HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels

Reviews of Hotel De Verdun

2 star Hotel | 49 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, Nice, Côte d'Azur, France 06000

87.4% Overall Rating

89 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2013)

Martin Andersson thinks…

"The location is terrific. It is close to the Old Town, it is close to the train station and close to many bus stops for the most common destinations around Nice. The proximity to the Old Town (Vieux…"

Read all Hotel De Verdun reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 11.05

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nice

Hotel Lafayette
50.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 6 reviews
Hotel Helvetique
36.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.0% 273 reviews
Hotel Nice Riviera
77.81 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
24.87 USD

Hostel 87.3% 428 reviews
Hotel de Kent
61.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.4% 13 reviews
Victoria House Hostel
33.15 USD

Hostel 92.3% 176 reviews
Résidence Ajoupa Baie des Anges
41.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Hostel Paradis
24.80 USD

Hostel 87.8% 289 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

89 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Verdun'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 72 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel lynn

28 October 2009 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful lots of information on things to do in nice very reasonable price

Disliked: rachel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chen Rong

16 October 2009 Chen would recommend this property

Liked: I would like to strongly recommend this hotel. All the staffs are very patient and warmhearted. They provide many useful informations about best routine in Nice and other towns nearby. And they were always ready to help me with my heavy luggage. They can speak fluent English. Lafayette is next to this hostel. The only one uncomfortable thing is there is no place to park if came back to hotel over 8 pm.

Disliked: Chen left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, small bathroom, great location (walking distance to beach and Vieux Nice), towels and beach mats provided upon request, rooms cleaned daily and fresh bath towels provided daily. I would absolutely recommend this. There was one male staff member who worked overnights who was not very friendly but the daytime staff member was super nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MATTHEW SAYER

09 September 2009 MATTHEW would recommend this property

Liked: The hotellier was the most friendly person i have encountered in France and not to generalise but they can be of slightly grumpy persuasion, particularly to english. He went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay

Disliked: MATTHEW left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostal! So close tot place massena and the beach, couldn't be better for that money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brian Boyer

10 August 2009 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, it was in a nice location, near the beach and close to many restaurants.

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was the location - it was VERY central and near all the tourist attractions and the happening areas. Also the train station was a 10/15 minute walk and buses were close by too. It was a 5 minute walk to the sea and loads of places to eat nearby. Also it was a busy area so quite a lot of people everywhere and so it was safer. The hotel website is outdated so don't rely on it!! prices have changed - Also the buffet breakfast costs 8 euros (website said 6 i think) which is quite expensive and instead you could have quite a nice breakfast by going to the cour saleya market nearby (cheaper and nicer) or even eating in a nice place on the promenade. But if you are in a hurry then a one off buffet would be ok..The beds were comfortable but the decor was old. That was a bit of a let down. The carpets were dirty and although the sheets were clean the covers were old and needed an upgrade. We were in a standard double and were told that if you pay 5 euros more we would get a better room so maybe that's an investment if anyone wants to stay here. But generally if you don't intend to stay in the hotel much then its fine and suits its purpose. There is airconditioning (but locked on a certain temperature) and the TV didnt work in our room BUT as I mentioned earlier, if you don't intend to hang around in the hotel then those things shouldn't matter. We were out all day so it wasn't an issue. On the whole, the staff were friendly and helpful and if you are looking for a place with a good location and relatively cheap then this is the right hotel (don't expect much from the hotel itself though but having said that it is a 2* so you get what you pay for). Hope this helps!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

kjell oeystein pedersen

23 July 2009

Liked: the price

Disliked: kjell oeystein left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the incredibly friendly and the hotel was in an amazing location, really close to the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina Staykova

11 June 2009 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked about this property is that the stuff was really friendly and helpful.They provide you with maps, etc.We could leave our luggage for half a day there after we checked out.I was impressed by the cleaningness of the room. Perfect.The only thing which I didn't like in our room was that the toilet was in the room without being anyhow separated from the rest. I guess it shouldn't be a problem because I saw toilets on the floors down which all could use but could be a bit of a problem for new couples.The place was great. Few minutes from square Massena, 10 min walk to Gare Rutiere from where you can catch busses to Monaco, Cannes etc.Besides the 'toilet situation' I am very satisfied from the stay in hotel de Verdun.

Disliked: Valentina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is recently under re-decoration, most of the rooms are newly furnished. Although the tape water had been temporarily suspended, the newly decorated bathroom swiped the discontent away. Beside, one of the staff served us wholeheartedly, carrying our luggage and explicitly explained our queries which secure us during the one night stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, lift only after the first floor but good, nice people, parking in front

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a good location, but if you come by car, there is a very big problem to find parking place, because this hostel is located in the center. The closest public parking costs 20 euro for 10 hours, it's expensive for people who are looking for a cheap accomodation. The first guy we met at the reception wasn't very kind and friendly to us, when we were trying to get some help. But another guy who were in the morning on the reception was very kind and was trying to help us with all questions we had. Also the bad thing what we really didn't like was that in the bathroom there was a smell of rotten egg, and when we went out, we forgot to close the door to the bathroom, and we didn't have a nice smell in the room. But if the location and price are important for you, I think that it's the good place to stay, but if you are coming by car I wouldn't recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kindness of the people that work there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: warm hearted staff,always ready to help!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Niall Smith

20 September 2008 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: Niall left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Harbitz

31 August 2008 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

rebecca chad

17 August 2008

Liked: Location centralBig bathroom

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Goryunova

17 August 2008 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and friendly staff

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a bit hot and stuffy in our room granted we were there in august...and the shower was also tiny but otherwise a pleasant stay - very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephanie Emila

07 August 2008 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brett Judge

26 July 2008 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff were great, always eager to help..

Disliked: Brett left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, close to the beach!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent situation - right in the centre of townAccomodation clean, however furnishings dated and tardy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Nice hostels
See all Nice hotels