HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel des Arts

2 star Hotel | 2 Rue Godefroy Cavaignac, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75011

82.7% Overall Rating

436 out of 519 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2013)

"location close to subway, but not central; clean linen and towels, toiletries; front desk staff was helpful; basic room but all you really need"

Read all Hotel des Arts reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 12.42

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note a city tax of EUR 0.78 per person per night is due on arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

Hotel Richard
75.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.6% 308 reviews
Hotel Belfort
55.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 825 reviews
AIJ Paris
25.11 USD

Hostel 77.0% 168 reviews
Bastille Apartments
33.13 USD

Apartment 86.4% 212 reviews
Gardette Park Hotel
89.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 1763 reviews
Hotel Rhétia
34.51 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.8% 224 reviews
Paris Hotel Le Mediterraneen
48.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.8% 122 reviews
Apartments Père Lachaise
35.89 USD

Apartment 87.1% 99 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

436 out of 519 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel des Arts'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 304 of 375 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adam Watson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

10 September 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and secure rooms, able to leave baggage at the hotel on our last day and friendly staff

Disliked: Not enough towels and bathroom light had a mind of its own

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, staff was kind.

Disliked: No common spaces.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. It was very reasonably priced and a comfortable night's sleep.

Disliked: The room we had was a little cramped, and although apparently renovated in 2008, the signs of aging were already showing slightly (peeling paint).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we were on a short stay in paris and were definitely satisfied with the hotel. online rates really fair (for the normal rates of 100€/night I would expect more), nice staff, small rooms but absolutely enough for everyone who only wants a place to sleep, bakery, supermarket, laundromat only 2min. walk, hotel is located in a sweet quartier with some nice shops and bars (with the average paris-prices- unfortunately expensive). for 25€/p.P. per night I would really recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The value for money is very good. You get a small room- which is very normal size for Paris that's quite noisy (because of the lifely street), but if you take earplugs with you it'll be okay- for the nice price it's okay like that.We didn't miss the breakfast, because there are lots of nice bars and brasseries around that offer good coffe and good boulangeries to buy a perfectly fresh croissant or more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Nisbet

Alone

City break

17 August 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and tidy, pretty good location. Area wasn't dodgy at all - few dark alleys but what area doesn't have that.Be sure to make Bastille your "point of reference" - you can access everything from there.

Disliked: Annoyed me that it said "Wifi" on the door but there was no way to use it. My toilet was broken when I arrived, but they offered to give me another room when I got around to complaining.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Andres Salgado Reyes

City break

15 August 2010 Julio Andres would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly staff. Acceptable location

Disliked: Julio Andres left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpfull and happy to speak english. very close to train station with lots of local cafes around. room was clean and secure although on a busy road but the noise want too much of a problem.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicola Linton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The room was basic but clean and with a nice bathroom (although the shower door did not close properly and always flooded the bathroom. The hotel was very close to a lovely bakery and a metro station.

Disliked: The street does not seem busy but in summer it was impossible to sleep with the window open.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nicole Annor

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 July 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: the location, close to the metro station, a supermarket and plenty of resturants to choose from when you walk up the road. Also the staff were lovely and spoke English.

Disliked: the noise from the road!!! it was very warm at night with no fan or ac, so we had the windows open, little did i realise the noise would actually be deafening! I did not sleep a wink the first night and had to purchase earplugs to wear for the duration of my stay! Also rooms could do with some serious dusting and the spiral staircase could do with some extra light, i nearly trip up them!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Colourful rooms, good location, friendly staff. Good value.

Disliked: Nothing. Was quite hot in our room - but it was the middle of summer!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and the staff was happy to speak in English, which seems to be increasingly rare in Paris.

Disliked: A little ways removed from a lot of the main sights of central Paris, but easy access to the metro made up for this.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt more lika a hotell than a hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A clean and quiet small hotel, well located, ideal for a short stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010

Liked: Friendly staff, nice rooms.

Disliked: Very noisy street.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

11 July 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Literally everything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lana Went

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010 Lana would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, <5 min stroll from metro station charonne, which easily connects to other lines. Staff were very helpful and friendly - greet them with a smile and a smile will be returned :-) My room was small-ish for the price but thats common for paris in summer, clean, had a lovely juliet style window, and was the kind of room you could happily come back to relax in.

Disliked: Wifi isn't free, but regardless my netbook stuffed up the connection - but a net cafe is about 1 minute down the road anyway. Luggage room advertised is just a corner in the reception / breakfast area in view of the staff. The reception is attended 24/7 but if you're super keen on a secure luggage room there isn't one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, convenient and clean place. Good value for money. There are a lot of nice restaurants located on the street next to the hostel, and a few small shops around for cheap grocery.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, two metro stations and a lot of restaurants around. The room and bathroom were clean. There was an elevator, which was very useful for heavy bags. The staff spoke English.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 June 2010

Liked: Location mainly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 June 2010

Liked: room was ok. location not the best coming from charone but walking distance to good bars and cafes in bastille with local prices. staff were very helpful and spoke english. was quite noisy at night though and not so clean. i think for the price you could find better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Emre Yesilbas

11 June 2010

Liked: it was quite central and cheap but really dirty!

Disliked: Emre left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot believe the bad reviews I read about this hotel before visiting Paris. My boyfriend and I actually booked this hotel by mistake; we thought we had booked a Hotel des Arts in another part of the city. However, after our stay in the Bastille, we are very glad that we ended up there. It's not too touristy, the atmosphere is friendly, and the hotel was clean and absolutely worth the money. Breakfast is not included, but who wants to eat hotel breakfast in a city like Paris when you can go around the corner for a café au lait and a freshly baked baguette?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good breakfast, good beds and friendly staff. Small elevator, but it's cute :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels