HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lyon hostels

Reviews of Hotel de la Marne

2 star Hotel | 78 rue de la Charite, Lyon, France 69002

82.4% Overall Rating

266 out of 293 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Alyssa Korbelas thinks…

"I really enjoyed how open and inviting the property was! It made me feel safe and at home"

Read all Hotel de la Marne reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking via the website the hotel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lyon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lyon

Axotel Perrache
43.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.5% 25 reviews
Hotel Les Carres Pegase
36.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.8% 134 reviews
Hotel de Bretagne
67.15 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.6% 301 reviews
Hôtel Kyriad Lyon Croix Rousse
29.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.5% 45 reviews
Kyriad Lyon Sud Saint Foy.
36.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Saphir
52.52 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.7% 57 reviews
Residence Hotel Bioparc
34.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 9 reviews
Hotel Stars Lyon-Bron
21.01 USD

Hotel 68.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

266 out of 293 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel de la Marne'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 200 of 241 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fantastic hotel, staff really helpful and friendly. Clean, tidy great location near a main tram stop and value for money. really nice feel too- sort of cozy and quirky.

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandar Shterev

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 May 2012 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Evething

Disliked: Evething was perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleanliness

Disliked: no window

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Davis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Had a 3 bed suite, and it was quite small, but that wasn't a problem for us! Beds were made every day, shower worked well, etc. Wifi was great.

Disliked: No problems.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has TV, hair dryer, towels, etc. all included. Comfortable bed. It was very clean! Has a safe in the room.

Disliked: Staff didn't speak much English so we had some difficulty communicating, but they were very friendly and welcoming. The previous guest left the safe locked and the receptionist didnt know how to unlock it for us. No elevator but I think there are only two (maybe three) floors.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Close distance from the railway station, easy access to public transportation, city centre and supermarket. - Nice staffs.

Disliked: The area is narrowed and the room is not well soundproofed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esen Esener

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Esen would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed twice in this hotel, it has two stars but it deserves more than two. I felt really comfortable. The rooms are small and it includes private bathroom. In the first room where I stayed, there wasn't any safe but the last room where I stayed, there was a safe. There is radiator and air conditioning. The rooms are cleaned every day.

Disliked: For me, this wasn't a problem due to my lenght but beds are a little small, so if you are very tall, you'll have probably problem with it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mariana Micheleto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2012 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: O hotel é ótimo. O quarta era limpo, tinha ar-condicionado, aquecedor, uma banheiro limpo e relativamente grande! Os funcionários eram simpáticos e prestativos. Adorei minha estadia no Hotel de la Marne. Recomendo!

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff members, clean room, we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel the morning we arrived even though it was several hours before the stated check-in time.

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bridget Weisenreder

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely helpful and cheerful around the clock.

Disliked: Ants.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: C'etait propre, il y avait pas de soucis ni problemes.

Disliked: pas de problemes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and close to a lot if shops and restaurants. A short walk to the Old Town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the rooms are new and very clean. It's not expensive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, welcoming hotel with plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Laundromat was also just a 5 min walk away which was great. The staff were very helpful and let us leave our bags at the hotel until late afternoon on the day of checkout.

Disliked: Skip the breakfast. you can pay as little as 50 cents for beautiful croissants at the bakeries which are just down the street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Weiner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Perrache, very attentive staff, 24-hour reception. They also gave me a significantly lower price than the official one; I'm not sure why, but I appreciated it!

Disliked: Breakfast not included.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012

Liked: Free wifi, room ok

Disliked: Bathromm dirty, very old building, noisy (thin walls, you can hear everything people say on the other rooms), the receptionist didn't want to give me a single bedroom, so i had to pay for a double.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sanchai Chotirosseranee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Sanchai would recommend this property

Liked: The location is nearby the train station.

Disliked: The internet signal is not good to reach my room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and atmosphere and price

Disliked: the break first is too expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to lyon-perrache, friendly staff.

Disliked: it was worth the price...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and the staff are very friendly. Plus, the location is very good, 10 mins walking to the centre square.

Disliked: check-out time is 11:30am, it could be around 12 or later.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small hotel with friendly staff.

Disliked: breakfast not included

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ana Paula Rivera

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2011 Ana Paula would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely well located, and the staff is extraordinarely nice and helpful. I've stayed in another 2 hotels at Lyon and the staff of this hotel was, by far, the nicest. There's a convenience store right at the corner and Gare Perrache is just one block away, as well as Rue Victor Hugo which leads you to Place Bellecour (hence to the City Centre) in less than 10 min walking. I arrived some nights after 10 pm and it wasn't dangerous. Again, if you're looking for a well located, reasonably clean and friendly hotel this hotel will be perfect,

Disliked: Breakfast is not varied nor abundant. Some of the staff members do not speak english, but (unlike other hotels) they are aware of this and are trying to ammend it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Pack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Room was nice & comfortably furnished, as was the lobby

Disliked: Shaky wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Perrache train station. Makes it easy to get around Lyon. Pay breakfast, but it's good. Attractive and comfortable lobby with a complete selection of Tintin and Asterix comics (even the early, politically incorrect Tintin books!).

Disliked: The internet connection hardly worked (not the end of the world, but annoying). The shower door in my room was slightly off its hinge. This didn't impede me and I assume they will fix it as it's rather obvious.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner very friendly, location is good, nearby many local shops!

Disliked: receptionist doesnt speak english, totally in French speaking. internet very weak, but overall the hotel is good!


See all Lyon hostels