HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lyon hostels

Reviews of Hotel Les Carres Pegase

3 star Hotel | 31 Rue Chevreul, Lyon, France 69007

79.8% Overall Rating

111 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

Gemma Dalby thinks…

"The room is modern, spacious and comes equipped with everything you need, including a kettle. It's also super clean. It's really close to everything."

Read all Hotel Les Carres Pegase reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 12.15

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Important Information Reception: Week days: open til 10pm from Monday to Friday Week-ends: open 8am to 12 and 6 to 10pm (Saturday, Sunday and bank holidays)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lyon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lyon

Hotel de la Marne
28.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.4% 291 reviews
Axotel Perrache
43.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.8% 24 reviews
Hotel de Bretagne
68.16 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.6% 301 reviews
Hôtel Kyriad Lyon Croix Rousse
30.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.9% 43 reviews
Kyriad Lyon Sud Saint Foy.
37.12 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Saphir
55.34 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.7% 57 reviews
Residence Hotel Bioparc
35.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 9 reviews
Hotel Stars Lyon-Bron
21.33 USD

Hotel 68.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

111 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Les Carres Pegase'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 112 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Dalby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The room is modern, spacious and comes equipped with everything you need, including a kettle. It's also super clean. It's really close to everything.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good price, clean room.

Disliked: No problems!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the small rooms you have also have a kitchen and the rooms look new and nice.

Disliked: You can't book in between 12 and 6pm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Close to river and main town square -Nice clean beds and room -Helpful staff -Easy to get to

Disliked: -No chance to get to know other travellers -Lack of free wifi

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities such as the kitchen is very good. Clean rooms and toilets.

Disliked: Had to PAY for wifi! The location is not ideal, it is a bit far from the center but the metro is close.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty okay location. We had a little kitchen in our room with cups, dishes, knives, etc. which was useful when we made breakfast. As a neither like or dislike comment, the middle-aged older woman at the desk was rather eccentric towards us.

Disliked: Shower had drainage problems. Elevator was also broken when we first arrived. Not the best-looking hostel. It's not a place I'd definitely return to, but it's definitely acceptable for its low price. The neighborhood around the hostel doesn't feel the safest at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Nathalie Vlckova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2011 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The price is very good and it has a very good location.

Disliked: The stairs smelled like trash.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a clean lovely penthouse, and the place was really near to a tram stop and convenience store. Being able to cook is a plus for budget travellers like us. The staff is really friendly and helpful as well.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy and fast check in/out

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

26 June 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: staff at the reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dandan Zhu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Dandan would recommend this property

Liked: It's relly a nice place,near the tram T1.Staff are helpful and interesting to teach you some french now and then.Really value for the money!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vladimir Lazarev

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2011 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: We've arrived lately but still could get our keys. Clean room and pretty new bathroom.

Disliked: WiFi could be free (3eu now). Could be more towels and larger towels. Early checkout (11 am).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dean Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: good cooking facilities in large rooms, good location and overall great value for a budget hotel.

Disliked: Bit of a faff to get in with electronic system - especially when you dont have code to get in first door.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, close to the Rhone river and VeloV station

Disliked: Not particularly well-kept, lots of broken items in the room. There was rarely anyone at the front desk. Even when someone was on duty, they seemed to leave for coffee breaks regularly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARA BUCO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 MARA would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the liberty, the silence, the space, the breakfast...everything!

Disliked: Nothing to point

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huijia Teh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Huijia would recommend this property

Liked: The price is cheap for the facilities available - a kitchenette, en suite toilet, microwave oven, sink and comfortable beds.

Disliked: The reception is open at funny times, 8-12 and opens again at 6pm

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hr check-in is avaliable using a machine by the door. Useful if transport arrives late. Spacious and clean rooms.

Disliked: Had to wait for other people staying at hotel to open door for us as checkin machine only provides room key but not code to unlock door.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: The room was comfortable.

Disliked: It's a long walk from most of the sights. The fact that the reception is closed for six hours in the middle of the day is pretty annoying too. Apparently there is a machine at the door for self check-in, but they didn't tell us that, so we waited until 6pm before going there to check-in. They are very particularly about you cleaning the room and leaving it exactly as you left it; they even claim they will charge you 30 euros if you don't empty the garbage can. Since when do guests empty their own garbage in a hotel?!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - good rooms with kitchen and tv - very cheap to stay and perfect place for sightseeing - with foot 10 minutes from the city with all cultur builts! we saw all by foot. - it has a garage in the hostel. we had a safety place for our car! nice service

Disliked: it was not to 100 percent clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious and clean . We had everything we needed and more. We had our own bathroom, our own kitchen facilities (fridge, microwave, hob, crockery etc) cupboard, full-length mirror, comfortable beds etc. Slept easily; even napping during the day there were no disturbances. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Everything was easy to access. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GABOR BOJTE

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 February 2011 GABOR would recommend this property

Liked: Seems like in the last few months France started to be more friendly with the English speaking people too. I am not English but I have seen the improvements of the bilinguality everywhere. Well done! Staff in the Les Carres Pegase were friendly and even though they didn't speak good English, they were very friendly. In case if needed it was always somebody there who could speak foreign languages. The hotel is clean, quiet, well located and safe. Good value for the money. We arrived late( after closing the reception 10 pm) but with the check- in machine from the entrance we were able to receive the room key and to check in.

Disliked: No tourist map of Lyon at the reception...sorry guys...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Solórzano Margain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great

Disliked: It´s location could be better

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kali McCullough

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Kali would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good; everything we wanted to see in Lyon was nearby and reachable on foot.

Disliked: The help desk wasn't very helpful at all; they failed to mention that on New Year's Eve Day they would close at noon, so we just barely got to the hostel in time to get our keys before everyone left for lunch. I can't imagine what would have happened if we'd been 5 minutes later; we'd have paid for a hotel room, but would have had no access to the building. That's just a special situation because of the holiday, but if you're traveling during the holidays, do call ahead to see if the reception office is keeping special hours! Also, the walls are very thin. Since it was NYE, there were parties going on everywhere, but because the walls were so thin, we couldn't get to sleep until the wee hours of the morning (which was a shame because we had a train to catch at 7 a.m.!) Bring earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quite and i can enjoy me-time on my studio room! The facilities in the room are quite nice and staff is helpful and nice. Besides, it's very convenient that there are supermarket, bakery and delicatessen around hostel!

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Li Jia Lim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Li Jia would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: none


See all Lyon hostels