HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hotel les Orangers

3 star Hotel | 10 bis Avenue Durante, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

62.5% Overall Rating

67 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2013)

Nicolas BENDELI thinks…

"1 min walk to train station; 1 min walk to good fresh food and supermarkets; easy stroll to the beach; right in the heart of NICE with easy access to most things. For the price it is hard to beat"

Read all Hotel les Orangers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hôtel Belle Meunière
31.04 USD

Hostel 69.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Trocadero
40.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.2% 515 reviews
Altair hostel
32.39 USD

Hostel 68.2% 514 reviews
Hostel Baccarat
32.26 USD

Hostel 82.5% 435 reviews
Hotel Berlioz
60.74 USD

Hostel 85.1% 10 reviews
Hotel Little Palace Nice
40.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 26 reviews
Antares Hostel
34.96 USD

Hostel 80.2% 484 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Chez Patrick
43.19 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.5%

Overall Rating

67 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel les Orangers'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 123 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: At least for me it is bad!!!! My Laptop was missing in this hostel!!!!!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lara Merrington Merrington

Alone

Family Holiday

03 July 2013

Liked: The Owners are friendly, the exterior is cure, close to train station.

Disliked: Too many people crowded in one room with very small bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicolas BENDELI

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: 1 min walk to train station; 1 min walk to good fresh food and supermarkets; easy stroll to the beach; right in the heart of NICE with easy access to most things. For the price it is hard to beat

Disliked: No kitchen or security facilties for luggage. This meant that you had to eat out and thus spending money instead of cooking and meeting other hostellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very convenient.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

zuzana sirankova

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

06 May 2013 zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: Position, near train station and near sea, near very very nice restaurant Nissart 19 rue alsace lorraine:) which i recommend to visit.

Disliked: Small space

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

nadia rondino

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 August 2012 nadia would recommend this property

Liked: normal

Disliked: ....

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012

Liked: it was close to walk to the beach and to the station city and stuff

Disliked: 1. we had one bathroom for 13 people and the bathroom was a JOKE (it had no roof and it was INSIDE the sleeping room, which means if you use the toilet or shower everyone listens to you, it was sooo small that you cannot move) 2. no kitchen, no community room or anything like that 3. i saw that they didnt change the cheats 4. they just put a bed in a 12 people room to put inside 13 in the middle of the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Selby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012

Liked: Good price, helpful staff, clean

Disliked: The bathroom was tiny. I could barely get into the shower and I'm a small person. I even had to open the bathroom door just to get in the shower!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2012

Liked: The location being so close to the train station, but the unreliability of the manager meant I didn't save any time. See my 'dislikes'.

Disliked: Right. I arrived at about 5:30PM to find the place locked up. Eventually a guest let me in, and then I waited in reception until about 6:30PM. Somebody who possibly worked there (though it was not apparent what he did) happened to come down and called the manager on his phone and passed the phone to me. Something 'really important' had apparently come up, which explained his absence. He said it was basically my fault because I hadn't given a time when I arrived. I told him that there wasn't an option to give that on the HostelBookers website, but he told me that I was mistaken. I've had another look at the form and there doesn't seem to be anywhere, but maybe I'm missing something... If I am not in fact mistaken, I guess you should phone or email the manager to say when you'll be arriving (if you absolutely have to stay here). Maybe that would make a difference. But in this case I didn't know what time I would be arriving anyway. Anyway, the manager said that he would be back by about 7:30PM and that I could leave my bags at the hostel and come back if I wanted. I was really unsure, so I said I'd do that only if he absolutely promised me that he would be back by half past seven. His response was "Yeah yeah yeah, seven thirty." I foolishly did leave my bags and came back in an hour. It was of course still locked up. A guest let me in again. At about 7:50PM he finally arrived. He repeated his warning that it was vitally important that I let any hostels know when I would be arriving. Finally I got my key and was let into the room. I had hoped to have several hours to explore Nice before sunset, but I ended up with only one hour. He asked me if I'd be checking out early. I told him that it would be 8:30AM. This was obviously fine as the reception would be "open" from 8:30AM. After that earlier experience, it was pretty important to be out at the first opportunity as I had a train to catch and I didn't trust him to be where he said he would be. Anyway, in the morning, the manager was more professional than the evening before as he turned up at 8:50AM, only 20 minutes late. That 20 minutes was taken up me and another guest who wanted to check out repeatedly ringing the little bell on the desk as loudly as possible. So yes, unless you don't mind waiting around and don't have anywhere you want or need to be, I would suggest that you find another hostel. The manager didn't apologise for anything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2012

Liked: The only thing that is good is that its cheap and close to the train station.thats all!

Disliked: Just about everything

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012

Liked: Literally nothing. The location, next to the train station is convenient only in the 5 minutes after you get off the train. Afterwards it becomes less appealing. There was a woman begging outside the door of the hotel almost constantly. It was in a ghetto of sorts.

Disliked: From the second I arrived to this place, I was treated with disdain. The guy running the place is awful. He spoke to me for about 2 minutes when I arrived, then told me he had somewhere to be and said I'd have to wait, which I did, for an HOUR. He continued to be unhelpful and scowled about, seemingly trying to be as unhelpful as possible. The "ensuite" bathroom in the second room I was in (ah, yes, I was also unceremoniously moved to a room full of loud, snoring, disgusting men on my second night) was no more than than a few makeshift walls that didn't even reach the ceiling. I seriously doubt the building meets any sort of safety codes, if they have those here. There was no light in there, and about enough room to put one leg in your pants, if you stuck that leg in the shower. And I'm a size 4. Also disliked the amount of noise. I couldn't sleep even with earplugs. No common areas, no kitchen, no other staff besides the one man, who clearly lives here with his family.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Özer karanfil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011

Liked: Honestly, location was good, close to both the Nice station and beach.

Disliked: Everything except location. But the worst was the insects all around the room especially in the toilet. Because of the cockroaches, we used our sleeping bags on the beds , and we used the toilet as quickly as possible .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was clean and basic and resonable price

Disliked: the bathroom was tiny and lots of stairs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011

Liked: The only reason to stay here is the price.

Disliked: It's not a hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a very good location and the beds were always clean.

Disliked: that when we arrived the room was very dirty because of the other people that was staying there and also that there was only one bathroom for all the people oin the room (12 people) so you had to wait a lot to use it and it didn't smelled good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011

Liked: Location is really good and the staff is nice.

Disliked: The room is too small for 4 people and the bathroom is even more tiny. Besides, it is a little dark inside.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Pablo Daniel Flores

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

22 August 2011

Liked: Location...

Disliked: We must to share the beds, because these were not single bed if not these were double bed.... The bathroom was not working.... really bad! Is not possible pay with credit card!!!! For the price, i was not comfortable!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to beach

Disliked: the toilet and shower where in a cubible in the room, so was awkward using bathroom if others where in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Moynihan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the train station and around a 5-10 minute walk from the beaches and town centre.

Disliked: Only one communal computer in the hostel, although it was free of charge. Ensuite for the dorm of 10 was hardly an ensuite, but rather a shower and toilet screened off from the room by a wall. Private and discreet, it certainly was not.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ekaterina Vaniushkina

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011

Liked: Just 15 minutes to the beach.

Disliked: Very unpleasant staff, bad English speakers. Booked room has been changed to another one with more beds due to flooding just before our arrival. We have to live in dorm with 12 people in small room without any tumb where we could kept out belongings. There was just staff room where you could bring values. Dirty, dirty, dirty... Air conditioner was broken and we waited the whole day when it is fixed.. Bin wasn't change without reminder. This hostel has broken all my positive thinking about hostel in general.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

lina jimenez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: 1. Did not seem a real hostel the actual workers where living there. 2. There is not reception 3. Toilets really small and dirty all the times 4. Rooms far too crowded 12 people in such a small room is not possible 5. Not storage room 6. Not a place to put the luggage so it was in the floor all the time making the room even smaller. 7. Dirtly and smelly linen 8. Not all the staff member speak english which make things harder 10. with the price they should include at least internet free due to the large number if people in the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this hostel. I stayed for two nights in the 12 person dorm. I slept pretty well for being in a room with 11 other people with other schedules and everyone was very nice. The owner wasn't overly nice but he certainly wasn't rude! He gave back my 10 euro deposit with no complaint. The bathroom was very small but it wasn't that bad for europe. All in all, I'd stay there again especially given the low price (for nice - I know someone said they stayed in nicer hostels other places, but nice is expensive).

Disliked: The bathroom sink was very tiny because the bathroom itself was tiny, it was very hard to dress in there - but I just dressed in front of people or under my blanket. Also, the AC wasn't very powerful and the room would sometimes be as hot as one without AC, and then get very cold. If you are staying here because you want AC be aware of that, for me it was not a problem.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - near the train station and a short walk to the beach. Air con in rooms

Disliked: Bathroom inside the room has no ceiling which makes it noisy/awkward. Pillows are half sized and you need to pay for the luggage storage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: no

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the treat from the staff was bad, also the entire hostel was dark and dirty


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels