HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper

2 star Hotel | Impasse de l’Androsace, Mont-Blanc, Chamonix, France 74400

90.9% Overall Rating

57 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2013)

"The relaxed home atmosphere plus the staff that was extremely helpful and super nice."

Read all AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed
  • High chair
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If arriving before 5pm please go strait to the check in of at 5B Résidence Le Mummery, 27 Avenue du Savoy, 74400 Chamonix Mont Blanc, FRANCE (about 1 minute walk from the Chalet). If arriving later then you can go to the chalet first and arrange payment - AAE CHAMONIX CHALET WHYMPER, Impasse de l’Androsace, 74400, Chamonix Mont Blanc.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chamonix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chamonix

AWA Hotel Louvre
62.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
AWA Chamonix Chalet Hideaway
81.21 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Astoria
58.67 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA La Source Chamonix
41.84 USD

Hostel 84.3% 4 reviews
AWA Chamonix Chalet Pele
61.36 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 9 reviews
Le Vagabond
29.50 USD

Hostel 77.0% 62 reviews
Villa Montblanc
20.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel-Chalet-Gite The Chamoniard Volant
22.09 USD

Hostel 79.4% 361 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

57 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Chamonix Chalet Whymper'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed home atmosphere plus the staff that was extremely helpful and super nice.

Disliked: The communal area, i.e. kitchen and staircase are a bit run-down and in need of an overhaul.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and open use of facilities

Disliked: hard to find contact person to let us in to accomodation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Batt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, gave us lots of tips about where to eat and when to see the sights.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Del Dornan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Del would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and relaxed atmosphere. The young english guy was really helpful and made us feel nothing was any trouble.

Disliked: Nothing really, we loved it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant staff - exceptionally helpful and caring. It is an excellent place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good, central location, but also a quiet street. Friendly and helpful staff, good facilities

Disliked: Nothing - all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly, and able to book most activities for us without extra carges. The hostel is located centrally, with walking distance to most locations in the town and 20m from a supermarket. The breakfast was plentiful, consisting of milk/juice/coffee/tea, cereal, and croissants/bread with various jams and nutella.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Robert Westaway

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and inexpensive

Disliked: Nothing really, you get what you pay for

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a good location, right off the main street, and was not crazy expensive like other places in Chamonix. The breakfast was good and filling.

Disliked: There was apparently no reception office? We spent about an hour and a half walking around the property, trying to call the only contact number that we had and even walking to their administrative office a couple blocks away. When we finally found the staff member, he was extremely helpful, but it was frustrating to not have someone there right away when we were tired from a day of hiking around the mountains.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: V. good location

Disliked: Lack of reception desk and therefore information

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here in the off season in the summer. Rates are lower so it was really worth the price. Great location right off the main drag. Friendly staff that prepare a great breakfast and have good advice in day hikes and walks. Would deffinitly come back again,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the warm welcome of the staff, the very reasonable room, the large open-space lounge and dining room, the kitchen and and the overall homey atmosphere was such a big surprise for us! and not expencive! we enjoyed our stay very much, and was almost sorry to leave and go on with our trip...

Disliked: the entrance door

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katja Ratilainen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2011 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and common room was cosy.

Disliked: At night one can hear noise from other rooms quite easily.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place, beautiful location, beautiful breakfast and value for money, I'm coming back.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the center of Chamonix, near the main street. Very clean and cheap.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent breakfast. great location

Disliked: although clean could do with a makeover to brighten it up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Nicholson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2011 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot say enough about this place. Fantastic location - walking distance from all the trams, and you're right in the middle of the shopping center. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were fun to talk with and went out of their way to make my stay more enjoyable. Free breakfast in the morning, free wifi, comfy common area. Next time I'm in Chamonix, I know exactly where I'm staying!

Disliked: Nothing. Loved it all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mathilda Egerszegi Stenman

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2011 Mathilda would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfortable beds, staff was very friendly and helpful in all thinkable ways.

Disliked: You can't pay your room with credit card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yue zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 yue would recommend this property

Liked: verygood

Disliked: a little hard to find

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Room was a bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place with super views of the mountains. Near the train station and main street. Surprised that the place was this good :)

Disliked: Flushes in the toilets were not working properly

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010

Liked: It was close to services and facilities

Disliked: A toilet that did not flush despite our reporting on the first morning. We stayed for 4 nights! We were told that someone had LOOKED at it. It needed a plumber to come & fix! Vaccuming had not been done in our room prior to arrival. One staff member very anti-social. Staff did not seem to care. Very slack attitude. On arrival to the business address, we could not get any reponse in the office. Locked outside! On arrival at the property a note was found for us with door code, however, the door code was incorrect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darvel Lloyd

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2010 Darvel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent base for my brother and me for explorations in the spectuacular valley and surrounding trails!

Disliked: Darvel left no negative feedback.