HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels

Reviews of Hotel de Paris

2 star Hotel | 188, Avenue Jean Jaurès, Paris, Île-de-France, France 75019

76.9% Overall Rating

568 out of 767 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2013)

Rhiannon Russell thinks…

"The rooms were very clean and had plenty of space. Bathroom was lovely. Staff were very helpful, spoke good English. Free wifi in rooms. Excellent location."

Read all Hotel de Paris reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Once the booking is made we do a preauthorisation for guarantee the reservation . this is préauthorisation it is not the charge the amount in advance. the bank will be back the money in their account after the check out. Failure to do this 24 hours after the booking is made will result in a cancellation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paris?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paris

St Christopher's Inn Canal
28.99 USD

Hostel 86.4% 2282 reviews
HIPOTEL PARIS BUTTES CHAUMONT
103.53 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Ermitage
44.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 317 reviews
Paris 19th Apartment
38.65 USD

Apartment 64.0% 17 reviews
The Loft Hostel Paris
42.73 USD

Hostel 92.9% 252 reviews
BEAUTIFUL CITY HOSTEL
42.10 USD

Hostel 86.7% 6 reviews
Hôtel de la Comète
45.55 USD

Hotel 78.7% 41 reviews
Peace and Love Hostel
30.23 USD

Hostel 70.7% 960 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

568 out of 767 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel de Paris'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 450 of 462 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhiannon Russell

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and had plenty of space. Bathroom was lovely. Staff were very helpful, spoke good English. Free wifi in rooms. Excellent location.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near the metro station so the centre is easily accessible. 24 hour reception (the night reception guy was the friendliest). the room was clean and there was little fuss.

Disliked: Breakfast was pricey for what it was but there is a patisserie on the road to the right (at the end) which had tasty food. No wifi and no air con, but the room was never too hot.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krishna Mohan Gurajada

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Krishna Mohan would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel has a disadvantage- you can hear voice from othe rooms.. apart from that it iis located very near to metro station.. staff is good..

Disliked: NA

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and fairly quiet.

Disliked: Staff was not helpful in providing directions and seemed focused on talking with friends and smoking. No secure luggage storage. They just leave your luggage on the lobby.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are basic but very clean.

Disliked: The breakfast is very basic, I would suggest a traveler to just go to a cafe in the neighborhood.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Ligtenberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was very clean and every morning we came downstairs, the ladies were busy at work already mopping the hallways and lobby. Main desk men were very helpful, great information for us, helpful calling a taxi etcc.. The hotel is directly across from metro station that took us to all the sights. Across the road is a large park with a canal and food stations etcc.. Great playground for kids.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff can speak good English and they are helpfull. Plus, it is quite clean.

Disliked: The walls don't isolate very well so you can hear the activity in other rooms. Quite noisy although my view was not to the street. The wireless did not work unless I kept the door open.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Laura Iles

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: Very close to the metro station

Disliked: Very small rooms, building work being done in the room next door first thing in the morning-was not forewarned by staff, staff were not that helpful/friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martín Casanova

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 October 2012 Martín would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cheap for a hotel. It's very clean and safe, and the metro station is almost opposite from the front door.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Johansen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 July 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, bargain price, located literally 20 seconds walk from metro stop, great room.

Disliked: I guess we could've used a fridge in our room for beverages and picnic supplies, but we didn't expect a fridge anyway. That's about the only complaint I can think of.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hristina Petkova

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Hristina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.Not fully furnitured room.THe bathroom was under reconstruction,but still usable.

Disliked: Decent hostel in general.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cheap

Disliked: Location is quite far from tourist attractions

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated very close to the underground station - barely 2 minutes walk. The neighbourhood was also rather quiet, with affordable restaurants nearby (jap, steak etc) The hotel itself has a "concierge" sitting at the lobby 24hrs. Really convenient and we could always get our keys immediately. The shared bathroom only had 3 rooms sharing it (judging from the hotel site plan). Did not have to wait for it at all. Doubt anyone used it other than my partner and I. Toilet is separated from the shower so it is kept clean and dry, Loved that we had a sink in the room and the bed was comfortably wide. Lastly, FREE WIFI. didnt even know it till the 2nd day.

Disliked: Due to money constraints, I booked a room that is not-ensuite. The shared bathroom as mentioned was only shared between 2 or 3 rooms. It was at the far end of the corridor, after about 6 - 8 doors so it was a long walk. The toilet itself (separated from shower), was really dim, and on a 3 nights the light wasn't working. I had to leave the door slightly open and do my business really fast or ask my partner to stand guard outside as closing the door entirely will leave me in darkness. The towel smelt like chlorine. Was a little too strong for my comfort. Even though the underground was really near by, the location itself is far away from the city/touristy area (not much of a complain really). Security is a little lax. The safe in my room was not functioning. We had to return our keys to the hotel everytime we go out and it was just hung out in the open.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A possibility that we had a internet; also stuff was very friendly and helpful to us.

Disliked: We were annoyed with ''ladies'' that have cleaned our room every day, so we couldn't sleep enough. But it was just a small problem

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was prominent and very near to station/places

Disliked: Room can be bit more unshabby

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the washroom facilities were also very clean. There is a microwave at the lobby which is very handy for budget travellers.

Disliked: The hotel is EXTREMELY far from all the main attractions with the exception of the open air theatre which is only good for the summer film festival. You need to take a metro to basically everywhere, even just into the main part of Paris. We tried walking but it took us 1.5-2 hrs just to get to the Louvre; then we tried biking but the traffic was really hectic and it took us more than an hour to get into central Paris. Although the hotel rooms are cheap compared to more centrally located ones, it just isn't worth the time that it takes to get to where you want to go, and the money that you'll spend on transportation. We wouldn't stay there again.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011

Liked: showers were clean. internet connection was ok.

Disliked: staff was very rude. their english is poor. they want your key when you go out during the day. i wouldnt recommend this hostel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mozhdeh Seifi

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Mozhdeh would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: internet was not reachable at 4th floor. the pipes needed a plumber to open them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located in one of the main streets an near to the metro so it's easy to get to the center, the room was nice and clean.

Disliked: Internet acces wasn't cheap- 1 euro per 15 minutes

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Veronica Zan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Not a great location, but great price for what you get. Private room was awesome and the staff cleaned every day (which actually made me feel less secure, but nothing was stolen so it's all good). Didn't like turning in my key every time we left but this seems standard for all Paris hotels. Staff spoke good enough English and the room was very clean.

Disliked: Bathroom was dark and outside was very loud. Curtains aren't dark. We didn't really sleep all weekend. But it's pretty close to metro stops as well, so overall recommended.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: Very close to Metro, 20 mins max to most tourist attractions. Close to good restaurants, bakery, ok bars, and grocery shops. Clean and comfortable

Disliked: Booking a private room with ensuite through hostelbookers.com for one price, then getting there and only getting an ensuite for one night and got charged 10 euros more for that night... Noisy, Noisy, Noisy - Either road and traffic noise, hot in the rooms with windows closed at night but cant leave open due to traffic noise, paper thin walls with slamming doors all night and rude guests talking and stomping around.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011

Liked: The location of this hotel is good: right next to the metro and very close to cheap supermarkets and boulangeries. There isn't too much noise from the street because of the many trees. On the other hand the hotel is quite far from the center so you HAVE to take the metro every morning and evening. You can't visit anything walking from the hotel.

Disliked: The room was quite uncosy and small but not that bad certainly for that rent.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 25steps away from the metro ponte de pantin. nice area. lots of restaurant and food stalls. severa groceries. pharmacies.

Disliked: worse wifi signal in the room . end up surfing at the corridor. expensive breakfast. its not 5euros but 8 euros per person for 1 croissant, glass of juice, cup of tea/cofee, and jam.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Wifi, Attendants at front desk were helpful, metro outside the door, on a main street with lots of restaurants etc. Was able to extend my stay in the busy season and stay in the same room. Was able to store my luggage here before my stay for one week.

Disliked: A distance from centre of paris, no air conditioning/fan, too hot to sleep

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 June 2011

Liked: It was simple and clean and right near a Metro stop. Staff spoke English, which was helpful as I don't speak French.

Disliked: Curtains are a see through bit of material so I woke up very early because of the light. Terribly noisy: I unfortunately did not know there was to be a huge street party/rave on the evening I stayed and it did not stop until about 3am. Aside from that, which could be a once off, the traffic noise is pretty bad and also within the hotel - you can hear doors opening/toilets/showers etc.


See all Paris hostels
See all Paris hotels