mentioned 12.00 pm. but when entered in the hotel then everywhere they put sign that the check out time is 10 am . But it can be up to 11am on request. The wifi signal was very very poor . you have to keep your door open to get the signal . The guy in the reception was not that helpful , also acted as he did big favour to you as you came to stay in his hotel .


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels