HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lyon hostels

Reviews of Hotel de la Marne

2 star Hotel | 78 rue de la Charite, Lyon, France 69002

82.4% Overall Rating

267 out of 294 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Alyssa Korbelas thinks…

"I really enjoyed how open and inviting the property was! It made me feel safe and at home"

Read all Hotel de la Marne reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking via the website the hotel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lyon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lyon

Axotel Perrache
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.5% 25 reviews
Hotel de Bretagne
63.88 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.3% 302 reviews
Kyriad Lyon Sud Saint Foy.
34.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 3 reviews
Best Western Saphir
51.87 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.7% 57 reviews
Residence Hotel Bioparc
1,263.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 9 reviews
Hotel Stars Lyon-Bron
22.33 USD

Hotel 68.8% 24 reviews
Kyriad Lyon - Bron Eurexpo
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

267 out of 294 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel de la Marne'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 200 of 242 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Alejandro Munoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011

Liked: Only to be alone in tha bedroom

Disliked: The woman on reception, i call them and she does't speak english and only say me "Au revoir" and hung down the telephone... And the oer thing this that i paid 17 euros in internet and thenthey said me that all the money was for HostelBookers, and i can't use the deposit :S

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, very clean, good facilities (except kitchen) and staff were very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011

Liked: The location is excellent, just a few minutes from Perrache station and within walking distance of the city center. The staff are very friendly, although some of them speak limited English. The room was quiet.

Disliked: The room was small and smelled of old cigarette smoke. The air conditioning worked but made the smoky smell even worse, so we left the windows open at night instead. The bed was rather hard en sagged in the middle. The shower was annoyingly small (I kept bumping into the tap when I tried to turn around).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Polite and helpful staff

Disliked: Te extra cost for breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to the station but quiet, and good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very nice staff. We liked it much!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kevin Godfree

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station which was ideal as this was waypoint on way to Nice. Nice rooms back from the street so was quiet for decent nights kip. After spending last month in hostels was luxury to have own room with ensuite. Bliss.

Disliked: Limited English at front desk but not a major. Was the most expensive night of whole trip.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly reception staff who all spoke English. Nicely furnished room. Wifi Larger than average bathroom for this grade of property in France

Disliked: No mini bar in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenience to Transport

Disliked: nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Deirdre Rodericks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Deirdre would recommend this property

Liked: It's Librium is great. You are In walking distance of perch station, old Lyon an the basilica, tons of shopping and great restaurants. The woman at reception was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a map and circled the best things to do for our length of stay and gave us the information for some nearby delicious bouchons. The room was basic but clean, as was the bathroom.

Disliked: There was a safe but luggage storage was just in the lobby with reception watching it. Also this is not the place for you if you want more of a hostel experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa burns

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 May 2011 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: everything was lovely. breakfast was good and the staff were really nice.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful room (and clean), friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Nothing :-)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and kind! Location was great and very close to the centre of town. The room is well decorated and comfortable, and a lovely bathroom. TV and a little table and chair. And we were allowed to check out late. Definite value for money! Would recommend this hotel to everyone, and would most definitely stay here again!

Disliked: N/A

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011

Liked: clean

Disliked: staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arunee jittanon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 April 2011 arunee would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great ..only 3 minutes walking from Perrache train station. also very close for food and shopping.

Disliked: At first it is a bit confusing to get to the place. French people do not speak English well. They could direct you to the wrong places...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm, welcoming staff. Great breakfast! Cosy feel.

Disliked: NA

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Pew

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, free internet and good location. Even the single room was quite spacious fou

Disliked: The rooms are in separate buildings so you need go outside to get to the office and they require you to put down a metal shutter at night time. Great if you want to block out the sun completely but as a result i kept sleeping in and missing the breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernhard Heissenberger

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

12 December 2010 Bernhard would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the city center of Lyon and the staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. 24-hr reception as a plus! Rooms were cleaned daily.

Disliked: Not everybody was able to speak English, but nevertheless the staff tried to help.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location in the city centre.

Disliked: Dusty furniture. In general, the room ins't perfectly clean, although bed sheets looked fresh.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice, the room althought was small it was realy confortable.

Disliked: It's in front of a School a the student are kind of noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good infra

Disliked: the man that worked some nights

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean space with good location - staff very helpful

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and secure. Nice bathroom and functioning air con.

Disliked: Bed was very hard and the air conditioner had only one setting, arctic. Also do not get the room next to the laundry its incredibly noisy, as are the metallic stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Malorie Garrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Malorie would recommend this property

Liked: We got what we expected at Hotel de la Marne. Tv in room, ensuite bathroom, very clean, nice staff. They had a bar where you could buy drinks but we didn't see people hanging out there. Location is good, its close enought to down town that you can walk if you want or take the metro which is also very close.

Disliked: There is an air condition in unit that you can controll, but it did not work as well as we hoped- we were hot at night.


See all Lyon hostels