HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Saint Louis

3 star Hotel | 2 rue des recolettes, Marseille, Côte d'Azur, France 13001

87.9% Overall Rating

103 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"It's a really nice hotel in a side street of sin shopping street, just a few meters far from the port.. Really in the heart if the city.. We had a small but totally nice and clean room which has two tiny balconies to…"

Read all Hotel Saint Louis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marseille?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marseille

Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port
88.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Victory
27.83 USD

Hotel 75.2% 32 reviews
Newhotel Saint Charles ex Newhotel Select
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.7% 44 reviews
Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille
89.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 20 reviews
Hotel ARIANA
32.13 USD

Hotel 72.9% 21 reviews
Hotel Montgrand
31.31 USD

Hotel 78.3% 57 reviews
Hotel Lutetia
48.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Vertigo Hostel
28.46 USD

Hostel 88.0% 207 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

103 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Saint Louis'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hotel in a side street of sin shopping street, just a few meters far from the port.. Really in the heart if the city.. We had a small but totally nice and clean room which has two tiny balconies to the street.. The receptionists helped us by every question..

Disliked: The location it's pretty good but in this side street you could see the other face of marseille .. It's cool to walk in main shopping street but this side street look a little bit scary.. If you don't mind to walk this few steps to the hotel, this hotel worth your stay

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gilmore Mercieca

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Gilmore would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kee Ann Chng

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Kee Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located near St Charles station, and is situated in the city area. So attractions are pretty much walkable. There are alot of convenience shops and cheap cafes nearby which is a plus point. The rooms are clean and pretty much like any 3 star rating hotel. I like that the rooms are decorated to give off a specific theme. Rooms are also spacious. Staff were pretty friendly, but not all of them are well-versed in english. Reception is 24hrs though, making things convenient for visitors. Also, there's free wifi! But during my stay, it was down for two days.. Other than that, everything else was good.

Disliked: Kee Ann left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff were very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great weekend stay. Close to the Old Port and Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter b

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpfull staff. Always with a smile. Nice location close to old port, the train station and the multiculti hoods.

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Faria

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and pretty with a nice view of Marseille!! The location is very good. Close to the port and the centre of the city!!

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't included!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and centrally located.

Disliked: The neighbourhood is a bit rough. There's a bar next door was a little intimidating as a solo female traveller.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Gilmour

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building that has been updated nicely.. Loved our little balcony! Great value. The staff speak english which was very helpful, and gave great recommendations about what to do on our day trip and how to use the bus!

Disliked: Nothing, I thought it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Weier Yao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 July 2012 Weier would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, near the main street and the old port. The staff is quite helpful and the room is very nice and comfortable.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hotel and sweet and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joas Souza

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2011

Liked: Great caracter, huge bedrooms with classic and good taste decoration, friendly staff and very next to the city centre.

Disliked: The biggest bad point is the street where the hotel is located, the rue des Récollettes is one of the most dodgy places that I ever been in France, absolutely unsafe, dirty and full of weird/suspicious people, most of the them, poor immigrants. I definitely didn't liked. The breakfast is average, some cheese and ham would be great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The big problem with this hotel is that is is so noisy. We were in room 11 (rooms 11 and 12) are located right by reception and over looking the front of the hotle, this means that you can hear all the noise of the reception and the road. The market starts setting up at 5.30 am. I did not sleep at all being a light sleeper. As we checked out I noticed that they sell earplugs on reception, so i feel that others have complained about this. DON'T STAY IF YOU ARE A LIGHT SLEEPER!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful, English-speaking staff. Very nice decor for the price of the room. central location.

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: charming and clean room

Disliked: the view

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice service, and very clean.

Disliked: Liked everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Fitzpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. We took a cab from the station and it took about 5 minutes. Seems like a bit of a trecherous walk from the station though (if you have luggage). The hotel is right in the centre and about a 3 minute walk to the port. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very nice for the 36euro we paid per person.

Disliked: Not much to dislike about it really!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Debora Dusina

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011

Liked: The location in the city center.

Disliked: Even if we were in the city center, it was not a safe, clean area, it was full of rubbish. The elevator didn't work and so we have to carry our luggage for 5 floors! (The guy at the reception helped us but it was not a good surprise). The moquette of the room needed to be changed and the bidet leaked. One guy at the reception was a bit rude and the other one, even if helpful and friendly, seemed to have forgotten that I had already paid a deposit for the hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

elizabeth bechtold

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: just such a good location, right in the heart of all you want to see in Marseille

Disliked: we arriver with too many bags and the lift was out of order, as we were located on the top floor the staff helped out with carring up many stairs.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good for the train station, metro, and port. The hotel rooms were small but cute and had a nice charm to them.

Disliked: We did not like the cleanliness of the city and the people seemed a little sketchy at night around the hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room

Disliked: the neighbouring

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great hotel! It was a great value for the money. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and the hotel was quiet. The consierge was extremely helpful and let us store our bags there after we checked out. There are many restaurants around the area of the hotel and it is just a few blocks from Vieux Port.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, comfortable beds, clean and great location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleanliness.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff

Disliked: area seemed slightly sketchy