HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Lutetia

2 star Hotel | 38 Allée Léon Gambetta, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13001

81.1% Overall Rating

22 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2013)

"Staff were brilliant, very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean with basic facilities."

Read all Hotel Lutetia reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Hotel ARIANA
32.13 USD

Hotel 72.9% 21 reviews
Newhotel Saint Charles ex Newhotel Select
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.7% 44 reviews
Hotel Victory
27.83 USD

Hotel 75.2% 32 reviews
London connection LDN
18.98 USD

Hostel 59.3% 386 reviews
Hotel Azur
36.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.3% 82 reviews
Vertigo Hostel
28.46 USD

Hostel 88.0% 207 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.9% 110 reviews
Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port
88.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Lutetia'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.3%
Facilities
74.2%
Cleanliness
84.2%
Staff
86.7%
Value
78.3%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013

Liked: Staff were brilliant, very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean with basic facilities.

Disliked: The hotel is in a slightly dodgy area, which does not feel very safe at night.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: Customer service is poor if you dont speak french.street was full of men urinating and yelling at night, doesn't make you feel safe to walk this street if you are a female by yourself

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all the stuff OK

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Rees

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Great room with a balcony which was a real bonus. The lift whilst very small is an added bonus.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Martin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool and quiet room. Nice change from crowded hostels. All of the staff that we spoke with spoke English. It was raining the entire time we were there, and we were given free umbrellas :-)

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eray ARAS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Eray would recommend this property

Liked: Nice.

Disliked: Location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very safe and inviting. The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was included, which is always a bonus, and the room itself was clean and warm. Location was right near both a supermarket and the train station. Great hotel to be at!

Disliked: More than anything the area of Marseille wasn´t a place that i would like to be out at night, but the hotel was a safe zone

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although Marseille is not at the same standard as other European cities, this hotel maintains the standard of other similarly-priced European hotels. Also, there were many complaints about the price of the breakfast; I liked the range of items available and the buffet nature. For a person who eats and drinks a lot, the 8 euros is a great deal, especially since there isn't much else around the hotel other than fast food and a grimy marche.

Disliked: My only complaint is that cigarette smoke seemed to travel through the central air-conditioning. It wasn't overpowering, but it was noticeable. That said, a/c was nice to have.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location and a beautiful view of the city from our balcony. Also free internet access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station, fairly clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: This wasn't a huge deal to me, but I ended up paying more like 72 euros for what was advertised as a 60 euro double room. I paid the 6 euro deposit fee on hostelbookers, then upon arriving at the hotel I was charged another 61.50. I asked why I wasn't paying just the additional 54 euros, and was told that the booking fee was just the internet commission. I'm fairly certain that was incorrect, but I had no way to prove it and didn't see much point in arguing. Bottom line, I'm not sure they know hostelbooker policies.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and well air conditioned which made our stay comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and we made good use of the free internet service (although not very accessible during the early evenings as only 1 computer). Great value for money and conveniently close to the train stop. Although the Hotel is on a main road, the noise from outside was well buffered!

Disliked: Would be useful to have an extra computer with headphones and speakers so we can access Skype.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station

Disliked: Near the red-light district of Marseille. Dirty part of the city. Not safe for females at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good price for a one night stay. It was very close to lots of shopping and food. Very close to the train/bus station. TV in our room, clean sheets and towels. Staff spoke English, which helped a lot.

Disliked: The neighbourhood seems very scary (I don't really know what the rest of Marseille is like, we were only there for one night).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

WING CHING MAN

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 June 2010 WING CHING would recommend this property

Liked: new decor.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Sandin

23 April 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This was by far one of the best value hotels I have ever stayed in. Beautiful rooms, very helpful staff, free internet in the lobby, great location (walking distance from everything), and really comfortable beds. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.