HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Le Huitieme

1 star Hotel | 72 avenue de mazargues, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13008

60.7% Overall Rating

32 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2013)

"The room was clean enough. There was a supermarket right across the street. The wi-fi was pretty good."

Read all Hotel Le Huitieme reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Kyriad Paradis
44.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Sylvabelle Marseille
24.85 USD

Hostel 70.2% 95 reviews
Hôtel Première Classe Marseille
34.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.2% 87 reviews
Hotel du Palais
54.53 USD

Hotel 88.3% 22 reviews
Hotel Montgrand
30.37 USD

Hotel 78.6% 54 reviews
Hello Marseille
34.51 USD

Hostel 90.7% 79 reviews
Vertigo Vieux Port
32.44 USD

Hostel 87.1% 273 reviews
Hotel ARIANA
35.06 USD

Hotel 71.6% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.7%

Overall Rating

32 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Le Huitieme'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
64.8%
Value
63.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013

Liked: cheap. location is good.

Disliked: crappy everything.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tomasz Szafran

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013

Liked: Absolutely Nothing. Seriously. PEOPLE !! Stay away from this place.

Disliked: When we arrived there was nobody in the reception so we could not get any informations about Marseille. I travell with my friend, we booked a twin room (2 beds) and we ware given a double (1 bed) insteed. When I phoned the owner I heard that it must have been a booking mistake and he could not do anything about it. Money was taken from my account before we arrived so we could not go to another hostel. It is the worst hostel I have ever slept in. NOT RECOMMENDED

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Metro station. Helpful owner at the reception. Nice area.

Disliked: To small rooms.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013

Liked: The room was clean enough. There was a supermarket right across the street. The wi-fi was pretty good.

Disliked: The room was very cold, the reception was closed most of the time. If we had arrived later, we would have been locked out, and probably would have had to go to another hotel. We were lucky enough to get in, but then later we had to go to the restaurant next door to borrow a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine. That's the kind of think that you would think you could do in the lobby of the hotel, which has a bar and is supposed to be open 24 hours a day. When we checked in, the guy seemed to be late for something and wanted to just deal with us as fast as possible. The location is very far away from the city center. Half an hour by foot and metro. There was no soap in the bathroom.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simple

Disliked: a bit durty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly staff, very comfortable.

Disliked: The communal toilet was small and seemed to service a lot of rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012

Liked: It was quiet....

Disliked: The staff is non-existent. None of their contact numbers (all 3 or 4 of them) work, so when we arrived at the hotel to find the lights out and the lobby vacant (with locked doors), it took us a very long time to get a hold of someone to be able to even get into our own hotel. The next night someone had deadbolted the door so no matter how many times we entered the security code the door wouldn't open. Once again no one was around to help us, and absolutely none of the numbers worked (we were either immediately disconnected or sent to a Spanish voicemail) so it was only after a half hour later of phone calls and jimmying with the deadbolt that we were able to get into the hotel. We also had bedbugs in our beds. Thankfully the one time we saw a person working there we told them and were switched to a different room. We still had to pay the full price even though we got a cheaper room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean. Facilities were also very good and it is within a short walking distance from the metro station. It is also very safe.

Disliked: Walls are thin, so if your neighbour decides to be noisy, you're going to hear him for sure!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 November 2011

Liked: location was near conference centre

Disliked: Was very noisy, reception opened late when i wanted to check in, no toliet despite booking ensuite that meant a shower and a sink and my light in my room didnt work

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: practical, didn't have to be ponctual for the check-in, they send me the entrance code per mobile phone

Disliked: ordered a room with two beds, got a room with one bed; community toilets, in general it's quite simple, but enough

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011

Liked: Staff was very friendly when they were around, very relaxed and quite clean if you don't consider the floor.

Disliked: Floor was disgusting, and as I arrived on a sunday there were no reception, so we had to wait for about 45 minutes after we called them to recieve our entry code. The whole area seemed a bit dodgy on the Sunday as almost everything surrounding the hotel was closed too.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011

Liked: Absolutely nothing - DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Disliked: EVERYTHING!! We encountered BED BUGS for the first time in our whole 6 months of travelling USA and Europe. The hotel denied that they had bed bugs after I had visited a Physician and he had confirmed it. When I confronted the staff about the issue of Bed Bugs (by this time I had come down with an allergic reaction to them and was covered in whelts from head to toe) they threatened to call the police! We left in a hurry, with no understanding, discount of FIXING of the problems - YOU WILL GET BITTEN AND ITS FOUL

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Alesha Milliken

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011

Liked: Proximity to the metro station and beaches, near to supermarkets. Appreciated the txt sent with arrival details due to missed phone call. Warmly welcomed by reception upon arrival in English.

Disliked: Room was filthy! Shower head holder was broken, and shower had grime and cobwebs throughout. Toilet was wobbly at its base and had a towel shoved behind to soak up any leaks. Every time toilet was flushed the waste water would be purged into the shower - disgusting not to mention unhygienic! Spoke to reception about a reduced rate due to the aforementioned problems, he was rude and unhelpful and spoke in French despite speaking to us in English the entire stay. At checkout we asked him to call the manager, whom offered us a discount. The reception then attempted to overcharge us, neglecting the fact that we had already paid 10% to HostelBookers, thus the rate was higher than prior to discount! We paid the correct amount and proceeded to leave with him shouting at us threatening to call the Police because he was incapable of correct maths.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 September 2011

Liked: on of the members of staff was vry nice and helpful

Disliked: Extremely messy room, bathroom. Bowl flush clogged. When we arrived there was no one in the hotel, we had to wait for someone to come and let us.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Not such an interesting area.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Simon Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011

Liked: clean. honest. friendly.

Disliked: we could not find anywhere to do laundry and the whole neighbourhood closes down at 9pm even on a friday or sat night.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2011

Liked: .

Disliked: Terrible hostel. Unfriendly staff, wasn't there on time to receive us (everyone was saying this is always the case), which made our group loose like 3 hours in Marseille. Rooms are not clean and the location is terrible. I wouldn't advice anyone to choose this hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean room. Walking distance from the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was a mix up with the rooms but was all sorted out in the end. The beds were a bit fragile

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Beth Barnes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to haev private shower and sink within room and very comfy beds! It was close to the metro from which you could easily get to the centre on. Also fairly close to the beach which was good! Hotel owner answered our questions although he wasn't great with directions!!!

Disliked: Would have liked a toilet in the room as well. Could be a little bit noisy from the traffic if the window was open at night. No onsite laundrette was a bit of an issue for us. Would have been nice to have the breakfast included with the price rather than an extra.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011

Liked: clean sheets

Disliked: tiny rooms, reception wasnt open when the guy said it would be so we missed our train. when we first arrived we were locked outside the hostel for an hour before someone contacted us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach!very good location.

Disliked: Hope there are more staff who can speak english.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clarence Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Clarence would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very accommodating as we arrived as 2 people not just 1 as according to the reservation. He was professional and helpful. He "closed" the place at night, so there was noone at "reception" but we hung out downstairs anyway...it made it feel like it was our own little place for the evenings we were there.

Disliked: a little hot in the room...but expected.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and comfortable

Disliked: desk not always open during hours posted

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a private room wasn't too expensive

Disliked: that there was no one at the reception at night, so if you needed something, no one could help you.