We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel Richard

1 star Hotel | 35 rue Richard Lenoir, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

56.6% Overall Rating

186 out of 316 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/01/2015)

Ravikishore Kommajosyula thinks…

"Nothing really, except for being accidentally located near a metro station, which is no-where near any place you would want to visit in Paris."

Read all Hotel Richard reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 3.29
  • Towel USD 1.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

We will pre-authorise the first night on your card in order to guarantee your booking. If your card is not valid we will contact you for an alternative card

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel des Arts
38.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 532 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
49.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews
AIJ Paris
21.16 USD

Hostel 72.7% 339 reviews
Hotel Rhétia
26.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 240 reviews
Bastille Apartments
24.10 USD

Apartment 88.7% 233 reviews
Apartments Père Lachaise
28.48 USD

Apartment 83.1% 105 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
32.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.2% 135 reviews
Hôtel Les Chansonniers
31.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.6%

Overall Rating

186 out of 316 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Richard'

Atmosphere
45.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
45.6%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
52.8%
Value
67.2%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 284 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had our privacy in our room, for a really reasonable price...and the staff was very nice and helpful even though their english was very poor...

Disliked: in the rooms we found some cockroach poison, the toilet were filthy and there was some mould on the walls in the shower (which we were not supposed to use after 10pm)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010

Liked: First of all I was satusfied after checking in because the rates in some other websites were catastrofic! i was scared as hell after reading them...something like: HORROR! DIRTY! LOUD! UNFRIENDLY!.....Well guys, let me tell you this: It wasn't that bad...actually I was positively surprised. For 20Euros a night in PARIS (!) - and it's veeeery close to the centre - this was more than OK! Yes, the rooms weren't the nicest, but they were more or less clean, you have a big closet, a wash-bole, mirrors, a little table and a double-bed. Everything in a good condition. And yes, it's a tiny room but it's enough to stay there a couple of hour or to stay the nights. Perfectly for couples. The showers are also OK. Not in best conditions but acceptable. The hotel itself is cramped and the stairs are...battered. But some other person wrote on a website: "I was scared I would die!" SUCH A CRAP! Me and my boyfriend made ourselves comfortable there. It was a nice time and I would return to this hotel!

Disliked: - The cleanliness of the bed, pillows and blankets. (better take you own with you) - No breakfast - Unstable Wi-Fi.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location compared to price

Disliked: room next to shared bathroom with poor noise isolation.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

10 October 2010

Liked: Great location and cheap but this is literally a bed in a room

Disliked: Dirty toilets, the showers were questionable. We had to get a new blanket because it was horrible and dirty. They ran out of towels so we had one towel on the first couple of nights. Don't stay here if you have luggage! there are about 5 or more thin flights of stairs with no elevator! As i said before this is a bed in a room if you like camping with other peoples bed and linen this is your place.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

jie zhao

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

06 October 2010

Liked: as somebody said, the pink toilate paper

Disliked: no lift. small room with old hard bed, wall need to be repainted.half meter wide wc as well as shower

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Richard is not a 5* hotel, but it`s very clean,neat and the staff is friendly and helpfull. It`s next to the metro station Voiltaire and you can easily get to any spot in Paris. The neighbourhood is safe with cafes restaurants shops, it`s a 10 min walk to Bastille. We enjoyed it and we reccomend it esapecially to young people who are not interested in luxury.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean and quiet place. Location was great.

Disliked: Fifth floor without an elevator. :-)

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Horrendous! The receptionist doesn't speak any English and was totally disinterested in helping. The wifi does not work and the reason provided was " it's like that.' Such is the kind of service that they provide. What is worst is that the blanket wasn't clean and there were obvious stains on it. There were also strands of hairs lying on the bed. In addition, the road beside the hostel is very noisy and one could hardly sleep. The shared toilet is also perpetually dirty and stinky. Personally, i feel that the hostel is over rated on the website and urged all fellow backpackers not to stay in this hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much what I was expecting. If you are hoping for a top-class hotel you'll be disappointed but for the price I can't complain. The cheap price, privacy, and location were all positives.

Disliked: If you are over 60cm tall you might find the showers to be a bit cramped.. A cockroach? That's about it. Pretty standard - you get what you pay for.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rhiannon Gursanscky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a really good location, within walking distance to everything. Was really nice to have a private room. Room was clean and had all the essentials. Definately value for money. Kitchen was available and staff were always around to ask questions.

Disliked: Rhiannon left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best thing about the hotel. Staff are friendly. This is a very basic hotel great for couples with not much money. The room was fairly clean with a sink in. The shower is pretty bad but ok. All in all if your the kind of person who likes camping etc. and wants a decent budget hotel this is pretty ok. If you need your luxuries stay away you won't enjoy it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 August 2010

Liked: Nothing. I liked toilet paper. :D

Disliked: Anything, except toilet paper.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2010

Liked: The hotel is very close to metrostation Voltaire. It was close to bakeries, a grocery store and other eating venues. I also liked that they stocked water bottles in a fridge at the reception so you could buy cold water for a very reasonable price (1 euro). There's a sink in your room so you just have to go to the bathroom to take a shower. The location is ok, but it could be a lot better.

Disliked: Most of the staff was unfriendly and their English was poor. There was only one shower and one toilet at every floor (for about 6 rooms). They also ask you not to take a shower after 10 p.m. so the time you have to take a shower is very limited if you're out all day. In the toilet there's no sink and no soap, so bring your own! Our room was not cleaned for the entire week, there was only one garbagebag change. The matrass was uneven, which caused us to either roll to the middle of the matrass and lay on top of each other or to lay on the side and almost fall out of the bed. We had a very bad backache after that week. The neighbourhood is ok when you are with two, but don't go out by yourself especially not women. The neighbourhood and the hotel were both pretty noisy, but it is ok if you're used to staying at hostels. Here's a tip: don't book your hostel based on price!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sam Hawkins

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

06 August 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room with chandelier

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Bedford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good location which made Paris easily accessible, being close to the Bastille made it somewhere busy to sit on an evening which was nice.It was just what you paid for, simple room with a bed, table, cupboard and sink and didn;t promise to be anything other than that.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

JILL WILSON

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010

Liked: Location not bad.

Disliked: Firstly there are constant signs about not keeping valuables in your room and how the management is not responsible(though when they don't provide a locker, where are you expected to keep it??). So basically if you're robbed, not their problem. Our room was next to the shower and was noisy all day and night. Toilets dont have sinks. You have a random sink in the room. Rickety stairs, no lift. But worst of all when we needed a printer for our boarding pass we were told where a shop was. It was closed. We asked to use the hotel computer (and even pay) and were told it didn't have internet (despite the hotel wireless...). We then saved the boarding passes and put them on a memory stick and were told a blunt NO. She didn't help, she didn't care, and even seemed smug. So if you don't want the same bad treatment don't come to this hotel, so you dont further her wages. We have turning up to the airport without boarding passes to look forward to, woo!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Edel Loughran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010

Liked: Water for sale

Disliked: Internet was expensive, had to wait half hour to get key.. Light bulb blew in room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not fun

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010

Liked: Staff of the hotel was friendly and helpful. Advantage of metro station next to hotel. Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

25 June 2010

Liked: I didnt like anything about this crappy hostel.it's extremely filthy, saw rats in the toilet and hallway!!!! i didnt see any in the room but i dont want to see one either!i have stayed at loads of dingy hostels before but this has got to be the worst one so far.it's noisy, dirty, even worse no showering after 10 pm? who came up with that rule? theres no security, strangers are free to walk in and out of the hostel, one girl had her room broken in and her passport and money stolen! THE MANAGEMENT DIDNT EVEN CARE OR DO ANYTHING.it would have been more bearable if the people at the reception were courteous..but they are extremely rude..worse than the average parisians.DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!! I KNOW IT IS DIRT CHEAP BUT ITS NOT WORTH IT!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Paris, this is where you should go. Nearby an metrostop, one of the cheapest hotels with double rooms in Paris. The rooms were quite okay, bed was clean( we did bring our own sheets because we had to pay for them), there was warm water in the room and in the shower. Free shower and toilet on every floor, not too clean but you can go with it. No kitchen though (there is a microwave at your disposal), and nu common room. We were only in the hotel to sleep, so that was no problem at all. We liked the big window in our room. The hotel is quiet, but we did stay at the fourth floor, so that may not be a referrence.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

23 June 2010

Liked: should give a better service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 June 2010

Liked: IT was not far from the metro, laundry and shops.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lewis Heaton

12 June 2010

Liked: Place to rest your head at best.

Disliked: Lewis left no negative feedback.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels